CONTEST ENTRY: It's All Greek-Science-Geek To Me : CaduceussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #greeksciencegeek7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians and @ruth-girl,

The caduceus (κηρύκειον), is the staff that Hermes wields in Greek mythology.
As a symbolic object it represents Hermes (and Mercury in Roman iconography) but also trade, negotiation and dealings with the gods.

The caduceus today is found everywhere depicting in the medical world, on ambulances, apothecaries and the likes which is in fact not correct: the traditional medical symbol; the rod of Asclepius, Greek god of medicine has only one snake and is never depicted with wings.

The meaning:

κηρύκειον kērukeion, meaning “herald's wand (or staff)" Latin meaning: herald or negotiator.

My attempt (took a few!) trying to pronounce the word:

https://dsound.audio/#/@gregan/caduceus
Despite my attempt trying to be serious I probably got that very wrong..

The symbol:

FreeVector-Medical-Icon.jpg Image freely provided by Vecteezy

This is my contest entry. I always was fascinated by the iconography behind it.
Also thanks @trumpman for pointing me to this contest with his entry.

References

Sort:  

Thank you for the entry @gregan, but I think you missed step 2. Please check the contest post again :)

Oh, so you mean an actual condition then @ruth-girl?

I thought a term of Greek origin involving one of the big venues was ok, guess I misinterpreted.
Should I delete everything and remove the tags?

No! That's ok. Just make a recording of you saying both words (caduceus=κηρύκειον) and it will be ok. And also say what κηρύκειον means in ancient Greek

@ruth-girl ah I thought you meant rule number 2 :-).

Well.. I updated the post, took a while to figure out where to save an audio clip.

Sorry for all the hand-holding :-)

That's ok! Thanks!
Now you got all the steps ;)
Good luck with your entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51