[HOW-TO] Transfer OPEN.MUSE to real MUSE

in #graphene7 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians,

One of the blockchain projects in the Graphene ecosystem that I've been interested in since the early days of Bitshares is the MUSE blockchain. Their team has been in stealth mode for a few years but I speculate that they have been working on business development during that time and are nearing the beta launch of their rebooted chain.

I've been accumulating some OPEN.MUSE tokens using the Bitshares decentralized exchange. This lead me down the path to asking how I can retrieve actual MUSE for my OPEN.MUSE. I want to do this as I've heard down the grapevine that they will be snapshotting MUSE balances and releasing a new, updated chain. So today, I will walk you through how to do this process.

Acquire OPEN.MUSE


This part is pretty easy if you're familiar with Bitshares. You can find OPEN.MUSE / BTS and OPEN.MUSE / bitUSD trading pairs using any bitshares wallet, such as Openledger:

Openledger-2

If you're using the Bitshares light desktop wallet, you may need to find the OPEN.MUSE market under "FIND MARKETS" or Settings > Explore > Assets > User issued assets.

Convert OPEN.MUSE to MUSE

You can convert your OPEN.MUSE to MUSE by using the "simple" view on OpenLedger. For the time being, it is probably best to keep OPEN.MUSE unless you are running your own MUSE node, as there will be a new faucet and API node in the future that will assist in account creation. I am in the process of syncing my own MUSE chain but it has been problematic due to space constraints and syncing errors. There's also a light wallet download available here... but the faucet is currently under maintenance.

Clicking the "Withdraw" link on the MUSE line item as seen below will allow you to swap your OPEN.MUSE to MUSE.

Screen Shot 2017-06-03 at 1.14.56 AM.png

The following modal will appear which will allow you to specify the amount of MUSE to withdraw.

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 9.28.20 AM.png

Sort:  

3 years of nothing. Has something changed? Cob will give us the money back?

I think their team has been probably been working on business development and will have a viable product soon. I met @cob in person at Inside Bitcoins L.V. in 2014 and he left a good impression on me. I think that some stakeholders are so used to the quick movements in crypto market and forget that building a business can take years of focused effort.

Given the way that @cob was treated by the Bitshares community, I'm not surprised that he stopped wasting his energy on keeping us in the loop. That's not to say they could not have done a better job on communicating status to stakeholders. There is always room for improvement.

I'd like to expunge the negative energy around this project and see what it can do. I've always been fascinated by the use case they are proposing to solve. Maybe @cob will come back around and rejoin the community one day too.

Maybe I'll be ashamed to say it someday, but the murmurings look enough like the actual possibility of action that I picked up some more MUSE tokens. If there is anything left of their crowdsale BTC, it's just recently grown in value dramatically and maybe they'll leverage that to fund more development. Or, maybe it's all just rumors and I threw my couple hundred dollars into the trash bin.

But if MUSE really does become something, we're looking at an easy 20x gain from today's prices. So I'll play those odds.

I second that rationale. Plus it sounds like there is a blockchain developer (pc) and they have a new website. Seems legit!

Thanks for your research and updating. When I recently learned of MUSE I was excited by the concept - it's elegant.

The volume stats in BTS were disheartening and gave me pause regarding taking up tokens. I can understand the many hurdles MUSE is facing from the existing vested interests. Those parties won't like being cut out of the money.

In any case, I'm still excited about MUSE and have taken a nice bundle of tokens. I didn't know about the difference between OPEN.MUSE and MUSE, so your post is of importance to me. I can't imagine any artists not being behind MUSE - there's really nothing appealing about starving for one's art. Good Luck, MUSE! Thanks again, robrigo.

I'm happy to share the information I find with the larger community.

Oh, really? That project isn't totally dead?

Wasn't there an IOU token for MUSE on Bitshares 0.9? It's been so long that I'm not even sure any more. What was snapshotted to create the MUSE genesis?

To answer your other question, that IOU was the NOTE and I believe it's balances were snapshotted in order to create MUSE.

Right, that rings a bell.

I don't think it's dead. Sounds like pc is working on it: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,24224.15.html

Readers also might want to take a look at PC's comments in this topic:
https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,24224.0.html

MUSE will move to a new chain soon. You MUST move your funds to your own wallet.
Only the funds in your account on the current MUSE blockchain will be moved into the genesis block of the new MUSE blockchain that is currently being developed.

In other words: don't hold OPEN.MUSE long term, it might not be honored in the new chain!

I assume the honoring would be up to Openledger, who probably would honor it[citation needed]. But of course OPEN.* is an IOU, so it comes with all the risks inherent there.

Indeed, that's why I used the word might
But better safe than sorry :)

Definitely. I'll certainly be doing it myself once the faucets get all set up and stuff. :)

Thanks for that, I should have clarified that was the point of this post. I'm having trouble registering an account on the MUSE chain to send to at the moment but it sounds like pc is on the case.

No problem ;) Your edited post is clear now.
I'm glad the project is alive again! Fingers crossed

Likewise! Hopefully @cyrano can keep us posted regarding the status of the faucet. I'll keep my eyes peeled.

Where is the link for a Windows MUSE wallet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63