The Mom Life Chose Me

This is my entry for the Hardfork: Can You See The Future contest! My young children will all be teenagers in 2029, so I fell to wondering what my life might be like parenting them in the future. Here's what I came up with! Enjoy.

The Mom Life Chose Me

I don’t understand my kids these days. Literally. I can’t even figure out what they’re saying to me. It’s like they speak a whole new language.

My eldest said to me after breakfast, “Mom? Tee bee aitch? I can’t even. Eye dee kay if my bee eff is my bee eff anymore.” She had tears in her eyes.

Yeah. Like, what do I even do with that? What the actual eff did she even say? But she was crying, so I gave her a big hug and said not to worry about it, her college entrance tweets are what she should focus on for now. She posed us for an Instasnap before I could let go and seemed a bit happier. “Tee why, Mom. Eye ell why!”

My middle child is a little easier. He’s always seemed to have an older soul than his sisters. He knows their goofy language too, but he can speak like a real live human, provided we’re on a regular topic, like the weather or cat gifs. He got his learner’s permit for his fifteenth birthday, so lately, every word he says is about cars. I think.

“You see, mom,” he says to me, gesticulating with a banana, “Since this is an urban model, we gotta switch out the autosteer Ess-dee-kay and replace it with an analog Ess-dee-kay. Which wouldn’t be so bad, except we have to route the semiconductors through the airbag system, which is also tied into the autotuner. Plus, I have to jack the intake to recognize Cobol for the analog’s sake, but the injector runs Java, so I’m still working out how to marry that all together. Do you think maybe they’ll pave the roads out here in a couple years? I can sub-root the autosteer back in for the injector, but slave it most of the time so we can drive analog on the gravel.”

I try to be supportive. I nod and smile and tell him he’s so incredibly smart and clever. He’s a sweet boy, not a foolish bone is his body, so I’m pretty sure he didn’t just announce his candidacy for President.

It doesn’t help that his dad understands his gibberish. They stay in the garage all day on Saturday and say words and do things to a machine that is supposedly a car. Since the oldest is gone with her Bee Eff or Bee Eff Eff or whatever the heck most Saturdays, that means I get to spend the day alone with my youngest, who has a newly-minted legal Facebook account as of last month.

She looks at me with these big innocent blue eyes, and says, “Y’all got anymore of that data?” This means she’s used up all the household internet. Again.

“You mad, bro?” she asks, while I authorize the overdraft on our net account.

When I tell her maybe she should cut back a little, “Yeah, if you could just switch to a higher usage plan, that would be great,” is her typical response.

It’s just so hard to relate to them, you know? I think they’re doing ok, but I worry. That’s what makes a good parent, right? If you think you’re doing it right, you’re doing it wrong? I tried to have a coherent conversation with them tonight.

“Mike, is your new flex capacitor working now?”

“Oh em gee, mom,” my eldest groaned. “That’s tee em eye.”

My son laughed. “She meant flux capacitor, ell oh ell!”

“I did? Well, is it working?” Eff my life.

“Yep, I should be able to get Eff-tee-ell out of her now, ell oh ell!”

My youngest looked at him thoughtfully. “Not sure if joking or serious.”

“Me either, tee bee aitch,” the eldest added.

That’s when I started drinking the wine.

2050rb.jpg

I don’t know, but to be honest, parenting in 2029 is effing hard.


image courtesy of Imgflip

I want to give a quick shout out to all the wonderful folks at @thewritersblock who have given freely if their time and opinions to help make this piece, and other pieces, of my writing better. If you want to improve your writing, any writing, drop in and spend some time with them! I guarantee you will NOT regret it.

Thanks so much for reading!

Sort:  

Ehl Oh Ehl I'm gonna need some more #wine to get through this parenting gig too. "Sit down children, Mommy's going to teach you about the beginning of the internet... an ancient technology called HTML" dun dun dunnnn.

XD or when they want a scary story we talk about dial-up and AOL

teenage murder victim scream

hahaha! Yes! Why did they have to play the dial up sound so loud! It's enough to give you nightmares if it wasn't the most amazing sound that ends in glorious slow as balls internet access.

Congratulations @tanglebranch! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm beginning to be grateful that I have no kids...
Great job though, Tangle!

Hahaha, they're not SO bad. Thanks fkr stopping in Tiny :)

This is superbly funny. I lol'd most of the way through. I had inlaws over most of the Thanksgiving weekend, and it was disturbingly close to what your story describes. I wanted to slap all those kids.

Oh I can just imagine! I'm sure it won't get easier to restrain the violence as the years go by XD

@tanglebranch - it is certainly easier writing about children and education when you don't have any, but harder to get people to read about it too :D I enjoyed the writing and still can't figure out what some of those phrases mean... perhaps some footnotes next time? :)

I'll keep it in mind, plushzilla! Honestly, i don't know what most of that stuff i put in there about the car means since I just made it up XD

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Accept, of course!

Love it! A simple extrapolation of my teenagers now - apart from the FTL drive of course.
Now if we can just fit that in over the next 12 years, I will be truly happy!
I'd wish you luck but I don't think you need it :)
Good luck, anyway!

Thanks John! Glad it could make you smile :)

I just loved this story! But I worry that I was actually able to read it and comprehend it... Oh Em Gee.

Ell oh ell, isnt that scary? Hahahaha

This is so wonderfully clever. I love all the teen code! And I actually understood most of it (because yes, I have teens). It really made me laugh. The idea that some kids will talk in all acronyms one day is unfortunately not out of the question.

Language is so dynamic, I wouldn't be surprised at all if we all start using new, abbreviated terms for all those common sayings. Time will tell! Thanks for reading Jayna :)

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82