In The Beginning: Why we chose the "Homestead" lifestyle.

in #greetings7 years ago (edited)

Greetings from John & Melissa. We are so glad you’ve found our steemit page! We are so blessed to have found this community via Zach & Jaimie's An American Homestead YouTube channel and it is our hope that we can connect with other people who desire to live a more self-sufficient, simple and frugal life so we can exchange ideas and learn from one another.

Please check out our YouTube Channel, Twitter @StoneHouse_Home, and Instagram

WHO WE ARE
wErFamily.jpg
(Melissa) I’ve been married for 25 years to my awesome husband and best friend, John. We live in a small town and one day hope to have a home in the country with some land. Until then, we do what we can with what we have. Thankfully our town has a strong agricultural history and continues to value the importance of self-sufficiency. The town codes actually allow for the keeping of livestock within the town limits as long as there is enough room, proper fencing and the animals are well kept. People keep goats, rabbits, chickens and one family even has a cow.

MelissaDug&Dutch.jpg

Our little suburban homestead is about a half acre in size. We currently have a fairly large garden, a couple of fruit trees and 2 laying hens, 3 ducks, 2 cats and a dog the size of a small pony. We hope to eventually add more garden space and honeybees as well. Oh, and I forgot to mention that we both have full time jobs away from the home.

WHY WE DO IT
20140801_115009-300x256.jpg
September 11, 2001 showed me how fragile life is and how things can change in a minute. Then, a few years ago we began to see more changes. The housing bubble burst, some people lost their retirement funds others lost their jobs. Still today, despite what we are being told, the economy is not good and there are terrorists who want to kill us. John and I began to feel more and more impressed that we needed to do what we could to take care of ourselves and help others. As so began our suburban homesteading adventure
20140816_102654-168x300.jpg
I don’t claim to be an expert in homesteading. But to me, homesteading is more of a state of mind than an actual place. It is our desire to be as self-sufficient as possible but we understand our current limitations and do our best to work within them. So, if you too have the desire to do as much for yourself as possible and to live simply and frugally then you’ve come to the right place. I look forward to having you join me in the journey!

HI, MY NAME IS JOHN
(John) I want to personally welcome you to the StoneHouse Homestead steemit page. My wife and I are happy that you joined us today.

Ever since I was a little child I loved spending time out at my step-grandfather’s small farm and being around the animals at his brother’s dairy farm. By being around this farming community instilled in me the hard work ethic and love for the land and the environment which has helped me become more successful today.
MelissaNjohn.jpg
Even though I work in the Information Technology field, even to this day I long to be out on the farm, working the ground and taking care of God’s creatures. Since you are here visiting our steemit page, I bet you feel the same way too!

Thanks again for joining us today and I want to personally invite you to come back often. Please check out our YouTube Channel, Twitter @StoneHouse_Home, and Instagram

Take Care & God Bless!

John

Sort:  

Hi John and Melissa, sounds like we could become great friends. I'm also of the opinion that homesteading is a mindset and that you just have to do what you can with what you've got.
And what a cool place to live in.

I look forward to following your journey.

Hi @frugallady , it's nice to meet you. This lifestyle is certainly more popular today than it was just 10 years ago. We are working on a new YouTube video we hope you'll like, it should be uploaded by Sunday evening. (We have real slow upload speed on our internet connection so I'm really backlogged in getting things posted.)

I will do my best to wait patiently. :)

Welcome to Steem @stonehouse I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi @bottymcbotface I'm glad to meet you. Thank you for the upvote and a tip! I'm still learning about how upvoting works, I didn't know that there was a tipping system too. Thanks again!

@stonehouse
Welcome to the Steemit community!
Thank you for sharing your journey into Homesteading.
This nation's current state of Consumerism and Growth
Expectations are UNREASONABLE. Every CEO wants GROWTH!
That is impossible on a FINITE Planet.
I hope to one day own a farm in Uruguay, living in a state of
FOOD Security, home-schooling my (future) children.
And delivering podcasts expounding SOUND
MONETARY POLICIES every day.

I pray we ALL escape the intentions of the Deep State!
Be well, and a good day to you.
@demandpeace

Hi @demandpeace. Thanks for the greetings and I'm glad to have met you. I hope you are able to orchestrate your plans to fulfill your dreams. We live in a state that have so many regulations and restrictions that force citizens into dependency, maybe some day we will find our dream location and move there.

Thanks for the post. I'm excited to see future posts from your blog! An American Homstead also was the one that got me into Steemit! Welcome to the community!

Hello @drstevegilbert, I'm glad to meet you. You're the first person to reply to my steemit page, thank you very much!

Zac and Jamie are bad influences - joke. Welcome to Steemit, just joined myself a few days ago and I also was inspired by @mericanhomestead.

If I may, and I just learned this myself a couple days ago, but you might want to edit your very first tag to say introduceyourself that way more people will find your first post. I'm just about to start out on a homesteading adventure so I look forward to seeing more about your experiences. Best wishes.

Hi @bobbleheadstead, thanks for the reply and the tip. Getting in to the swing of things here on Steemit is a little daunting. It's kind of like Wordpress in it's interface.

What kind of homesteading are you working towards? We moved almost an hour and half away from the big city and our jobs, the commute was horrible but was worth it. Eventually we found jobs only a half of an hour away but we had to exchange large salaries for a more peaceful life. :)

Congratulations @stonehouse! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome!

I too took an interest in Steemit due to American Homestead's video. Of course, I don't have a zillion followers like he does.

Hi @deanlogic thanks! I've been a fan of @namericanhomestead for a couple of years and still haven't seen all of his videos. :)

Welcome to Steemit guys! I caught your comment today on DTube's under Zac's @mericanhomestead post on solar batteries. You provided a link to the Off Grid Boot Camp's pdf, "Off Grid on a Budget" and rather than me taking the credit for posting that, I thought I'd suggest you guys do it for your first post (after this one!) The "topics"/"tags" we use for the "prepper" community here (at least the one I post to most often) is #prepping

Check it out and give it a try! That's a great resource you found BTW! Oh, an'...

Thanks @longshot for the tip, I'll give it a try.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thanks @digitalplayer for the welcome and the following, it's nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62601.44
ETH 3376.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49