Hugyaw sa Kadagatan 2k18

in #gratefulvibes6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180424_092942.jpg


Hugyaw sa Kadagatan is the celebration or thanksgiving of the fishermen for the bountiful harvest given by Our Almighty God in the 24th day of April.


I woke up early on that day because I want to see some of the contenders for the street dance because I know it will be colorful, but I fell asleep for 1 hour and a half so basically, I was late for the street dance because the street dance will start between 7 or 8 in the morning, and I just barely woke up around 8 in the morning. My grandmother told me that my younger sister and my little sister would like to accompany me for watching the Hugyaw even though I warned them that it will be tiring and hot because of the heat of the sun and for the crowd but still they wanted to go. My friend texted me that she will be coming with us, so I said yes that would be my pleasure.

We were having a hard time finding a vehicle going to Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte because most of the vehicle is a full pack for those who will be going to watch the "Hugyaw sa Kadagatan 2k18". Basically, we arrived at almost 9 in the morning and when we got to the 3rd station in front of the San Vicente Ferrer Parish in Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte in which they will be going to pause: to dance because there is a judge. It was the 3rd contender and I don't know which barangay they
representing too and of course, there was a lot of crowds as I have expected but my friend and I were like a BDO because we find ways haha so we go with the flow in which we inserted in front of the crowds where we could easily reach the dancers because the 4th contender was entering the 3rd station haha.

IMG_20180424_090725.jpg

My younger sister was on my side while my little sister was in front of me because I was protecting her because maybe she might get bumped into the dancers or worst I might lose her due to the heavy crowd so I told her to hold my hands while I am capturing the moment. It was actually the first time for my little sister to watch a street dance.

IMG_20180424_092223.jpg

We watched how the 4th and 5th contender dance in front of us that the security for the crowd kept telling us to back off because we might get hit on the dancers especially to their props but we just can't easily do that when the some of the watchers behind us won't cooperate.

IMG_20180424_091032.jpg

IMG_20180424_091143.jpg

4th contender

IMG_20180424_091627.jpg

IMG_20180424_092044.jpg

5th contender


IMG_20180424_092234.jpg

We were waving with our friends because the 6th contender or the next performer is from our barangay: Libertad, Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte and they were the one who is holding the tarpaulin. My friend name Michelle or one of my accompany for that day said that we should follow them after their dance performance in the 3rd station, so I said yes. We went to near on the bongo or the vehicle on which the drums and the drummers was. Then after 5 minutes for extras like saying the crowds to give more space for the dancers so that they can start and etc.

IMG_20180424_092440.jpg

IMG_20180424_092656.jpg

I was kinda shocked by the moment our festival queen for her entrance because she has improved a little so I kept cheering for her and also I was shocked because she is not wearing shoes, sandals or sleepers, she was just dancing on her barefoot.

IMG_20180424_092540.jpg


As they were keep dancing going to the pantalan or wharf or seaport or known as the Longest Boardwalk in Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte there were a lot of people and that includes me for kept picturing them with or without until we got to the last station of the street dance before we proceed to the pantalan where the showdown will be held on the sea by dancing in the gakit (a bamboo raft carried a pump boat).

IMG_20180424_092818.jpg

IMG_20180424_093316.jpg

IMG_20180424_093347.jpg

We were in the entrance when we saw the festival queen of contender number 5 so I said that to my siblings that there is a queen we should take a photo with her and asked the festival queen and she said yes. I was amazed by her costume and also for her because she looks like the festival queens in Cebu: Sinulog.

IMG_20180424_094933.jpg

IMG_20180424_094940.jpg

IMG_20180424_094947.jpg

@kirei

Before the Hugyaw sa Kadagatan 2k18 came up, the municipal or the one who's encharged for the tourism in our municipal, I like how the color of the umbrella's where vibrant.

IMG_20180424_095155.jpg

IMG_20180424_095153.jpg

After that. we kept walking because we wanted to have a good place on where we should stay and watch the main highlight of the event in which the contenders are going to dance in the sea by the gakit that is carried by a pump boat. If there were a lot of crowds on the street because of street dancing but in the longest boardwalk the crowd was triple in the street, it was very hard to find a good place to watch clearly for Hugyaw sa Kadagatan 2k18 so we decided to stay beside the sea or in the boardwalk to catch a glimpse of the other contenders and their gakit. It was a very hot day and we only had 1 umbrella, so we fit ourselves in my big umbrella where the two of us my friend and I wherein the upper seat of the stone while my siblings are in the lower stone or seat on us where they have a shade of the umbrella.

IMG_20180424_095953.jpg

IMG_20180424_095956.jpg
a lot of pump boats and there was a coast guard and a rescuer from the neighboring municipal: Linamon, Lanao del Norte


In less than 10 minutes, the gakit of the first contender started to move until they reach to the endpoint of the pantalan or the longest boardwalk where, the special guests, our mayor, the judges and etc where there and on the side of which is was barricade for the tourist or watchers for the Sea Dancing for Hugyaw sa Kadagatan 2k18.

IMG_20180424_095959.jpg

the gakits are moving by the help of pump boats


Fast forward, it was the time for our barangay to perform, so kept moving alongside on the pantalan where some watchers where kept shouting and got mad because they thought that we are going to block them but we are not because we are just walking and wanting to get to the place where there are no people that are watching. But still, we failed on that because it is impossible for us to see, so my friend and I decided that we are going to leave because it was almost 12 noon, my little sister was literally not in the mood because she was tired and because she is feeling hot. I took a photo of them under in the colorful umbrellas and tried to let my little sister smile.

IMG_20180424_113708.jpg

IMG_20180424_113731.jpg

IMG_20180424_113749.jpg


We were searching for a vehicle to ride home but we can't find anything, then we decided to have a cold drink or at least eat an ice cream just to beat the heat of the summer. My siblings bought cold soft drinks while my friend and I went to the vendor we just passed by because we saw a buko juice or butong juice (fresh/young coconut juice) then, my younger sister @kirei and I bought a cheese corn for the 3 of us.

IMG_20180424_114746.jpg

IMG_20180424_114910.jpg

Afterward, we went hike for a bit searching for a vehicle to take us home because we couldn't take the heat of the sun and in less than 15 minutes we found a vehicle that would take us home and we thanked the driver when we got to our barangay so we departed our ways (I mean for my friends) while my siblings and I went directly to our home.



That would be all guys!

Thanks for dropping by!!




Check Out My Previous Post:

THE OVERALL CHAMPION

Colorful Umbrellas in Tubod

Sunset with a star

Karaoke Time with My Friends



⚓ goiinmary ⚓



Hi everyone!!
I encourage you all to support and vote
Terry @surpassinggoogle, @blocktrades and also @precise as your witness.
Just click here and type 'steemgigs', 'blocktrades' and 'precise' on the first box.



Sort:  

Halaka uuy. Kabibo :) :) Gwapa kaayo ang mga umbrella ay. :)

lage ayos kayo tanawon tongod sa ka init vibrant kau:D

Gali jud. Hehe :) :) Nice kaayo siya, as in. :) Wa juy in-ana in-ana tawon diri sa amoa uy. Mingaw kaayo :(

ali diaris probinsya namu Lanao del Norte heheh 3 kabook ang pwede nimu @creyestxsa94 malaagan nga naay payong-payong. una kini sa (1) Kauswagan, LDN (2) Bacolod, LDN (3) Tubod, LDN <-ang province jud namu heheh

Kalayo sab anang Lanao uyy. HAHA :D puhon, basin makalaag ra ko diha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43