Trick or Treat!

in #halloween5 years ago



Trick or treat! Smell my feet! Give me something good to eat! :D

Halloween(All Hallows Eve) is almost upon us! In two days time, most of us will be celebrating, getting some trick or treaters, and handing out a ton of candy. Always a treat to see some of the awesome costumes that people wear.

Now it seems that it is okay for some towns like mine to change the actual day of celebration to a convenient weekend... dafuq? It takes all the fun out of the holiday! Gone are the days of Devils Night and raising a little hell, and getting chased off by the old timers of the neighborhood.

Back in the day, parents used to let us run the streets gathering as many treats as possible, and as kids that was awesome. As we grew into teens, it was time to party with your friends, and etc. Also a good time to take your girl to see a horror flick, to get them all worked up and scared. Which meant that as their male protector, they would shower you with all sorts of affections(use your imagination here), ahahaha. :D

So the question is, what does Halloween represent to you?

Some say the origins of Halloween go back to the harvest ritual of Samhain. Some say it is a time to remember the dead, as the veil between worlds is at it's thinnest, hence the mask to scare off any spirits that may be lingering.

What are you going to be this Halloween? Got any good costume ideas? Speaking of costumes, let us not forget pet costumes! LOL :D


Hope you enjoyed the freewrite, have an awesome day! :D

Freewrite - Represent - Click Here For Info
Do you know your Halloween History?

Samhain

Halloween

Trick or Treating

Original Image Link

Sort:  

I want to see your costume :D LOLL

I will be hiding in the dark :D

Sorry, no costume for me, looks like we will both be in the shadows. :D

Halloween represents nothing to me. It is not a custom in my country and if you ask me not in most countries in this world.

You statement that "most of us" will be celebrating is wrong. Most of us won't and sorry to say this but you and your country do not represent the rest of the world('s population).

If it comes to your Halloween weekend.. Didn't do we exactly the same with Christmas, Eastern, etc? Clearly there is a high need/bigger chance for people (read: shopkeepers and businesses) to earn more this way. If the whole village would refuse and stick to the old custom you had what always had. Fact is your old custom is not what was Halloween once was either.

Happy Halloween to you. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

To each their own... tomato tomahto. Everything in this world is about business, when you get right down to it. Anyways, thanks for reading, have a lovely day. :)

@inthenow You are welcome. I wish you a great day too. 💕

I love Halloween!!
Is the celebration with door-to-door Trick or Treaters a uniquely American thing? I thought it was as universal as Christmas. The Great Pumpkin! Santa! (both as real as a comic strip.) But the spirit of the holidays makes it all real. We are united by the smoke of bonfires in the dark autumn air (already the days are so short, the sun down so soon), the crunch of leaves, the moon shining behind the barren tree branches, the decorations everywhere.

My costume idea: if you wanna go as a zombie, just roll in some poison ivy a week ahead of time, and go blistering and oozing pus. Ugh. Ugh. I once had to attend a FUNERAL this way. My face had taken a hit, and short of wearing a mask or a paper bag with eye holes, there was no hiding my ugly condition. Off to the funeral I went, looking like the walking dead.

I love the way you mention the veil between the living and the dead in this short window of time. As for shifting the Big Events to the weekend... so it goes, in this world of clocks, calendars, school, work, and all that.

Happy Halloween - my favorite holiday!

Yes I agree the fall is the best time of year. :) As for your costume idea.. hmm I am going to have to pass on that one, LOL. :D Wow that had to suck... just sayin. True, the clock is the task master in all things LOL.

Happy Halloween!

Nobody likes my idea for a zombie costume poison ivy, crusty red pus
Oktoberfest is my other favorite holiday :)

Ahahaha, yeah the crusty red puss.. yikes!! :D Yes Oktoberfest is cool, love the beers and brats.

A lot of cultures had various ways of celebrating - or warding off - the dead. I think we inherited the best parts of them. For me personally it's just a time to have fun and ward off the blues of a lack of daylight.

I agree, fun is the most important part. We can get back to the mundane soon enough. Have a great day. :D

I am not much of a fan of Halloween but I do like to see toddlers and pets dress up. Interesting Halloween history. : )

Resident cat here, representing the Freewrite House as I deliver today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-740-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cold-person

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

Yes, the costumes are awesome indeed. Thanks for the links and the read, appreciate it. Have a great day.

I was an evil Jester one year, been a wizard and vampire the most, even a vampire wizard one year lol! I remember as kids, my parents made me and my little brother a pair of fuzzy dice and we won the city costume contest! Most people these days, don't make their own. I have afar more respect for a home made one than a bought off the shelf one.

@alliedforces curate

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 93.11%

Ahahaha, fuzzy dice.. awesome! :D Yes original costumes are the way to go, but hardly anyone makes thme anymore. Thanks Bossman, have a great evening. :-)

Congratulations!

Your post was nominated for this week's

Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations - Week 10/29/2019

Coming Friday!

ha!! Everything is sanitized now - including Halloween. I will dress up as a grandma and have a baby as a prop - wait. I am a grandma and the baby is alive and screaming LOL

LOL :D Nice costume! Might need you some ear plugs before the night is through. :-) Yes everything is plain jane these days, no one has a sense of adventure anymore. Have a great evening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32