What are the main factors in determining the sound of a guitar?

in #guitar6 years ago (edited)

20180218_212701.jpg

People often ask me how this or that will effect the sound of a guitar. I explain that it's not an exact science and because there are so many variables it's almost impossible for anyone to know for sure. With that in mind, I came up with this simple diagram which describes some of the factors which effect a guitar's sound and to what extent.

It is my rough estimate based on my own experience and is by no means complete or necessarily true or accurate. Also, I just realised that I left out perhaps the most important factor - the player.

Sort:  

This is cool to read - the player makes a huge difference too, based on where they strum and the angle of their strum. Along with the choice of pick, the strength of their playing etc. But if you're thinking of the individual guitar sound alone, this is a good guide! :)

Exactly. I knew as I was making this that I'd forgotten some important factor. Only later did I realise.. of course - the player!
A sensitive and skilled player will be able to bring out the best in any instrument.

Hmm... it's a complicated one. I reckon it requires a textbook - this graph would be a great outline though!

I havent seen your handwriting for 28 years! It look s the same!

Oh cool post btw ;)

Yeah some things never change I guess. I remember your handwriting too.. I've never seen anything like it. Out of this world! Is it still the same?

No it got worse! Totally out of practice plus my eyes are getting bad ;)

My wife took a beginner's guitar class in college. The teacher demonstrated to them one day how he used to tell expensive guitars when he worked in a music shop. He could make a guitar sound like garbage, or like a million bucks. A well constructed instrument helps, but the player, like you said, is the key.

That's a mean trick. Goes to show, one shouldn't trust salesmen and should always try a guitar out for oneself before buying it. Of course, if you're a beginner and don't know much about guitars or how to play, that makes it difficult. I hope your wife's teacher changed his deceitful ways. Included in the 'soul, spirit, mystery' factor should also be 'Karma'.

This is really interesting. My dad had a Martin that he bought in 1967. He gave it to my brother when he graduated from college. My brother doesn't play it nearly enough, but it still sounds amazing.
As far as the quality of player, I love the videos of the guys that play cheap kids guitars in Target.

I like this guy who plays a guitar made out of a shovel. But electric guitars are something else. This diagram is mainly about acoustic guitars.
Tell your brother to play the old Martin more often. It's part of taking care of it and a shame to leave a nice guitar sitting in its case. Guitars have feelings too!

Holy crap. That's amazing on so many levels. It's really impressive that someone (him I assume?) was able to make that out of a shovel. Then he can make it sound like that. His sunglasses are so very superfly. Finally that tree is incredibly gorgeous. So much love for that video.
Unfortunately my brother never ever ever listens to me. My best hope is that he will decide to give it to my son who plays every day at some point. I have so many wonderful childhood memories of my dad playing that guitar, all the way down to how much I loved the smell of the inside of the case.

I think the player affects it a lot%) I did guitar lessons long ago and was not patient enough to continue, but I remember it felt it the guitar is a continuation of my fingers as if it is an instrument to bring into this world something I can't say or express another way. I would say it can help to reveal one's soul.

Image Source

Your article got selected by the IINC team and is featured in the "Curator's Choice" series. Congrats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05