CONTEST: It's All Greek-Science-Geek To Me (20 SBD, plus 50% of this post's payout for 3 lucky winners!)

in #greeksciencegeek7 years ago (edited)

               

Hello Steemians! A new week has just begun and I thought I should launch my very first contest! You know how much I love educational content, so I figured I run one to promote that on the platform.

The idea is simple:

  1. Find a scientific term that originates from Greek (come on, people, I'm an ambassador of my country too).
  2. Record yourself pronouncing the word (yes, I love listening to people trying to speak Greek!). You don't have to upload a video of yourself, just a photo of the word in the background and your voice works fine.
  3. Try to depict it in a meme, photo, gif, collage or drawing of your own (if you use images from another source, make sure you allowed to do so - copyrights, never forget the copyrights).
  4. Explain what the word means. If it's a compound word, give the meanings of its compounds (for example: psychology = ψυχολογία, from: ψυχή-soul + λόγος-speech, is the science that studies the soul) .
  5. Give a short but inclusive description of the term.
  6. Optional: You could try to take it a step further and incorporate your work to a lesson plan or project.

As you can see, this contest combines science with creativity. My main goal is for you to have fun while preparing your entry!

Prize Pool = 20 SBD from me

First place: 10 SBD, plus 25% of this post's SBD payout

Second place: 6 SBD, plus 15% of this post's SBD payout

Third place: 4 SBD, plus 10% of this post's SBD payout

Rules

  1. Upvote and resteem this post.
  2. Your entry must be science-related, all terms from fields like mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, etc are welcome.
  3. It must be original, no plagiarized content will be considered valid for this contest.
  4. The title should start with the phrase: CONTEST ENTRY: It's All Greek-Science-Geek To Me (e.g. CONTEST ENTRY: It's All Greek-Science-Geek To Me, Piezoelectricity). 
  5. Have #greeksciencegeek as your first tag (that will make it easier for me to find it). You can also use the #steemstem tag.
  6. Link your entry to the comments below.
  7. You must include references and image credits if you use images you don't own.
  8. You can't submit more than one entries.
  9. You have 7 days to get your entries ready (starting today).
  10. Winners will be announced shortly after this post payout expires.
  11. Greek steemians can submit their entries in Greek. :)

Judges

All entries will be evaluated by me.

Note that all good scientific posts will be considered eligible for an upvote from the @steemstem team, so even if you don't make it to winners' board, your effort won't be for nothing ;)

I'm looking forward to seeing your ideas and creativity on that one!! Now, don't procrastinate, pull your socks up and start writing, people!! Brainstorming starts from...NOW!!

If you please, feel free to pay a visit to my blog and check out my short stories along with plenty of educational posts and my bizarre natural phenomena series

     

 Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!  

Sort:  

Very last minute, but here is my entry!

https://steemit.com/greeksciencegeek/@irime/contest-entry-it-s-all-greek-science-geek-to-me-autophagy-aka-when-your-cells-eat-themselves

Thank you for organizing this challenge, @ruth-girl, it was fun :-)

Thank you for your entry @irime!! I loved it! :)

Thanks for the entry!! It looks very good :)

Thank you! I'll check it right away! ;) Good luck!

Αγαπητή ruth-girl , σου έχει ξεφύγει ένα -r- στο Geek to me ή σημαίνει κάτι άλλο ;

Geek = Nerd, θα πει σπασικλας, φυτουκλακι.
Τωρα πιανεις το λογοπαιγνιο;
It's all greek to me, ειναι σαν τα δικα μας αλαμπουρνεζικα...

I do not seem to be allowed to be a participant,
Ok, I'll wait for the next contest. hopefully there is :D

Why @kharrazi? Everyone is allowed!

one week is too short for me to learn greek, may be i need more time :P
but it's ok, I will try it my best and win the contest :)

My friend the contest is in english, you only need to find a scientific word that is greek. Check @trumpman's entry to get an idea ;)

Hahaha @trumpman is my best :D
Thanks ruth :)

I hope to see your entry too, if you have the time and inspiration :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ruth-girl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Tommorow I ll have my entry ready. It's a winner :D

I'll be waiting mr @trumpman!

Το'πες και το'κανες ! Αντε να σε ανταγωνιστούμε τώρα !

ε η δικιά μου δε μετράει ότι σου άλλως μιας και τη ξέρω προσωπικά την ruth ;)

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Αγαπητή ruth-girl , σου έχει ξεφύγει ένα -r- στο Geek to me ή σημαίνει κάτι άλλο ;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51