Time to look back again

in #happynewyear6 years ago

fireworks-574739_640.jpg
Source: Pixbay

Last year I wrote a short reflection about 2017 and a short outlook for 2018. Since the year is again almost over, let's take a look how well that went. My two resolutions were to finish my studies and to lose weight. I managed to keep neither, so let me give some more details:

Finishing my studies

Even though I finished writing my thesis, I still didn't finish my studies due to administrative reasons, my final exam will be in January. So it is not that bad in the end, since I'm almost done, but I wanted to be done for real at this point, not just almost. Looking back my thesis changed quite a bit: I started working on it in April, but since the topic of my thesis took a big turn, I couldn't use any of the work I did in the first two months for my final thesis. Given that I "actually" started working on my thesis in June, it's not that bad and it took me around half a year to finish it (I was done in the beginning of December). Again: almost done isn't done for real, so technically I failed to keep this resolution.

Losing weight

Probably the most classic new year's resolution. Like many others, I also tried to lose some weight during this year and just like many others, I managed to get it all back. At first, it looked quite good: by June I managed to lose more than 10 kg, but during summer and autumn I got it all back. The reasons for that are rather simple: moving to little and eating too many unhealthy things (and flushing them down with beer). When I realised how much I lost in June, I got almost a bit scared of how fast it was and decided to slowly eat a bit more. "Slowly" turned into "quickly" and "a bit" turned into "a lot", the fact that I was going out partying relatively often in summer (for my current standards, 10 years ago it would have been a regular summer of partying for me, but I'm not 20 any more and therefore "going out and partying" gets less and less) wasn't helping either. To be honest right now I feel even fatter than last year, even though I have pretty much the same weight as last year (maybe that's because I ate too much during the holidays, but I really don't know). Anyway, I didn't manage to keep this resolution either.

About the rest

I also wrote that I want to contribute to @utopian-io or to make a game (and share my progress with it here): those are two things I was again not able to do. But I did write a series of posts, where I wrote about topics I'm dealing with in my studies or projects I was working on. So I at least managed to keep that resolution :)

In general my year was much more positive than this post might suggest: I practically managed to finish my thesis while working and laying the foundation for what's ahead of me. I quit my old job with the beginning of December, which was a bit difficult for me, since I really liked it. But sometimes you have to move on, and that's a pretty good summary of what 2018 was for me: a year of transition where I was moving on. I'm not going to make any resolutions for next year, since I'm not good at keeping them (apart from losing weight of course :D ).

Sort:  

Happy New Year!! My last years resolution was to have more patience with the kids. I was successful, but could always do better! We moved into our new house! Which has been a resolution for about 7 years now, finally off the list!

Looking forward to the new year, my main goal is trading bitcoin. I want to enough to were I have to pay taxes on it! I’ve been studying for over a years and a half, but just recently been putting what I’ve learned into play. I’ve pretty successful, so far. Although the first part of the year will be spent making money so I can increase my position size.

Good luck on the final exam! Weight is just like money, it comes and goes! 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy New Year and thank you ☺

It sounds like 2018 was a pretty good year for you.

I think that now is a good time to start trading Bitcoin, even though I think that 2019 will be a year were a lot of (technical) foundations are being build and the market won't be too crazy (for crypto standards), at least in the beginning of the year. So starting now will give you a head start when the next bull run comes.

Yes, due to the bear market the money left, but the weight came back. I hope that it will be different this year 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

happy 2019!
one question: what happens when you finish your studies and the final exam?

Happy 2019!

I will become a PhD student. I'm still kind of a student, but I will get paid :)
My research will mostly be in computer science, but again I will work together with a lot of people from other disciplines.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31