Devil Gundam: Thigh Scratch Building [Leg Modification - Part 10]

in #gunpla6 years ago
Hi guys!

Today I will continue scratch building the thigh for my Devil Gundam. So here are updates on Project Devil Gundam for today.

Cement has cure overnight

Now that the cement has cured properly I can start cleaning the surface a little bit. This is mostly on the edges there.

If you are using pla plates make sure leave some extra width because it is way easier to trim and file the excess than extending the pla plates themself.

Side view

Since I'm not sure about the whole mechanics for this scratch build thigh and knee yet. I will leave the rest of the side until the very end

Probably until I test fit the whole body with the new legs and foot. Because taking it apart will be a lot of work

Copy paste time

Using the same method yesterday, I retrace the outline of the thigh onto another pla plate. Scribing pen did the job nicely.

Trimming and cleaning is next also I will check the edges just in case I need to adjust anything. Since this is the quickest way to copy paste but not the most precise method.

Because when you are using templates, the next copy will be slightly bigger than the template itself unless you retrace it perfectly.

Copy number 1

I've trimmed and cleaned the pla plate then adjust it a little before I make another copy of this to make the next thigh .

Mind that this is 1 mm thick pla plates because I want the thigh to be very sturdy and that pla plate connecting the thigh is thinner than the actual thigh.

The last copy

After this copy I can start the next thigh. With this scratch build the process is going to be similar more or less.

First I make a draft then prototype. If the prototype looks good I will copy paste it (if I am doing a pair like legs, arm or foot). Then repeat the next modification.

This take quite a while since every time I use a cement I will leave it overnight to cure properly. And I always copy the piece or step on the next day which makes it twice longer.

However with this method I can minimize any mistake into half (sort of) so I will keep this method for now.

So this is my updates for today on this Devil Gundam x Neue Ziel Project.

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Quick access tutorial:

  1. Fixing broken peg using gunpla runer and several tools.
  2. Fixing holes using cement and plastic scraps.
Sort:  

You just planted 0.40 tree(s)!


Thanks to @devytan

We have planted already 6759.42 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22153.31
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94