A brush with Death, Reflections on a New Year, and the one that's Past.

in #happynewyear6 years ago (edited)

Can I be more grateful to steem? for my life? I will. Living fully is the answer to fear and uncertainty. Tomorrow is not promised to anyone, all we have is today. Steem, and CryptoCurrency is a chance for me to rise above my circumstances. I'm learning marketable skills, cryptocurrency, investment, linux, and so much more.

(source)

Recently, I tried to take my life because of poor judgment from the past, a history of drug abuse, and being haunted by a caricature of all that. I'm not going to get into all the details, here. I will say, that I was unsuccessful at dying, and surprisingly didn't hurt myself as bad as I could have. I'm pretty roughed up, but far from death.


The result of that is that I figured it wasn't my time, and it's a perfect time to make some good choices in life. I'm very grateful for my family, because it would have hurt them the most, and I'll be happy to have a chance to hug them some more and share life with them. I'm also grateful because of this community. It's finding Steem, and the BlockChain community that gave me a way to be productive and do more positive things with my life. Previously, I was just chasing around "feeling good" through sex, drugs, and careless living.

I'm ready to grow up, and into the productive member of life that I know is within me, within this cocoon, and forming into something beautiful. My deepest passion has always been learning, and there is so much to learn here

I've also made a commitment to myself to abstain from alcohol and sex for a year. Somehow, being reborn makes these commitments easy, though I know I'll have to stay strong when the temptation comes. I will, because I know those are the decisions that will enable me to stay focused on work, and building healthy relationships with the people around me. It's not that I think that there's anything wrong with sex, drugs, and alcohol. Personally, I've just never had a healthy relationship with them.


(source)

Happy New Year, and blessings to you all! I'm so grateful for this community, and I'll do my best to be a positive, productive, and beneficial member as we move forward into this exciting new year.

The world finally knows about BitCoin, FOR REAL. They are beginning to become more and more aware of Steem and Steemit, which is exciting too. I'm taking an inventory of where I'm spending my time, and going to make some cuts some places, and figure out the most productive ways to spend it. This is the beginning of the rest of our lives. Best to choose wisely how to spend them.

I Love You!

and I Love myself again, too! <3 <3 <3

Sort:  

First I would like to wish you a happy new year! second I would like to thank you for sharing your photos, experiences and stories, because they help a lot all new steemians like me, who want to grow and reach your level of quality.
Since today I will follow closely your posts and your blog updates. Will be happy if you follow @nunojesus

Good luck on your journies, friend! I hope you find lots of success. I've been running a series of contests about how to better welcome new users, if you scroll back my feed a bit, you can find a lot of helpful information from the last few weeks :)

Happy New Year.

p.s. Don't ask people to follow you, it's not polite, but most new people don't know that, so I understand. ;)

I was almost brought to tears- I am so happy that you are better now and I admire your courage to share this with us, I will try to learn the message from your story and be productive in positive ways.

also - thank you for making me to hone my photoshop skills again with the "welcome to steemit" contest - it was really fun and I really needed it to stop the race of life for a bit.
so a bit late - happy new year, health, happiness and fun!

I had no idea man. Please, if you ever feel the need, come talk.

Love you, brother! Some things are hard to talk about. Life is going to be a lot better off of the booze. :)

I understand, and the offer stands as well.

I personally rarely drink anymore. I dislike hangovers.

I Love You!

Wow! dear Alien *muah!! <3 <3 <3

I love you, buddy!

steem and cryptocurrency like the morning sun, we know the world is not always dark

First: Happy New Year, and I wish you a great and productive year!
I can only say that these things is always so sad to hear. So sad with so little love for yourself and maybe depression and anxiety as well. Life passes fast and is valuable but in such hard times it’s not possible to see that.
But I’m so happy for you and for the fact you have found something really meaningful in your life! So glad to have you here my friend.
Much love ❤️

Great to hear, best of luck... I gave up drinking 3 plus years ago / Peace

happy new year, friend!

I read this and just say, It is an amazing story, but it is even more amazing as something called steemit can unite so many people and make them grow to have a better life, I see the comments and it is to admire everything they say, beautiful your words, my best wishes to you

Happy New Year my friend, I wish you a happy long life!
If you're gonna celebrate big tonight, you should my New Year's contest for free Steem I do on my blog.

Congratulation you did it, "control on your soul". You are only one , no one can like you, don't spoil over self by comparing and doing nonsense things in life to just enjoy. Happy to listen you are out and I welcome you back in world that created for only you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69