WELCOME TO THE FAMILY... or not...

in #growth7 years ago

To join, or not to join, that is a question.


Have you ever thought about travelling to a certain country and then done some research on it? What if your research only turned up negative feedback about the country? Would you reconsider vacationing there?


What if you showed up for a job interview, and while you were waiting, you noticed a long line of employees waiting to punch out? What if everyone that you heard was complaining about how horrible the job was and how dumb the bosses were? Would you still go to that interview?


What if you were an orphaned child, and you had to choose between two families to adopt you? One family seems very nice, polite, and enthusiastic about their family, but the other one was cranky, negative, and angry… Which family would you choose?

In case you didn’t jump to the correct conclusion, I was using those scenarios to illustrate a point about steemit. If you have noticed, @papa-pepper is basically going to be a positive and encouraging force in our community. I am not being deceptive or deceitful, I am just looking on the bright side and recognizing serious potential, especially when it comes to steemit.

Obviously, there will always be difference of opinions, but how we choose to interact matters, especially when the whole world (potentially) is watching.

When we go off on angry and negative rants, especially on the blockchian, that can affect things. If you want steemit to be a drag and STEEM to never reach its full potential, then I’d recommend posting angry negative rants bashing everyone on steemit and everything about it. (It is a scam after all, right? -joke-)

But, if you have invested any amount of time, effort, or money into this platform, why not be positive, helpful, and respectful? I’m not saying that we lie about anything or try to deceive people into joining under false pretense, but I am saying that not every negative and discouraging thought that we have is worth posting. If you want to attempt to discuss an issue with another user, I’d try steemit.chat or discord instead, before having nasty fights on the blockchain.

If someone hears about steemit and does an online search on it, what would you want them to see?

I’ll tell you what they’ll see if they find one of my posts… how about yours?

Would you like to be able to invite others to make their own decisions about steemit after they join, or is it better to scare them off before they ever get an account?

DISCLAIMER: This is not written in response to any particular post or user, it is just based off of a recent trend I’ve seen on steemit.


Remember, as @surpassinggoogle has already said, #steemitisbeautiful.

Breaking News!

It looks like someone very special to me has signed up and got a steemit account… my dad! I’ll be showing him the ropes when he comes down to Arkansas in a few weeks, and I’m not completely sure what his intentions are moving forward. He has made a few comments though already, so we will see. In case you are interested, the username that he will be using is:

@grandpa-pepper


FULL STEEM AHEAD!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

@papa-pepper. What a great post. This is the kind of thing I love to see. You are a great pillar of this community and positivity is exactly what people need to see on steemit. Negativity and contrary opinions are fine to have and it's a great idea to suggest that people take them to somewhere they can actually discuss them and get the views off their chest. Too many scam/flags/hater posts reflect badly on the platform and are often unwarranted and are simply because a user is pissed at something. Sometimes they don't even have all of the facts right.

And a big welcome to your dad!!

Thank you my twin, and I am glad that you agree.

Together, we can make steemit.com all that it can be!

FULL STEEM AHEAD!

@papa-pepper freaking great points! You said it like a pro - Steemit like you mean it!
Resteemed and hopefully the ranters learn to duck tape their keypads

You have so many great ideas and your post are incredible good! I find you a very inspirational person and I'm so glad that I follow you! Thank you @papa-pepper and I wish @grandpa-pepper a warm welcome to Steemit before he will make a post. What a great family! Cheers!

You are very encouraging to me @the-future!

Thank you for all that you do!

Great post and better advice. I myself made a post that I really wish that I hadn't made. But we all make mistakes, the important thing is we learn from them. My brother @justinashby got me on to Steemit and I have found plenty of helpful people since I did my Introduceyourself. Thanks for posting and good job bringing your dad in. I try to get new people on everyday. Upvoted and resteemed

Learning from your mistakes is important! Excellent job learning and keep it up!

this is a very sweet not very long killer post. Nice use or illustrations plus the 2 diagrams to ease the meaning of you illustrations into our heads and ofcourse, once a again, i am so grateful when you mention me. i always get new followers and several, have come from you. Greatness! Glad to see your daddy here! Your boy Terry

Your positive attitude and consistent encouragement are inspirational!

nice post friend

i'm agree. Even bad thoughts are the evil, they don't help in hard situation and just make it worse.

They sure can make things very worse, and I'd rather not. Thanks!

Let us all welcome another Pepper to the bunch!
I have followed @grandpa-pepper and will do my best to support his start. :)

A whole pack of peppers now!

Good post with a very important message. Thanks for trying to bring more positivity to our little family!

Thank you very much for your nice post. This helps me make up my decision on starting my post again at Steemit and much inspire me to keep on writing my articles at Steemit in the future. :)

That's very kind of you and I highly appreciate it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42