A Gridcoin web interface

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi everyone,

I discovered Gridcoin early this year, and since then I've been silently obsessed with the project. I'd like to show you all a project I've been working on in my spare time.

It seems a pretty popular setup to have gridcoinresearchd running on a Raspberry Pi, but checking in on my wallet via SSH got old pretty fast for me. This idea may have been done before, and I have seen deybacsi's TUI (which is pretty neat), but I couldn't resist giving this a try with my own hand. Therefore, I would like to present my web-based Gridcoin client!

More info can be found in the project's description, but essentially this is a node.js-based (Hapijs on the back-end and React/Semantic UI on the front-end) web server that you can run locally which communicates with a gridcoinresearchd daemon with RPC enabled. Let me be clear; I do not intend for this to be a replacement for the official client. It's just useful for some specific setups like mine. I'm welcome to suggestions, criticisms, feature requests, or really any comments. Let me know what you think!

Right now it's a view-only client, meaning you cannot send/lock/unlock/vote/etc, but I'm planning to implement this functionality after the RPC revamp comes out. Anyway, I hope some of you may find this useful or at least interesting!

Here's a screenshot of the main screen (Dashboard) to give you a feel for the interface:

Happy crunching!

Sort:  

This post was upvoted by Steemgridcoin with the aim of promoting discussions surrounding Gridcoin and science.

This service is free. You can learn more on how to help here.

Have a nice day. :)

Welcome to the Gridcoin community on Steemit @rsparlin and great first posting.

Great to see another developer join the community, we need all this new innovation!

Very nice, the dashboard is very complete and informative looking.

Any chance you could make a GUI for managing boinc with boinccmd?

Thanks for the suggestion; I hadn't considered doing that, but it seems doable. I'll look into it once the rest of the Gridcoin-specific functionality is complete.

That would be amazing imo. If you could incorporate an auto configure script to set up boinc and add projects it would be a major boon to the community

Awesome , just cloned the repo on one of my blades thats a full node I kept running that some people are using and will check this out , there is room for more than 1 option for this and actually there is a 3rd that has not been released from another developer. We need other interface choices for boinc other than boinc-tasks and boinctui let alone the native boinc manager just like on android there is there are options for Boinc and Native-Boinc although its an older version one you can attach projects by url without editing the .apk and the other you have to and personally run Native-Boinc because I do not need the latest version to run the projects I run... Looks awesome I look forward to seeing more as you add to it and or develop more. There is also someone whom has developed some really useful windows Gadgets that I find handy on my wallet so it is great to see people working on freelance projects for the fun of it and not just the focus on the client and the $30 or if now $60hr payout when it seems they are just getting paid to go over the same lines of code.. Other than as I have thanked and commended @barton26 before for updating the seednodes and fixing its s ecurity issues and I know they are going to update the outdated .confo file generated when you first setup the Windows client. Soo in my opinion its great to see things branching out and the focus being taken off what seems less a stable client since we still have issues and the much needed neural network ported to Linux vs replacing the codebase and dumping the current neural network as a fix what we have before you replace and start fires. Lot's of coders in the community and its good to see you all coming out of the woodwork finally!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25