Guilty Pleasures – Writing Prompt Contest

in #guiltypleasures5 years ago (edited)

Okay, time for some fun!

Let's talk silly and sexy and satisfying, shall we? @blewitt has issued a challenge to confess our guilty pleasures in this writing prompt contest.

Sounds like fun to me.


Guilty Pleasure #1: Flirting.


blonde


I’m a shameless flirt. Always have been. My energy just bubbles up and bursts forth in a playful way. I flirt with women, I flirt with men… I flirt with animals, but not like that.

I'm a love fairy, I can't help myself.

My writing tends towards the sexy and dangerous, and my songwriting often does, too. Like this one… It’s called “Detours.”


Guilty Pleasure #2: Discord.


Yes, I’m addicted to STEEM, but I'm just as addicted to Discord.

Some of the communities I visit frequently include:

I should stop or I'll be at this forever.

There are many other discord servers I visit on a daily/weekly basis. It’s a guilty pleasure, for sure. I’m okay with it, though, ‘cause it’s nice to have friends and be in community.

If you’re looking for a MASTER RADIO SHOW SCHEDULE, @pennsif puts one together. (I am actually dropping this link here for my own reference. Thank you @inthenow for sharing this in #thealliance discord!)


Guilty Pleasure #3: Dark Chocolate.


I don’t eat a lot of chocolate, but when I get on a roll the best thing is for me to just finish the damn bar so I don’t have any more to eat. I like the expensive kind, so I don’t buy them often. Dark chocolate with sea salt and almonds is my fave—the one with the owl on it.

I just polished off the last in the house. No more for me for a while. ;)


Guilty Pleasure #4: Twitter.


Before you hate on me, let me explain that this is where A LOT of writers hang out, and though I spend waaaaaay less time there since getting hooked on Steem, I still tweet and try to keep my fingers on the pulse of the literary community on that platform.

twitter

I'm an author, and my twitter account is part of my professional presence. Occasionally someone even clicks on my amazon link and buys a book. Yay!

I also share my Steem posts on Twitter, in hopes that people will wander over and check out what I’m up to here.

FB? I try to spend as little time on there as possible, but there’s a whole lotta people I wouldn’t be connected to if it weren’t for my least-favourite social network platform, so I try not to drop off the face of it entirely. Still, it makes me feel bleh.

Let’s move on.


Guilty Pleasure #5: Shadowhunters


I’ve been binge-watching the show Shadowhunters on Netflix, which is based on a series of books written by Cassandra Clare. I downloaded a season or two and watched them on the plane crossing the ocean to Poland for Steemfest, and again on the way back. No, I couldn’t sleep. It was the best way to get through those long flights.

I like the magic, I like the number of sub-plots happening at any given time, I like the action. I like that there are love stories representing all different tastes (m/f, m/m, f/f, +) and the diversity shown across the board in the characters. I’m not usually into gory stuff, and there is some of that for sure, but I just cringe and squint and wait till it's over.

There’s a lot of eye candy in this show, and some great lines that sometimes catch me off guard and get me cackling.


Guilty Pleasures #6: Killer movie soundtracks from my youth.


Let’s see…

Labyrinth, for sure.


David Bowie — Magic Dance (from The Labryinth Soundtrack)

God that video makes me laugh.

What else.

Definitely this one:


The Lost Boys – Soundtrack - Cry Little Sister (Theme From The Lost Boys) - By Gerard McMann

I could keep going forever, but I’ll stop at one more.


The Cure — Burn (from The Crow Soundtrack)


Guilty Pleasures #7: Staying up too late.


Okay, all the guilty pleasures above aren’t really bad. This one could use changing.

I need sleep. Lots of it. I’m a mom and having kids is tiring. But the only ME time I get is after they go to sleep, and I want to create, you know? I have manuscripts to edit, songs to record, dishes to wash… and all of a sudden it’s midnight.

So I’ll stop writing this post and maybe get on that manuscript before it gets too late.

Who am I kidding. It's already too late. ;)


You can thank @abh12345 for doing his guilty pleasures post, and @anomadsoul for doing his post, which is how I clued in that this was a contest.

I’d nominate people, but nah. Jump on board the Guilty Pleasures writing contest if you feel inspired, and tag me so I come look!

Thank you for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited. Gifs via giphy.com.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner

Sort:  

Thanks for participating my dear!!! The Crow Soundtrack is one of my favorites from back in the day. Tons of good tunes on it.

I’m more of a milk chocolate guy but don’t eat a bunch either. When I do...

17D566CA-57C0-4CC9-8ECC-55CCDA90524A.png

Can I get a piece?

slides chocolate to @yidneth

I suddenly lost all cravings for chocolate... seriously XD thist may have helped!

That's all it takes....google chocolate mouth and you'll be cured!!!

I’m selfish with my Lindt.

Thanks for doing this, it was super fun! Lindt is yummy. I like the little wrapped balls of chocolate I often find around during the holidays. Also, big yes to the Crow Soundtrack back in the day. ;)

Omg. It’s truly the best. I pop those chocolate balls in my mouth and it’s like heaven. Shit. I just said that...lol

HAAAAAA! 😹

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can never run for public office now...

Great Post Princess. Thanks for sharing some details about you and your Life. So refreshing and intriguing in a good way :)

So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the comment and support! :)

I have covered Labyrinth almost entirely, it's a bit hidden but I should share sometime soon, if you're interested I can drop you some links, so far I've recorded within you, Underground and As the World falls down, but Laby is a guilty pleasure too, Jareth you know, we likely are not going to fight over anything ever but the Goblin King... he's miiiiine girl! :) hahaha :)

laughed at the owl, going for the chocolate? writing this with an ounce of chocolate in my mouth is symbolic, mine is coffee

I'm not a flirt... I tend to be on the shy side, I wish I were, and bubble a bit more, I'm a total dork, all levels of nerd-geek!

Followed you on twitter, never used it much though I tweet from time to time :) and I like to follow my friends wherever I can find them :)

I'd love to see some of your Labyrinth songs! And you can have Jareth, of course, my dear. So many others for me to crush on. ;) My favourite chocolate bar has a picture of an owl on it, thus the owl. lol! Also, you are not a total dork. I mean, you're the best kind of geek I know, really—embracing it. Living what you love. You make me so happy! :) And thank you for the follow, my dear!

awww, probably we don't stand a chance, guy is obsessed with that "Sarah" you know ;-). But it kind of inspired a bit the lead in my own story when I was a child, though it grew differently, one day I'll share. About labyrinth I wonder if it would be ok to share the cover here, but I used some images of the movie in the video and that's why it remains sort of something I did just for friends, will dm it to you so far for your curiosity :)

I’d love to see your covers. Such a fun story. 💞🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooh I like the Last of the Mohicans soundtrack. Prolly my all time fav. Many a dru- erm, um, uh, long thought provoking night dwelled on that one.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! You know, I've never seen that film? I don't know how I missed it, but I did. Put it on the long list of things I need to catch up with, eh?

It's a tear jerker, just so ya know.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are a lot of things on that “I can’t believe you haven’t read/watched that yet” list that might stay on there indefinitely. 😏

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have to say that i got into shadow hunters as well. I saw the movie first and then went back for the tv series. Anything fantasy like that tends to catch my attention and if there are books behind it even better.It means i can go and get a fuller picture by reading them and getting all the extra detail.

YES! I've really enjoyed the series. I'd rather read the books, but time is an issue for me, and sometimes I need to just do nothing and be entertained. Fantasy like that is so much fun for the imagination. :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I totally hear you on #7!!! It's definitely a mom who values me time over sleep and wants to do shit for herself thing right?? ;)

Yep. You know it. I should go to sleep right now but part of me is like, "Nah. Just keep going for another couple hours. Think of all the things you could get done!" lol!

Sooo many things we could get done!! It's almost always worth the lack of sleep ;)

Guilty Pleasures #7: Staying up too late.

Me too.

Oh yeah. Mornings like that hurt. ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88