Google Ad words being used for Binance phishing and account fraud!

in #google6 years ago

WARNING Do not attempt to access binance by clicking on the link through Google. Access directly through you search bar by typing in https://www.binance.com

I am new to crypto (less than one month) and have made a couple of very careless and inexcusable mistakes, that almost cost me all of my investments made through binance.

  1. I procrastinated on enabling 2fa (Because I was using the app on my mobile, I was unable to enable 2fa without logging into the site through a browser). Kept telling myself I'll do it later.

  2. I procrastinated on sourcing a cold storage wallet, so 100% of my investments were sitting in the two exchanges I use (Coinabse and Binance).

  3. This morning, I finally decided it was time to get myself properly protected. Opened up Google, did a search for Binance, and clicked on the link that popped up in google "www.binance.com" (DO NOT DO THIS). This brought me to a site that I thought was the binance homepage. I proceeded to enter in my email address and password. I then received the following:

Seemed very strange to me so I googled the exact message and was lucky enough to find another post from Korea that was indicating it was a hack and that I logged into a fraudulent site. I immediately went to the correct binance site and was fortunate enough to be able to login, change my email address, and update my password. At the same time I logged in, I received an email that my binance account was logged into from IP 89.232.35.7 This IP is from Georgia (the country). I'm in the U.S. After I updated password and email, I immediately downloaded google 2fa and enabled on my account. 90% of my holdings were Bitcoin and Etherium, so I immediately transferred those funds back to Coinbase. I'm leaving the remaining 10% of funds in Binance. Yes, I'm running the risk that somehow the hacker that had already logged in can still transfer these funds out of my account even though 2fa is now enabled, but based on the research I've done, it appears as though I should be fine. I will not use my account until after I'm able to get a solid answer from Binance, which from what I've read, can be a tedious process.

I'm sure even half-witted readers are shaking their head in disgust at how ignorant and careless some people can be (some people = me, in this case), but the fact is with all other aspects of my investments/finances outside of crypto, I'm extremely careful. Have locks on all of my credit reports, utilize a fraud detection service, store all of my login credentials in an encrypted password vault... Just didn't act fast enough on taking the crypto threat seriously, and it almost cost me thousands of dollars... How Google ad services can allow this to happen is beyond me, but at the end of the day it's our responsibility to protect ourselves and the thought that any of these exchanges or 3rd party service providers are sufficient, as far as looking out for our best interests is fallacious, at best.

Anyways, my initial intent was to warn as many people as I could about the Google ad words fraud but ended up deciding to put myself out there, as far as all of the mistakes I made, that led to my being a victim. A victim of my own carelessness and a victim of some very creative fraudsters...

Educate yourselves and protect yourselves people!

Sincerely,

Cryptonewb

Sort:  

it is not only problem of Binanace, but also yobit and others... It should be get better...

Congratulations @cryptonewb18! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptonewb18! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52