Why I Carry

in #guns8 years ago (edited)

There is something I should admit. Guns scare me.

Though guns have been around me throughout my life, I wouldn’t say they were institutional, like they are in some families. I learned to shoot as a Boy Scout with 22 caliber rifles, but after I left the BSA sometime around my 16th birthday, I didn’t pick up another one until my mid 20’s. I wish I had much more instruction growing up.

The first handgun I ever shot was with a friend, at a range. It was a Glock 9mm. And then again there was a long pause. Shooting isn’t a big thrill for me. As one ages, the difference between life and death becomes more visceral, and the sheer force I experience when shooting brands into me the scope of the damage that could be done with this simple tool in my hand.

For some, I don’t know what it is, but perhaps it’s this power that brings excitement. That doesn’t make them bad people. We're all different, so we all feel the rush of excitement from different stimuli. But for me, guns aren't it. I know that if I make one mistake, it could be catastrophic. That sobers me. And when I shoot, I feel responsible, aware, attentive, and serious. Every action is internally scrutinized because more than anything I do not want to be a danger to myself or others.

Mass shootings occur too often.

One is too many, but it’s happened enough in my lifetime that I have consciously and carefully considered the hows and the whys. I’m a why man, so as much as it would be in my nature to really drill into this, I fear the answer is a simple one. Harming the innocent is fucking evil – no matter who does it, or why they do it. After the harming, the why is moot. And as only actions can determine if one is moral or otherwise, if one harms the innocent, one is evil. There’s no debate.

And in recent years I’ve come to a more important realization. It is my responsibility to ensure the safety of my loved ones.

Once I let that sink in, and as cheesy as I’m afraid it sounds, it became a promise – not one I’m sure I’ve ever said out loud, but a promise nonetheless. If I am confronted by evil, I know that it is my job, as a husband, brother, son, friend, and fellow human, to stop it. Or at least try with all that I am.

NH, where I live, is one of the safest places in the world.

There is a relationship between a community’s safety and their acceptance of guns. And the inverse is true. The vast majority (like approaching 100%) of all mass shootings occur in gun free zones. The most violent cities also tend to have the most restrictive gun laws. Taking guns away from law abiding people does not make a safer community. It makes an easier target for evil people. They’re evil, but they’re not stupid. They know they can do the most damage where they’ll have the least resistance.

My social community has a lot of families with children. And though I have no children of my own, I feel responsible for their wellbeing. And when we’re together, it’s unspoken, but I see us all look after each other, and each other’s children, as they explore and play. Many of them carry, as do I. Instead of thinking, this is a safe place, so there’s no need to carry, we think this place is safe because we carry.

I hope that I will never have to use force as long as I live. But I would never forgive myself if something happened that I could have prevented.

That’s why I carry. 

Peace

Sort:  

Thanks for your article. I too was raised around guns. They hung on the wall in the den next to my room. We knew they were off limits unless we were going hunting. We knew the difference between toy guns and real guns. Now as an adult I too own guns. I don't hang them on the wall, rather I keep them in a safe. I like how you said that guns scare you. They scare me too, but in a rational sense. I know they don't just accidentally go off all the time or that they can't be kept safely. I understand that I must treat them as if I would treat and extremely dangerous tool. I also don't let my toddler have access to my chain saw or let him play by himself in the front seat of a running car. These are also things that I own and are extremely dangerous and understand how to make them safe. I treat guns the same way. What scares me is the tremendous responsibility that comes with owning firearms. I also carry periodically. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. What's interesting is how my view of guns changed after I started concealed carrying. I lived In CA for 13+ years and vowed that if I ever moved to a state where I could get a carry permit I would. I moved to MN about 2 years ago and that's just what I did. What I noticed was interesting. The first thing you experience when you start carrying, if you are like me, is that you feel everyone knows that you have a gun. This is extremely uncomfortable. You are also very conscious of the fact that you have a gun on you, you feel it with every step, every turn, every reach for the top shelf in the store. The next thing you do is you start running scenarios. You think, "what if the shooter comes from that way, or from behind me, or what do I do if he or she is on the other side of some by standers". You quickly realize your limitations especially with a hand gun as they are not very accurate over 10-15 yards. Same accuracy goes for cops by the way. You then look around and realize that there are people everywhere. So many chances for a round to find an un intended target. You then look at your wife and kids and think, "what if I fire on the threat, miss, and draw fire back towards my kids or family?". So many things you think about after you start to carry. These are all good things to think about, healthy things to think about if you carry. I have decided that I still should carry, not for the reasons I can think of why I shouldn't but for the reasons I can't think of that I should. I would rather have a chance in hell, than no chance at all. That all being said. What I have decided is that if something ever goes down, I will run at all times if there is a way out and wait for the police. But if I have no other choice, I have a last resort. My 2 cents.

You hit the nail on the head. I had a very similar experience when I first started carrying. I became super aware of it on me, of my limitations, and my responsibility. I know I said it in the post above, but sobering is the best way I could describe it. Thank you!

Raised in Canada and no real exposure to guns until moving to the States as an adult. I knew hunting rifles, and thats about it, I can't say the variety and availability of guns here has ever made me feel safer. Good post, thanks

You're very welcome. I remember the first time I saw someone who was not a police officer open carry. It was unnerving, but through education and exposure it's become less of a surprise for me. Many of my friends carry openly and I trust them. I wouldn't say I'm ever "comfortable", but I don't think that's a bad thing. I'd rather be alert.

Congratulations @matthewcarano! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @matthewcarano! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63707.79
ETH 2610.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81