#gratefulvibes - Why am I Grateful for this Life Despite the Challenges it Throws at Me?

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)

I love this life that God has given me even though I have always had to face challenging times throughout. I am not going to explain what sort of challenges they have been (except that they were family + health issues) because this post is about being grateful, so I want to focus on this aspect more.

Who does not have problems in life? Almost all of us do. If you say you don't have problems, it is either because you love challenges or you are confident and brave enough to face and overcome them easily and you have been successful doing so too.

But I had to learn this trait the hard way. I am sure it is so with most of you too. Initially, when a serious problem upset my life for the first time, I wallowed in self-pity and asked God, "why me?" because it was quite natural to do so. But time healed the wound and I was able to overcome the problem temporarily.

Again, after a few years, when I thought everything was slowly falling back into place and I was going to have a peaceful life, things took an ugly turn and everything that happened in life thereafter was a huge mess that I now know I could have never done anything to come out of.

Even today, my life is not peaceful or free from challenges. Everyday is a big question mark and I am not sure if the day will end on a bad note or a good note.

But, contrary to what you think as you read this, I am grateful for this life despite its tumultuous nature and the traumatic experiences it has thrown at me.

First of all, I am grateful to God for letting me live each day with strength and courage that help me face whatever issue comes up. Every time I felt upset (which was quite often) I would go to the bathroom, open the shower (so that no one would hear me cry), cry my heart out and then come out smiling. Such was my attitude as I felt that it was none of my business to bring the whole house down with my tantrums.

As time went by and I grew older, I realized that God has created me for a purpose and come what may, I have to live this life, no matter good or bad. It is in my hands that I make or mar my life, so why spoil and upset everyone else's life?

Please don't get the idea that I am a very good soul - I am not - I am just an ordinary human being like any other, but will confidently say that I am devoid of traits like jealousy, greed and wishing bad for others.

I have always wished everyone well even when I was in serious trouble and I am grateful to God for this trait. I feel happy when other people and families around me are happy, never the opposite. In fact, seeing other people happy has always made me feel lighter and wanting to be happy too.

In fact, I could say I am happy when I am not brooding over my life as a whole. How does brooding help one anyway? Happiness comes from within and no external force or factor can bring me happiness; I am responsible for my own actions that can make me feel happy or sad though I have no control over the situations that cause me trouble. I learned this from a course at Art of Living and try to remember it whenever I feel low.

My strength lies in getting up as quickly as I fell down and face my enemies (in this case the situations) with more energy and determination than before though initially I feel shattered when the problem arises and looms large in front of me. I thank God for giving me this strength. I continue to pray to God to give me all the strength and courage that I need to face any and every grave situation in life that comes my way.

Having experienced the worst in life, I am sure I will be able to overcome the negativities that have dominated my life thus far and may show up in future too. All the same, despite all my unhappiness and gloom, I am very grateful to God for letting me live this life against all odds and love this life for all the good things it has given me. I wish all those who read this post happiness and cheer!

Sort:  

Bravo!! Sending a boost from anu!!

@ paradise-found , thanks a ton :)

My new friend, I have put this post "in the spotlight" in my daily #gratefulvibes challenge blog.
You can read it by clicking here.

This post has received a 0.75 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @paradise-found. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I love your attitude! Its very true that life isn't easy to live but its worth all the heartaches and headaches to get through to the joys and triumphs! :D God bless and have an awesome day! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71