[Grateful Vibes #36] I'm Grateful for @mericanhomestead

in #gratefulvibes7 years ago (edited)

I wouldn't be on Steemit.com if not for @mericanhomestead.


@mericanhomestead

Learn about off-grid homesteading deep in the Ozark mountains.

How it all began.

The first video I watched was in 2012. It was a video about a fake silver coin.


@mericanhomestead

I was a silver stacker then (still am to a certain degree) and was storing up for the end of the world that coming December.

Remember that? Mayan Calendar? 2012?


[Original]

I watched the video thinking "Who's this Jewish guy with the beard and menorah?" I like his style.


Interestingly enough, that fake silver video was uploaded to Youtube 6 years ago: on November 28th, 2011. That's the very same day my wife and I were married. Same exact day.


I enjoyed the video and noticed something interesting. I clicked on his channel and I was in for the shock of my life. His Youtube channel is called "New2Torah". I was delighted! I had began perusing the commandments of God in 2009.

My wife and I said "Hey, that's us! We're New to Torah!"

@mericanhomestead is not Jewish, but a God-fearing follower of Messiah Yeshua.


An American Homestead

A few years later around 2014, we began noticing a new Youtube channel with video episodes called "An American Homestead".

An American Homestead is about 2 families that left the city for a more simple off-grid life in the mountains of the American Ozarks. Subscribe to see just how they are getting by each week and join them in this adventure.

Check out the American Homestead Youtube Channel


Youtube Doesn't Like An American Homestead

After three seasons of An American Homestead and many more videos, it all came to a screeching halt. Around April/May 2017, the Youtube 'Adpocalypse' happened, where suddenly channel after channel became demonetized.

Then Youtube did the unthinkable. They disabled the
American Homestead Youtube account entirely.

This is the 'offensive' video that got them in trouble.


Checkout @shalomacres for some great content!

Bye Bye Youtube, Hello Steemit

This is where the Steemit adventure began. Being introduced to this platform Steemit.com, followers of An American Homestead were invited to create accounts and encouraged to produce their own content. I've heard of at least a dozen or more steemit users who joined Steemit because of @mericanhomestead.


I'm grateful for @mericanhomestead for introducing Steemit.com to us and to his viewers.

I'm grateful to @mericanhomestead and family for more than just introducing Steemit, but also for the hospitality, encouragement, wisdom, entertainment, edification and friendship that they have offered to us. Thank you for all you do. We'll never look at our garden the same.

We wish you safe travels to South Africa we look forward to hearing about all the adventures when you get back.

Check out @mericanhomestead and consider becoming a Patron on Patreon for more excellent content!

@ironshield


This has been 36 of 70 of the #gratefulvibes challenge by @paradise-found.

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@paradise-found/gratefulvibes-community-challenge-day-36-attitude-of-gratitude


Check out my previous Grateful Vibe: I'm Grateful for housework help.


https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@ironshield/grateful-vibes-35-i-m-grateful-for-housework-help-and-beautiful-weather-to-rake-leaves

Sort:  

To quote @mericanhomestead from Facebook:

I don't know if you've checked yet, but your Facebook wallet is EMPTY. That's because facebook doesn't pay you for posting. The blockchain. Better get used to it.

That is if they even got a wallet😊😊😊

Wish I could resteem x1000! Love it! and thanks!

Appreciate all that you do. Have a safe trip! Praying no issues at the border. Leave your sidearm home. @ironshield

Those of us who use steemit with any sense of decency mostly have someone to be grateful to for drawing us here. My wife was following @digitalfirehose on G+ when he mentioned steemit. We'd been looking for a supplement for our website, since none of the mainstream social media sites were doing us any good.

We've not yet made a penny here, in fact we've invested a little of our own money, but we can see rewards coming, and we're enjoying ourselves and the company.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

I've really enjoyed Steemit, its very different from other social media. I've invested some of my own money also, so I feel like I have a commitment to the platform. It's been very fun so far! I hope it stays that way. I have a feeling that if STEEM ever goes up really high, that's great but I think it will attract a lot of unfavorable users. @ironshield

Put me down as another person who would have never come to Steemit if it wasn't for @mericanhomestead ! For me the first time I ran across Zac was his channel on Roku, I watched the videos available there then found him on YouTube. A few years later when I came into "Torah" I again found Zac but this time on his New2Torah channel. And I was like..wait a minute that is the same guy that I watch videos about homesteading!!! God really wanted me to learn both homesteading and Torah information from. I am glad I was introduced to Steemit I have interacted with a lot of great people and have learned a lot as well. Thanks @ironshield for this post and allowing me to share a small portion of my story!

Great post and nothing stay's the same love the @mericanhomestead, I also discovered Steemit on you tube it was @valerielove how I made my way to Steemit and I love it.

Good, consistant, content. Seems like he's constantly putting up new stuff in various places. I really enjoy being a part of American Homestead Patreon.

Wow! What a nice gratefulvibes post! I will definitely be checking them out now. Thank you so much for sharing. I know there are so many YouTubers coming here to Steemit because of the decentralization. I do still watch YouTube videos but I am learning so much just from this Steemit community alone.

A lot of youtubers are making the switch. It'll just be a matter of time before some big names make it over here. That will be fun. @ironshield

Oh yes that will be fun!!!

But we do know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to purpose.
Romans 8:28

Well, if YouTube never demonetize the @mericalhomestad , all this would not happen and you won't be earning together isn't it?

I have come to appreciate the Hebrew words when I started listening to NCC's sermons, and that brought me to study Hebrew (but still really bad at it) level one with Jerusalem U.

And now I have come to know this post and about "New to Torah" this seems to be heading towards and interesting journey for me too.

upvoted

It's amazing how these things happen. Bless the Most High!!!! @ironshield

my whole life has been an amazing set of "circumstances" which can only be seen in hindsight. Praise Yah.

When written in Chinese, the word crisis is composed of two characters one represents danger and the other represents opportunity. God have away of presenting opportunities i am grateful too i have come to know about steemit.

Actually if you realise how the Chinese character and the Hebrew word is formed, you will notice the similar practices in both of these 2 ancient languages that survived centuries.

It's my understanding that ancient Chinese and ancient Hebrew are both picture languages, like the Hieroglyphs of Egypt. @ironshield

That is correct. And some even say that the Jews and Chinese were cousins (from the line of Sham of Noah) @ironshield
Actually when you look at it, there are very similar traits between them, both creative in business, both survived for centuries, both have the "never give up mentality" and others.

I used to despise myself for having Chinese blood (I'll maybe explain later), but the more I walk with the LORD the more I understand their traits and at the same time, their lost in tradition along the way.

Oh, little, breaks my heart to hear you used to despise your Chinese blood. I am so glad you are finding out you, and all of us are precious in His sight.

It was a painful heritage to embrace when I grow up in a Chinese community (even up till now) is nothing but ugly worldly struggles.

But when I was saved by Jesus (Yeshua), I see beyond the race, it is the fallen nature of mankind, just that it sinks deeper in the Chinese history, and I understand it is a generational curse that must be cleansed and set free from the prison of Sin with the finished work of the cross by Jesus (Yeshua)

WOW. You have truth now.

Yes, there are many opportunities and dangers on Steemit, just like anything else. Danger/opportunity.
That's important to remember if/when a crisis occurs. @ironshield

I enjoyed reading about this journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66