The Three Magic Kings

in #happynewyear6 years ago (edited)

portada.jpg

The three Magic Kings

The first thing I need to do is confess that it has been a long time since I felt the Christmas spirit in some way. I have years paying not much attention to celebrations and joy of the times, it's maybe the adult life with its responsibilities and hurries which turn me a little "Grinch". But I need to confess this too, thanks to this contest I found much of the lost Joy for Christmas times, so I'm grateful with the opportunity to participate!!

Another thing I need to confess is that I will not going to talk about "Papá Noel" or "Santa Claus" like he is known in my country México. Here we know him and celebrate him but not in a traditional way but a little more commercial. Here tradition give us the Three Magic Kings who give presents to Jesus child when he was born. They are also known as the Three Wise Men or Biblical Magi. And just with this contest I've learned that this is common in Spanish speaking countries. They came from all the corners and cultures of the world celebrating the birth of Jesus and giving him presents, gold, incense and myrrh. They are:


(Melchor)


(Gaspar)

AND


(Baltasar)

Here you can see the figures of the "Nacimiento" in my home, but wait, we are going to that. ;)
So, how it works for the children here, it's simple they have two days when they receive presents, first on December 25 like in most of the world and the second is January 6 is the second, Three Magic Kings' day. In that day besides the presents for the children we eat a "Rosca de Reyes" (something like "Bread of Kings") in the night almost always accompanied by chocolate to drink.



(Source: Wikipedia)

Rosca de Reyes brings a surprise because inside of it there's randomly placed some little dolls that represent a child. When the Rosca is shared maybe you receive one of these dolls, so along side of all your partners in dolls, you have to organize a party with "tamales" on February 2 Candelaria Virgin's day.


Tamales

Syncretism is the answer for this tradition since when the spanish people arrives to Aztec lands, here they have a ritual to some gods or goddesses where they offer this food called "zatzapaltamalli", as Fray Bernardino Sahagún said in his memories from the New World, maybe they commemorate Tlaloc, god of rain, or maybe his sister Cuatlicue, or maybe to the great Quetzalcóatl. Now here in México remains the tradition of tamales in that day.

El Nacimiento


During the season in every home, mine is no exception we make a representation of the moment of birth of Jesus in Belem, clay figures represent Joseph, Mary, the Three wise Kings, pastors, animals and in December 24 in the night the little figure of Jesus arrives. Since December 12 we have "posadas", which are previous celebrations remembering the travel of Joseph and Mary just about give birth to Jesus. But there are "posadas" for every taste and with a lot of fun, especialy those of the younger. You did see some figures of the "Nacimiento" in my home, here is something more:

My Home







My City

Cities here put this human size "Nacimientos" that give light and life to the parks and plazas. On December 25 at first hour the families put the little Jesus figures and sing to him and everybody wants to carry him as a baby.

My Letter


As all the children here I put my letter on a balloon that send my wishes to the Wise Kings and I just ask peace and joy, for this world, for my country and also for me in my day by day, because then its easy to come anything else.
I'll say goodbye to this post with some walks in these holydays through my city, Mérida, Yucatán, México, ancient mayan land. In the modernity of happiness and Light.

Big Hugs and Happy Holydays for All!!


IMG_0058.JPG


Original photography.

I appreciate the invitation of @madlenfox, @dobartim and @sirsensei organizers of this contest, Thanks so much!! Here is the link to the Contest.

Sort:  

hi @leveuf ,

I am from the Culture Vulture for CNers team, a cross-culture translation project in collaboration with @ eroche and carried out by @ deanliu and me. We'll pick at least one article every week and translate it to Chinese, aiming to bring cultural diversity to the #CN community.

I am here to ask for your permission, to let us translate this article to Chinese. Part of the reward from the translated post will be used for supporting the Culture Vulture Challenge project, and returning to the original author(s). Please feel free to ask us anything regarding this project. And please inform us if you do not wish your work to be translated.

Thanks.

Hello @ygern!! Of course you have my permission to translate and publish this work for the #CultureVulture project!! It will be an honor for me and I'm glad you chose this post for your translation!! I say Yes and I'll be attending for further information if needed!! I send a big Hug and my best wishes for the next year in projects and life!!! Cheers!! :)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 60%.

There are many details that can be improved. Baby steps!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:
- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

Thanks a Lot for your review!! :)

Thank you very much for your support!! A big Hug for all the team!!

I am so delighted that this competition has helped you find some of the lost joy. This is such a great post. Last year I made "Rosca de Reyes" and I can't believe it turned out perfect on my first go. Ill give it another try this year.

Food, Presents, Decorations and Music really help to get you in the Christmas spirit. Have a great one @leveuf and good luck in the competition.

Thank you so much for your comment and suport!! :) And of course is awesome to hear that you are such a good "Rosca" chef!!! I think this year will be much better. Maybe some year you can include some variety of "tamal" in your celebration. I'll try to find some recipe in english to share!!
I was happy walking in my city too, I realize how much things happen that we are not paying attention becuase we are used to our cities, and don't appreciate changes, decorations and preparations which most of all visitors enjoy. This post was an oportunity to see my place with another eye too!!
I send my best regards, may this holydays bring you Peace , Joy and Love!! A big Hug for you, @Eroche!!!

Wow! My dear friend, through Your post, I felt a great holiday atmosphere. Your amazing story has well represented the tradition of Christmas in Yucatan , Mexico. Melchor, Gaspar and Baltasar, the three kings , three wise men, the symbols of the beautiful traditions in Your country. I've never heard of them before. Your story gave me the opportunity. I definitely want to try this "Rosca de Reyes" with a surprise inside :) I'm sure Your letter with the wish will come true. The balloon will deliver it to its destination. Thanks for the video and Your photos . Thank you for sharing with all of us . I thank You that You agreed to participate in my contest #happynewyear. And I, as a guest judge for the contest #culturevulture in December, organized by @eroche, I wish You good luck!

I'm Grateful with you for inviting me to the contest and also to learn with the other participants sharing pieces of the cultures from all corners of the World!! Thank you very much for your visit and words for this post, they are a great impulse!! I send you all the best vibes, Hugs and Light for everything important, @MadlenFox!! :-)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @leveuf to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leveuf from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received gratitude of 3.00 % from @appreciator thanks to: @leveuf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71153.91
ETH 3862.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51