Attitude of Gratitude – Day 3 – We don’t have to work for “the man”

in #gratitude7 years ago (edited)

Yes, I know nobody HAS to work for “the man” but I’m grateful for what we have that makes it a lot easier. Because @sift666 and I are just not the type of people who could live in a tiny house, or be off grid. Sorry, but we’re just not.

gratitude-day3.jpg

We’ve been largely self employed since 1991. It hasn’t always been easy and sometimes we’ve been on the bones of our arses, but we wouldn’t have it any other way. I mean, seriously, can any of you imagine @sift666 being an employee? I can play the game for a time, if I have to, though I’d rather not. But it’s not in his nature at all.

Let’s go back in time to the early 80’s, no, even before that… When I was in my teens and witnessing a marriage breakdown, I swore that I would never rely on a man, but would some day have my own home. I never knew how it would happen, but forces in the background were working for me.

Fast forward back to the early 80’s, when I still did work for a large corporation. One of my workmates somehow got a sharemarket tip, and gave a couple of us the nod. I didn’t have much money, but it all went into my first portfolio, and as soon as the promised sky rocketing had taken place, took my profits.

Then my brother said to me one day, I’ve seen a really good investment property that I think we could make some money on. We each had a small nest egg, but no bank would give two youngsters like us a mortgage. So we went to a solicitor and took out a top interest mortgage. It wasn’t easy to persuade them we were good for it, but they took a chance.

Over the next year or so, property prices doubled, and we sold it for a handsome profit, which enabled me to put down a deposit on a place of my own. The solicitors were this time happy to take a chance on me.

house.jpg

The third piece of the puzzle was being made redundant from the corporation I’d worked for, for 15 years. The redundancies happened in stages and we were the last to go, so got the balance of the superannuation fund, enough to pay off my mortgage.

Awesome! Huge big thank you to the Universe right there!

At about the same time, the bike shop where @sift666 and his friend worked closed down. So the three of us opened our own sifty little purple and green bike shop at the alternative end of Cuba St in February 1991. Since then we have had a variety of different enterprises, leading to our current online business and my health practice.

Any of you who are self employed know that the downside is that you work your arse off, sometimes for not a lot of dosh. But having a freehold house, even one that required a shit ton of work, gave us the freedom to take those chances and make those decisions.

And this post is about the upsides, so here’s what I appreciated today. It was hot today, very hot for Wellington, and I didn’t sleep well. But not having to go somewhere else and be presentable meant that:

 I could sleep in
 I could sit around all day in a scruffy tank top and old pair of shorts and nobody cared
 We could faff about looking at our portfolio, admiring the Steem chart, and deciding whether it was time to ditch a bit more BCH and replace the ETH we used to buy Cardano yesterday, without anyone breathing down our necks
 Yes, then we had to do some work and send out some parcels, at rather a breakneck speed, cos we faffed about for too long. But that’s a good thing – it means money in the bank, good for the cash flow.
 After that @sift666 went off to the chiro without having to ask permission, and I went for a nice lie down and a bit of a snooze
 Then about 5pm, when I felt a bit more up to it, I did some more work when it suited me

So hell yes, I’m grateful for the circumstances that mean we have a level of freedom in our daily lives that many others don’t have.

PS. I could also have wandered down to the beach at any time after the parcels were done, but it was too darn hot! But we’re grateful for that too, after not having any summer last year. Take it away, Ann Miller!

Thanks to you all for reading. Peace.

Photos by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated. Video from Youtube.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

i had tea and will now just drink water for 3 days or as long as i can last - so i can be like the kool kids in Wgtn :)

It's cool until lunch time and then it sucks!

Hell my votes are valuable, I feel like a whale ...

i normally run on coffee till tea time - so it will be interesting to see how long i can go, yes our votes are worth lots...well yours is
Related image

Actually mine is too $0.70 at 100%

Holy shit I went to bed a little whale and woke up early feeling way to hot and found I am now moby dick!

Make that kool kid, I'm doing it on my own this time. But will be good to feel like I have some moral support a bit up the road. Here's my post about the last one, to get some tips.
https://steemit.com/health/@kiwideb/we-just-did-a-3-day-water-fast-and-this-is-how-it-went

i will read that post and keep u posted - been reading some good benefits and tips online of water fasting :)

I know that self-employed feeling well, and wouldn't have it any other way. There have been times when things were tough and I felt right sorry for myself, but then there were those summer days that were too hot to bother working, and I would have my very own day, and feel sorry for everyone else who had to go in every day.

It's very frosty here now, I'm envious of the summery weather down there now!

i can relate , their are times that you dont want to go to work but you have too, self employment gives you that freedom and peace.

Yes, you can be much more flexible.

There maybe days over the summer when I'm envious of all of you in winter. But for now, it's lovely to be having a summer.

I looking forward to some rain soon - the heat is a bit hardcore

I've spent about half the day sitting in front of the air con looking at all the money coming in from cryptos and Steemit - holy crap if anyone had told me how much wedge we would make in one month I wouldn't have believed them!

thinking of trading in the F-type for a Ferrari tomorrow :)

nah mate get yourself one of these badboys
Image result for kia pregio

Truth is I don't actually have a license, after writing off my last two cars, but I like to fantasize about cars that nobody could actually drive in Wellington because of all the judder bars.

and parking a beast like that could prove a problem

It's always nice to dream about the dizzy heights our portfolio might go to.

Awesome post. This was pretty and beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Your comment is like Mirah Carey!

their is nothing good like been your own boss and answering to yourself, its a freedom that most want but cant have, you made it this far and its a reason to be grateful , count your blessing and this freedom and peace is one of them

You have taken big financial chances early in life and has payed off well for you. The roll of the dice usually goes the house way. You inspire others to do their homework and roll that dice.

Providence put the opportunities in my path. All I had to do was take them - inspired action in alignment with my goals. Sadly, in NZ now, house prices are so outrageous, I don't see how young people can possibly afford it. At least, not without some previous investments.

I hope you have basements in NZ where the next generation can live.

I personally think that everything happens with the reason, so whatever happens must be in favor to something. If life gives you a lemon, make a lemonade. If life gives you a trouble, take it to the dance floor and teach that bitch to follow your lead.

Ha ha, love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45