Cold/Flu Home Remedy | Step-by-Step Guide | Traditional Ayurvedic Medicine

in #health6 years ago

cold remedy.jpg

Hi Steemians! I have been sick for a few days now and I got cold on the day before yesterday. It seemed like my body was not strong enough to fight it independently so I brewed a 'magic potion' to heal myself. It is a traditional medicine that I made with the knowledge of Ayurvedic Medicine. It functions to halt and reverse the symptoms of common cold/flu. So I thought of sharing it with everyone as it might help someone in need.

Ingredients:

P_20180718_190422_HDR.jpg

Ginger - a small piece about 2.0cm x 1.0cm
Garlic - about a quarter of a clove
Water - 1 and a half cup
Black pepper - half of a pinch

Method:

P_20180718_190046_HDR.jpg

Before cutting them into smaller pieces

First of all, I cut both the ginger and garlic into smaller pieces (about 2.0cm x 1.0cm of ginger and 1.0cm cube of garlic). I don't recommend to take a large amount of garlic because it is an analgesic and may irritate your gut if taken excessively at a time.

P_20180718_190601_HDR.jpg

After cutting them into smaller pieces and I have placed them in the mortar to be crushed

Then, I crushed the ginger, garlic and pepper using a pestle and mortar. If you don't have a set of pestle and mortar, just slice the ginger and garlic into little pieces and crush them along with the pepper using the back of your knife. You can do this on the chopping board or the kitchen counter.

P_20180718_191020_HDR.jpg

When I was done crushing them, I scooped them out using my hands since the amount was small. If you don't like using your hands, just use a spoon.

P_20180718_191802_HDR.jpg

Then I poured about a cup of water into a container and started heating it up on min. Then, I added the ginger, garlic and pepper almost right away. I kept heating it up on the stove until it started boiling. The indication is when you see bubbles popping.

P_20180718_192541_HDR.jpg

After letting it to boil for about ten minutes, I turned the stove off.

P_20180718_193719_HDR.jpg

I waited until it cool a little and then I poured it into a ceramic cup and drank it. I did not strain it as the solid ingredients sank at the bottom but if you would like it to be a fine beverage then go ahead and strain the liquid using a filter, mesh strainer or a muslin cloth. Just use whatever you have in your kitchen. On the day I drank it, the times I sneezed decreased so much that they were minimal. The medicine sort of 'drained' my flu the very next day, hence it was a successful attempt to reverse my cold!

Take Note

Use a container that will not react to heat and never use plastic containers because it is harmful to our health. If you like, you can add a teaspoon of honey to it but make sure that it has cooled because a high temperature can damage the original structure of the honey which will not be beneficial to our health. I hope that you find this helpful and do try it if you catch cold. I prefer to use this method compared to consuming allopathic (modern) medicine because I don't like getting all dizzy and being knocked out for hours which is often the case when I take pills to treat my flu.

If your symptoms persist and your condition does not improve after one day, do not hesitate to go to the doctor. This is because the symptoms of common cold generally overlap with the symptoms of more complicated health problems and it is best to get an early diagnosis.

Health is the real wealth. Take good care of your health and I wish you a wonderful day/evening ahead.


If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

bitmoji-20180721091721.png

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Great I love this kind of article and I will try it out at home and I am sure to get rid of cough it will be quite helpful. Thank you.

No mention and thank you so much for your feedback! This is best for flu/cold. I usually make a different kind of drink to treat cough. I will make a separate post on that. I am happy to help!

your Flu Home Remedy is a brilliant idea thanks 😍

You are most welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44