The Good Vibes Contest & Cultivating an Attitude of Gratitude - #gratefulvibes - April 29, 2018

Today I am grateful for…

…the cute, matching pineapple print cat collar and harness I purchased!
…publishing the #WHN on time!
…the sun and warm weather here in Wisconsin!
…the friendship and chitchat on Discord with @hethur240!
…the good book I am reading - Ms. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children!

I am also going to throw my hat in the ring for the 3rd “Good Vibes” contest being run by @corina! The challenge requires us to write a detailed post about the best gift we’ve ever received.

My most cherished gift that I am so thankful for is a source of both wonderful and painful memories… the artwork my ex-boyfriend had painted for me during the first few months of our new, exciting, honeymoon-esque, head-over-heels in love relationship.

When we first met each other, I had just ended a very long, painful, and emotionally abusive relationship. I was not interested in a rebound and I wasn’t ready to jump into a new relationship. So as we got to know one another, I joked that I was “going to move at a snail’s pace.” His answer meant more to me than he will ever understand - he said he would be willing to wait as long as it took to be with me… and he didn’t mind moving slowly because his favorite animal was a sloth! So we quickly nicknamed one another “The Snail & The Sloth.” After a few months of tentative dates and hand holding, he asked one of his friends to paint this piece and gave it to me soon before we started officially dating.

Every time I look at it, I am reminded of the two years of wonderful memories we made and, unfortunately, of the painful break-up we endured just a week ago. But regardless of where I go in life, I know I will be taking this painting with me.

P.S. It’s painted with black light paint so it glows!


Photo taken by @kiaraantonoviche - please do not share/repost!

Join the HomesteadersOnline Discord community today!

Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear of your pain. I can see how the painting can be so bittersweet now. Kudos to you for being determined to prioritize the many good memories over the one very bad❤️

What a sweet story, and great picture <3 <3 <3
I am sorry to hear of your pain :( Sending love, strength and healing vibes xoxo

I am so happy to be a part of your good vibes this week! Much love and even more good vibes your way!!! :) :) :)

What a sweet memory. It's such a cute piece of art! I threw out everything my ex gave me because it just made me sad and grumpy!

I considered it to be honest, but we've been trying to talk and keep things civil so I'm trying to focus on remembering the 2 years of good instead of the one night of bad! It's hard though

Aw. It is hard, but you're right, it's far better to focus on the nice things. Distance will help. :)

Beautiful piece, i read it in detail, and i can relate you have been selected for further review by @corina

life in my opinion is like water, there is a tide, there is a moment of receding, our happiness when we want to sincerely accept everything that happened, I am sure your days stay spirit and happy ,,
Greetings of friendship

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67