Reading Game Of Thrones

in #got6 years ago

Actually "A Game Of Thrones" is the name of the first book in the series "A Song of Ice and Fire". Reading those books after watching the TV series is like reading a history book knowing where the story leads (the present) and knowing who's going to die and who's going to survive. Yet, I'm still curious about how the writer would describe a specific scene. So far, I was never disappointed.

I also noticed that there are a few differences between the books and the TV series, one of them of course that, so far, there is no LGBT stuff in the books, except the men that got cut, involuntarily of course (jk) but the one specific difference that matters is that the writer has some favorite characters that he keeps telling the story from their sides and, guess what, Tyrion is the only Lannister and there are no Baratheons amongst them Melissandre isn't one of them either it's almost all about the Starks. Aren't you curious already to see how he could describe the war between Renly and Stannis the Baratheon Brothers with these choices?

The books also reveal so much more details of the back stories and you know there are so many!

The books are so consuming, the first one has more than 600 pages and the second, "A Clash Of Kings" has more than 500, yet I'm about to finish them in no more than one month. That's a record for me!

At this point, John Snow Saved Ygritte's life (the wildling that he fell in love with), Arya helped take Harrenhall, Daenerys has her dragons and a week company, Stannis is about to reach Kings Landing where Tyrion is the only resistance there is for now. Robb is still winning his battles against Tywin Lannister but Theon took Winterfell and Brann and Rickon escaped with their wolves and the small company they have. I know where this is going but I still want to know how a book can describe it.


source

Sort:  

I wish I had more time to read good books, I used to read so much in my youth but nowadays my life is so hectic there is no time.

I caught bit's of the TV series which is amazing, but I am sure the books would be far more enjoyable.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness


حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا!
يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ اقله
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت مربح بحوالي 2.5 اضعاف :)

Way to go on the reading! I got the whole set a couple of years ago and read the first two. I refused to even start the series until I read the books. But it kept being bit gruesome and war like for me so I stopped reading. But they are fantastic written books. It is great you are able to enjoy it even after watching the show and I love your descriptions and comparisons. It would certainly make someone excited to pick them up and start the series.

I decided to finich the books before watching the final season (2019) and I was wondering I can finish the first 6 books before the seventh comes out, but now I'm afraid I'm gonna finish them too soon and keep waiting :(
Two down, five to go :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42