Grow & Tell • no.1 • Photos of our tulips before our kids assault the flowers off the stems

in #growandtell6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3543.jpg

Tulips: the beautiful flower that my kids can't stay away from (sorry tulips, you're doomed!)

Before these meet their fate, as they did last spring, I wanted to get a few photos of these before it is too late. My kids love to pick the heads off of flowers since we grow and pick Chamomile - now every flower is chamomile. It's the Maslow's Hammer of toddlerdom. These little beauties don't stand a chance, so we might as well enjoy them together before they are gone.

Here are a few full-size photos from the tiny tulip beds:

IMG_3544.jpg

I like to experiment with adjusting growing environments and altering the color of flowers.

Hydrangeas are another easy one to alter, simply lower the pH in the soil - I use coffee grounds, wood ash, and other natural byproducts to adjust soil. I sometimes use Epsoma Organics products like Holly-tone, but most of the fun is in experimenting.

A Closer Look:

IMG_3545.jpg

It is fun to watch plants react to the environment

I learn so much about life in the garden, simply by observation. Seeing so many forms of life in one place, harmonizing, is a shred of hope for humanity. If these life forms can do it, we certainly can figure out how to coexist somehow. I like to think of myself as the 'mediator' in the garden. I am one to realize that I am not in control, however, my actions contribute to the result of the immediate environment. Nature is the CEO, I'm just the garden accountant and labor department.

The cool evening air comes and that means it is Closing Time!

IMG_3560.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed this edition of #growandtell - feel free to show-what-u-grow below!

It's been a busy planting week here, so stay tuned - I have a few thousand new plants coming!

IMG_3556.jpg

I hope it was as good for you as it was for me! It's been fun, Steemians. Let's continue the discussion below - share your thoughts! Stay tuned for more updates to come on the GROWING MONEY IN YOUR YARD SERIES and much more!!

Sort:  

The best kind of garden is one that you can share with your children. Bravo!

Indeed! Thank you, @yoginiofoz. I have a garden for each of my children this year! I figure starting them early and learning how to nurture their own environment certainly can't hurt 😉

The splendor of this splendor is really at the top of the color beauty of your amazing masters

Welcome my friend, I wish you success and success from my heart

Pretty cool, I've been out in the garden with my own kid a lot lately. The weather has been great for it. We even found morels!
bigfind_crop.jpg

Last year we designated a small patch of land and gave the kids some seeds to grow on it. Hopefully this year they might be a little more organized and attentive to their plants being a they are year older this time. We are also going to grow them a sunflower house to hangout and play in. Should be fun!

Can't go wrong starting them early! I started a small patch for each of mine as well. We planted some saplings too so they can grow with the trees out back. Sunflowers are a permanent plant here, we love em! I might have to do a little Sunflower house too, with the Mammoth Sunflowers.I'm sure the little ones will really enjoy that.

Remember this sunflower from last season?

It ended up 4 lbs dried..LOL

Who knew that sunflower picking was also a great workout for the kids!😆

Got plenty of seed, so this year might get outta control, fast.

Haha sweet! We bought mammoths to grow our sunflower house! Both yours and my kids are gonna have great summer for sure this year!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Wow!! It's fun to enjoy. Very beautiful tulip flowers. You are photographing with an incredible ability.

So amazing!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65