New Bag...

in #goruck6 years ago

To many this may seem like a stupid thing to get excited over or even buy in the first place... To others, like myself, a bag be almost an extension of ones self...

F9099F97-51D3-46C8-9E00-A4E13E675BE1.jpeg

The exciting thing about the bag on the left is that it actually has less of something than the one on the right! It doesn't have MOLLE webbing on the front and sides. To me this makes the bag seem less "tactical" and therefore standout less in public.

MOLLE webbing is very functional when on certain gear like body armor and the like, on a bag that I use for school and commuting it's relatively unnecessary.

GORUCK finally did another run without the front and side webbing and I finally got my order in!
I think this is one of the best backpacks ever designed. It's a bit modern art, but super functional and tough.

5EADD25B-4D40-4C71-A015-718C61D1D53E.jpeg

Throw in the added bonus that Goruck just said they plan to raise prices on their bags and I'd say it's a pretty decent investment that will serve me for many years to come!

Sort:  

To me a bag must have a specific place to store my laptop. Does it have one?

Sure does! The back portion is designed to hold a laptop! I've carried mine all over the place in it!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

If it serves the purpose and is robust and at a good price...
It'll do for me.
I agree, the one on the left does look slightly less tactical... And are you ever really going to use those Molle slots?

I generally feel the same way about Molle slots, but I have come to appreciate the ability to clip carabiners onto them quite easily. That’s what I use them for more than anything else.

Yea I've done that, and the molle is nice for adding some extra capacity with pouches, but 90% of the time I don't need it. The GR bags have a little MOLLE inside as well so I just keep a carabiner there..

Exactly... MOLLE is useful if you need it, but otherwise it just serves as an indicator in my mind. And I already give off enough of those without my bag talking for me haha.

I have a maxpedition backpack and it looks tactical. I don't mind at all of the looks, some people should know that it is a tactical pack which is somewhat of a warning signal...

We turned my tactical looking black bag with Molle all over it into a diaper bag after my kid was born 😂 the looks I get are priceless when I open it up and whip out a diaper.

I prefer not to telegraph my abilities or intentions most of the time. I tend to have enough other subconscious "tells" that I don't need my bag doing any extra talking or signalling for me haha

Congratulations @stnwllstrtgc! You have received a personal award!

Steemit Veterans
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I just read up and YouTubed MOLLE. I want the right backpack, the one with MORE webbing please! You guys can be all, ‘I need to blend in, I can’t be too technical, etc...’. I want more webbing, more pockets! The more the merrier. And with kids, the possibilities are endless. I can imagine wedging flowers, stick wands, feathers and all manner of random stuff into the webbing. You don’t know how annoying it is to have to babysit all their treasures on our adventures and still have hands available to hold them or do stuff. With twins, a backpack is essential for every family outing. There can never be enough attachment points either.

More MOLLE...

More power to you! I know all to well the struggle of keeping track of little flowers and other treasures.
There are lots of other bags out there that have webbing from head to toe! The Goruck bags actually have very minimal coverage compared to many other tactical bags I've had haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95