[Approach a Monet] Haiku and Market Friday with @dswigle

in #haiku5 years ago (edited)

Approach a Monet

IMG_6944.jpg

The Vancouver Art Gallery (VAG) is hosting, French Modernism, Monet to Matisse. Also offered for your viewing pleasure is the complementary collection, Affinities, Canadian Artists in France. The collection looks at French influences found in Canadian works. Above is Untitled (Tree on a Rocky Profile), 1922-25 by one of Canada's most well-known and loved artists, Emily Carr 1871-1945.

IMG_6702.jpg

The work to the left is by Clarence Gagnon (1881 - 1942). Spring Thaw, A Quebec Village (1934) couldn't get more Canadian. I loved the high contrast of this piece and was surely reminded of my childhood in Manitoba. I worry for those houses close to the river's edge. Waters will be rising and much of this picturesque village likely lost to the flow.


IMG_6699.jpg

Even more identifiable to this prairie girl is the work of Marc-Aurèle de Foy Suzor-Côté (1869 - 1937). Une Rue à Trois Rivières (1918) could double for any suburban street coast-to-coast. Imagine waking up to this on Xmas morning or it being your job to shovel it. Beautiful to look at, but moving about in ... maybe not so much. The work itself has amazing texture and contrast. Well-worth a look-see.

I'd have left you with Group of Seven's A.Y. Jackson (1882-1974) but his work is protected by copyright. North Shore, Lake Superior is a fabulous painting of lines, contrast, and impression. It absolutely transports you there. Check it out online, or better yet, take a trip to Vancouver and visit VAG.

#Marketfriday is curated by the incomparable @dswigle and so I will offer flowers instead. Below is a shot of Beaver Lake in Stanley Park. To my mind, it is reminiscent​ of Monet and there is​​ the hook. So reel it in. That is, scroll.

IMG_5696.jpg

purple irises
upon a strokeless canvas
approach a Monet


All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Oh, Pryde! @prydefoltz

What a wonderful #MarketFriday post. I was off to the Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC on Saturday, but, the weather was not cooperative and I skipped it for a later date. I admit Chicago and New York City (where I worked for five years and grew up close by)

Living in the walls of art and music change a person.

I love hearing you explain what you see in each piece, the flow, the magic of it. You feel it, deep inside. Some people just look at the canvas and see pictures or a piece of art. You see texture and lines and contrast made to pull your soul into the piece.

Oh, I could listen to you talk all day about the beauty of it all. My kids wer young and we still visited the new pieces at the Galleries, wherever we lived in the world. I have to say that they all love art, they all love music and I love listening to them talk about it.

It warms my heart.

Thank you, for the flowers, oh, you truly are only a Haiku away from me throwing more tips at you! I appreciate all the time and effort you put into your posts. It is with deep respect that I say, thank you. It was wonderful. Better than.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip 0.20

Thanks, Denise. What a kind and generous comment. I am honored whenever you stop by. You are such a sweet person and a real asset to the steem community. Thank you so much:)

Painting, a good subject for this #marketfriday edition. I like!

Thank you, Blue:)

I'm enjoying your Friday DSW-relate posts on the arts of the city. I would love to come see them. Do you know how long the show lasts? So much to see in your fair city. Last time I bought a long, heavy wooden shuffleboard at the GW, on my bike. Everyone stared as I rode downtown and on by with my new treasure. Not that that has anything to do with your post. But you do live in a cool area. I really like your Monet too, and the haiku goes so well. Such a talented poet. Cheers

Thanks so much, DD:) The exhibit runs until May 20 but they always have new shows starting. You should post a pic of your shuffleboard if you still have it kicking​ around:)

I must get to visit some of the art museums in NYC I did a couple when I first got here but I have not been to them for years,
the final shot of the flowers does indeed have a Money feel to it

OOH La La. I would love to see some shots of the Met and the Guggenheim. I follow them both on instagram:)

If or should I say when I visit them I will of course take photos;)

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I like that Spring Thaw piece!

Say Pryde, nice formatting!!!

Thanks, Paul. I like when I don't have to scroll so much:)

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: It'S Monochrome Monday!! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44