Erkan is criticizing more...

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Time to make a post about my "changed" behaviour

  • which people might interpret as being FUDdy


Currently, where I am seeing more urgence is this role for Gridcoin:

  • criticizing

and this will profit everyone. 

I will continue my "other tasks" as volunteer also (depending on time and prio...).


Some may not realize it (b/c it will hinder their short-term goals), but:

  • if the product (Gridcoin bugs) and 
  • the negative/unfair history and in the Gridcoin processes is known and corrected

the future for Gridcoin will be much better.


Of course that is only my perception of things, you are invited to share in the coming days always yours to it.


edit July 12:

a list of my posts from last 2 weeks:


Sort:  

I don't object to your criticism in general, and I consider you a strong supporter of Gridcoin.

However, I do think it's important that when you highlight things like the coin distribution "inequality", you put it in perspective with the overall cryptocurrency scene. Otherwise, you make it look to people who are new to cryptocurrencies like there's some issue unique to Gridcoin and they'd be better off looking elsewhere, when the truth is that Gridcoin is actually one of the better coins in terms of distribution and there is enough liquidity right now that anybody could become a whale for a fairly low investment by investment-scale standards.

Otherwise, carry on! You're doing good work.

I agree, its fine to raise a flag, but it should be given context.

I totally agree. That post sounded a bit like "I am butthurt, these people came earlier than me and bought 10 times more coins for 1/10 of the price"...

My only concern with this is that you see the general behavior in the crypto-world is for pumpers or general fanboy-ass-hats to attack other coins just for the sake of it.

If you are going to criticize, please clearer about what you mean, for example 'negative/unfair history', Im here in the community since 2015, I dont recall anything like that. To me, that does count as FUD, because with a lack of explanation it can only cause FUD.

I believe your intentions are good @erkan and we must be happy to criticise ourselves, but please make it clear so you are spreading knowledge, not fear.

I agree. I am also a fan of constructive criticism. We can point out alot of things that are not ideal but it is much more important to think about what we can do about it. You cannot change history. So what options do we have? Start over and try to make it better or try to improve gridcoin to make it as great as it deserves to be? Since I beliefe the decisions made in the past were made in good faith and approved by the then active community I am on bord with the latter.
cryptocurrencies are a great experiment and I can definitley see Gridcoin moving in the right direction and learning from the past.

And by the way I don't think there is an objective view on how a "fair" distribution scheme looks like. If you take a look at all the cryptocurrencies out there, there are nearly as many distribution schemes.

to an extent. we can't do something unless the problem is widely known. consider the superblock issue: it was a known problem but didn't necessarily need fixing until the use of GRC grew and its problems became known. the 48% problem is not known to a lot of people new to crypto, and it's alright if they get scared off the first time so long as the issue gets fixed. those who don't stay the first time they hear a name are more likely to stay the second time, particularly if there has been real development in the time since they said "screw this scam coin."

point being, i do not think we should worry about scaring people off when it comes to these issues, however I do think it is important to put it all in context during the discussions with the general public.

Good comment

yes we will do

I think criticism and debate are required for improving , not all should be articles about how cool are the BOINC projects helped by Gridcoin and how evil are ASIC miners.

Steemit is a social media platform and, as such, is usually considered a marketing tool. Other cryptos post mostly hype here (and frankly, it's a much more intense hype than anything we even considered). So we followed suit, writing mostly about the cool stuff (because we do have some cool stuff indeed, not only hype).

However, there's always plenty of debate and criticism on Slack, join here:
https://teamgridcoin.signup.team

(On a lighter note) But, but, don't all ASIC miners come with cloven hooves and forked tails?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67118.32
ETH 3521.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20