SPOILERS! A few frustrations about Game of Thrones season 8 so far (SPOILERS)

in #got5 years ago

This is about the episodes of season 8 up to the "Battle of Winterfell." I have not seen episode 4 yet but will do so this afternoon. If you have not yet seen these episodes and would like to, get the frack outta here because

Spoilers lie ahead!


source

I still believe that Game of Thrones is the best TV series made....ever. It is just amazing and it has come a long ways. It was a massive gamble years ago and the amount of money per episode has grown a lot since the beginning. Like everyone else I am disappointed that this is the final season but all good things have to come to an end. I think it is better than allowing it to fizzle out the way that the LOST TV show did, they seriously should have ended that several years before they did. Anyway, here are some problems I have with season 8.

The first two episodes are basically a reunion


source

While I was happy to see the people get back together, particularly the Starks, did this really need to take 2 hours to accomplish? It seemed to me to be kind of lazy writing. The final season is already much shorter than the other ones but now (IMO) the first 2 episodes were spent almost entirely on moments of "I haven't seen you in a while!" or "thought you were dead!" moments.

The Dothraki are too easily dispatched



source

The Dothraki are presented as being ruthless, powerful, nearly unstoppable warriors yet they are completely wiped out in less than 30 seconds. I understand this was meant to be visually pleasing and it definitely was that but honestly, the entire lot of them eliminated that quickly? Come on!

Named characters on the front lines

c918d4ee7939fb2811b0da44d5c6af77.jpg
source

Remember when the first wave of whitewalkers crashed into the front lines and it was basically a wave of bodies that was unstoppable by any warrior? You trying to tell me that everyone is killed by this except the main peeps? This is just a Star Trek "red shirt guy" moment and I don't like things like this because it is just too impractical.

Silent Arya Stark library sneak scene

What was this all about? There is the loudest battle of all of Westeros going on right outside yet this scene is so silent that it becomes a question of sneaking past basically zombies (and I don't like the white-walkers being presented as such - you know how i feel about zombies.)

Jaime and Sam definitely would have died

This is not to suggest that I want them to die and I realize that Jaime is probably being saved for some emotional showdown with his sister. However, he is quite rubbish with his one hand and Sam was never really much of a warrior.


source

We actually don't know if Sam is dead or not but I predict he isn't because we all know how much GOT loves to off major characters in a brutal fashion. I don't think Sam would just disappear into the night. At the end of the battle, we see Jaime surrounded by white walkers but he is successfully fending them off with his one hand. I find this preposterous and would have preferred if the had used his brain to find some sort of higher ground or advantageous position to preserve himself, perhaps helped Brienne get to the same place rather than pretending that he is capable of fending off a hundred armed white-walkers with one hand.

Trebuchets on nearly the front lines?

Who is in charge of the strategy here? I was excited to see siege weapons being implemented into the battle because those are always fun (probably a nightmare for the special effects team) but you don't have to play many RTS games to realize that these weapons NEVER belong on the front lines.


source

I know i am nitpicking here but I found this to be very frustrating. Aside from their initial volley when the Dothraki were unceremoniously wiped out, they weren't really used again. They would have been far more useful on the other side of the trench. Oh well, whatever.... it's a TV show, not an actual war.


Overall, i was quite disappointed with the first 3 episodes of this season and I realize that I may have expected entirely too much from my favorite TV show of all time. I also understand that people have pretty strong emotions about this show and it is not my intention to piss anyone off. This is just my opinion and it is the only opinion that is in my head. If you feel differently than I do I welcome your comments.

Sort:  

I love the character of Sam, mostly because I’m a book nerd. But yeah, in the fight he should’ve died a few times where his survival wasn’t even by chance... it was just the white walker that was attacking him was always the weakest?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Always the worst WW...could be..they save the good ones for stronger opponents maybe? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

My main problem is this: if you are a scriptwriter, and you put your character in a situation in which he must die, then you must let him die, otherwise you make a deus ex machina, and the audience does not like to see that.

To be honest, this season brings me only disappointment. For such a long time they prepare all the characters to this battle with white walkers... And Arya kills the Night King in few seconds and all his army disappeared. For all those seasons it looks like they are a huge thread but they disappear in the blink of an eye. I think there should be something more...

We have only 2 episode left and definitely another with the huge battle, but after what I saw I think that the finale will be a big disappointment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

there is a big mistake made in all the white-walkers turning to slushies after the night king dies. If you watch the start of EP 4 all the good guys that were recently turned into white walkers at the end of EP3.... their bodies are still around for the funeral pyre at the start of EP 4.... come on guys! No wonder a Starbucks cup made it to the final cut......

waiting for the next chapter I think the story is cutting very fast however there are things that differ in fact I think you went through my post where I said what did not seem, it is always good to read another point of view my regards friend.

As I promised yesterday, I came back to read your post and comment. It turns out I could have read it yesterday as it wasn't about episode four but it's ok, nothing is lost and never too late.
I didn't mind about the big reunion throughout the first two episodes but you're right about Sam. I was disappointed too. So many warriors died and Sam, (not a brave one) has been saved. Sometimes things don't make sense. I believe they have a purpose with Sam. I guess we'll see.
I've seen episode four as well, I'm looking forward to your review :)

yeah, just posted the EP 4 rant.

Am i the only person in the world who hasn't seen an episode

I believe that this season didn't really bang heads when it comes to storyline or plot planning, I think the urge to end GOT8 is really the reason why we have these questionable subplot like Arya killing the night king and the dothraki totally being wiped out despite being portrayed as strong, however like you said still the best series ever

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I only watched the first season and then I had to get rid of HBO to cut down on our cable bill. It was getting entirely too expensive. That's the only comment I have for this :P

Hello @gooddream,

Thanks for sharing your insightful and analytical review on "Game of Thrones" Season 8, Episode 4! Looking forward to reading future reviews from you.

Best Regards,
Blue Baikal

https://www.bluebaikal.io/en
https://www.bluebaikal.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45