The Greenest Thumbs Corner - Sunday, November 12th

THE (3).png

Today, Greenest Thumbs meet on Steemit!

In fact, four people accepted the invitation I made last week. Let see who are they and which story do they have to share!

Reforestation is a long term game, but can be very rewarding

@ecoinstant bring us to Colombia and some of us may long for the warm climate where he is currently gardening. Man, I wish I could wear a T-shirt like you; this week, here in the North of Italy, it has already snowed!
As many of you already know, @ecoinstant is reforastating an area that once was a coffee monoculture.
It's nice (and rewarding) to see how some trees that he planted are already higher than him. This is the case of an Inga Edulis tree (or Ice Cream beans) that he is attening to. Check out his post to better understand the "Stacking Functions" Permaculture's principle!

Corn, beans and pumpkins: the three sisters


As I don't have to judge the entries any more, but present them, I joined the #greenestthumb myself for the first time.
I shared one of the experiments that succeeded the most, last summer. Native americans used to plant three or more plants together: pumpkins, corn and beans can grow one near the other and help each other - as natural support, mulch and fertilizer.
As I tried, and showed in a GIF, this simple technique gave great results.

A photo journal of growing Beefsteak Tomatoes

@kiwicanfly joined the corner this week with a photo journal of Beefsteak Tomatoes.
But, wait - I thought - how is it possible to plant tomatoes now that summer is over and snow has begun to fall?!
Oh, I see: @kiwicanfly is from New Zealand, in the other emisphere! How great that @kiwicanfly will keep us update on the plants flowering while some of us will be under the snow!
I will use you idea of recyclying bottles at the bottom of vases, too.

Busy bee on Popcorn Cassia

Our dear @mariannewest managed to join the gathering, even if she had a busy week. Just like the bee that she recorded in her gorgeous garden, getting crazy for the flowers of Popcorn Cassia. If you were looking for a great insect attractor a nitrogen fixer, this is the plant for you!
Watch her video on Dtube!



I hope you enjoyed this corner! As soon as the previous two posts will generate their payouts, I'll split the SBD equally between us!

intermezzo.png

I'll soon write the invitation for the next #greenestthumb: until then, happy gardening!

Sort:  

Oh! I didn't enter on time! :/ Maybe next time! https://steemit.com/greenestthumb/@helgapn/joining-greenestthumb-gathering-12th-november. Will resteem your post for some more visibility! :)

Sorry for that! I really wish you'll join next time! Thank you for resteeming :)

Your post is so nice.I love our post and i learn many thing from your post.please give me a vote from you.

Very nice gardens, being sort of new here thanks for introducing me to some new people.Looking forward to learning fro, everyone.

Happy that you liked this post. Welcome to Steemit!
If you want to make a post on gardening, feel free to tag it #greenestthumb: I'll review it next time.

Update:
the previous two greenestthumb posts (1 and 2) generated 1.081 SBD, in total.
I'm sending 0.27 SBD to each participant.

Thank you so much!! I never got around to updating the post - it is will sitting here, half written. I will post it (soon I hope) and do another one for next week. Glad the three sisters worked out - but did you know that they used to 4 sisters. A pollinator plant was part of the deal as well - I think it was beebalm. I never was able to see your memo. I thought I was logged in. have to try again.... Take care and thank you sooooo much!

how about me?
am sure mine's brown :(
hahah

If you join next time sharing your experiences, I may consider calling it the "Green and brown thumbs corner"! ;-)

hahahah :D
okay .. anything about gardening for a good cause why not :D
as long as I get to see it
btw... i think I remember you posted about the bitter melon too didn't you?
or was it you or someone else?
did you get to make it fruit?

Mmm, no, it was someone else...I never actually heard that existed a melon that wasn't sweet!

I see ..
i wonder which user has a farmer on its account .. that must be it :D

Ha! I was just trying to rush and write a post for your challenge. Then I thought I should check really quickly and see what you are up to. And I see I still have time :) Good. Now I can go to bed and sleep instead. It is a bit after midnight here :)

Haha :-)
Yes, this week I didn't feel like announcing a new #greenestthumb corner.
I think it's going to be next one!
I'm going to save the payout of this post (I'm happy to see that is higher than usual) for sharing.

That is so nice of you!! But let's also think of just having fun and showing off together lol
I still am going to work on the post and have it ready :)

You are absolutely right.
I'll wait for that post, that plant sounded really promising and useful.
:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74