Time to look back (and forth)

in #happynewyear6 years ago (edited)

Now that 2017 is almost over, it is time to look back and think about everything that happened this year, but also look forward and think about what the next year will bring.

Looking back

To be honest, 2017 wasn't the best year of my life and I don't think that in a few years from now I will have the same nostalgic idealisation, that I have with some other year. Due to personal reasons, but also due to the fact that I spend most of the year working/studying. Even on my birthday (which I spend on holidy) I was working on a paper! Over the whole year there were only 4 weeks, where I had no deadline or something to do for my studies, this goes so far that nowadays the periods where I consider the periods where only for my job as holidays. On the bright sight, the hard work paid off and I'm on a very good on track with my studies.

Of course, it wasn't all bad and work this year and I had a lot of great moments as well, especially the ones I spend with my girlfriend. One of the side effects of studying a lot is, that you learn a lot and that was definitely the case for me, not only for study related stuff, but also in general. And 2017 was also the year, where I finally got into crypto (and joined Steemit as well). I know that my journey with crypto just began and I'm curious where it will take me.

Looking forward

One big change next year will be my age: I'll turn 30, which means that my youth is finally over and I guess I should act accordingly. Apart from that (which is more of a realisation) my resolutions for the coming year are actually pretty boring:

  1. Finish with my studies: next year it will be 10 years, that I started with my bachelor degree. My way at university wasn't really linear, and so I ended up with two bachelor degrees, but I still didn't finish my master degree yet. After spending most of my adult life as a student, it is time to move on and so far it looks very good, that I will do so and graduate next year.
  2. Lose weight: during the last year(s) I gained a lot of weight and went from being quite skinny to being quite chubby (eating/drinking a lot of rubbish and sitting most of the time are a bad combination). That has to change, and by the end of next year I want to lose at least 15 kg.

What to expect from me on Steemit next year

I will definitely continue using Steemit and try to create synergies between Steemit and my studies. To be more concrete, this means that if I have to write something for my studies, I will create a post out of it. In particular, I'll have to study a couple of papers for an upcoming exam and to prepare for that I will post a concise (and hopefully) understandable summary of the papers I have to read. So stay tuned for quite some cognitive science related content during the next weeks.

I do have a GitHub account, but as you can see there is not much going on there. I want to change that and put more of the stuff I'm working on it, as well as contributing to open source projects (something I wanted to do for a long time, but since I discovered @utopian-io I want to do this more than ever, and yeah signing up for Utopian is also something I want to do).

And reading the #gamedev channel here on Steemit also motivated go and make a game (again something I want to do for quite a while now). Hopefully I'll find the time for it, if I do I'll keep you of course updated here.

fireworks-574739_640.jpg
Source: Pixbay

Happy New Year to all of you, have a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95