HarbourPhotocontest - The PHYTC

2 PHYTC.jpg

Home away from home, as it were.
#harbourphotocontest Seemed a perfect time to post this shot I took of the club.
Thanks, @cluadiaz for the contest. Check out how to enter here.
I grew up on Cape Cod, in a small town about a mile and a half wide. Ocean on one side, bay on the other...

Our nights were often spent in one of two places: on the Beach at a party, or here, at Pamet Harbor Yacht and Tennis Club. The Pamet held dances for the kids, and sailing lessons. Potluck Dinners and cocktails for adults.

It was a small group, maybe 300 members total. Most, were families and friend of families.
Eventually, one by one, my aunts, uncles, etc and then my dad became officers and even Commodore.
It sounds more impressive than it was. In reality, it was simply a clubhouse that we all would hang out at. One large room for functions, one small office, and a tiny galley kitchen.
No formal dinners. No formal rules. Anyone could join.

My dad served as the longest Commodore, then, longest serving Club Manager.
With my boat not far from the club dock.... and the dock named for my dad, to honor his service.
I'm still a member today. My home away from home.

!steemitworldmap 41.990753 lat -70.071585 long Pamet Harbour Yacht and Tennis Club d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bluefinstudios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=harbourphotocontest-the-phytc


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

looks very nice there, thanks for the entry

I chuckled when I read the Contest theme.
I did a search for Pamet and found over 1100 images in one external hard drive alone of the club, or club related images...

please dont enter them all, it would be a nightmare to try and select the best one, hahaha

THats a real cool looking club House

good luck in the contest

Many thanks, Jay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74