How do you curate your reads?

in #goodreads5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191210_122733.jpg

It's another post on Books I've Been Reading.


In my September Read, I mentioned lesson's I had learned from Deep Work by Carl Newport. And I thought I would make posts on monthly read a regular thing but it turns out - I'm not good with consistency. I've read an entire book on developing a habit, practicing deep work (for a while it worked though) but couldn't develop consistency. Some things take a bit more than reading like action :P

So I thought instead of being stuck over the failure of that series, I'd simply catch you up with my current reads. I don't know, what's in this for others but I wanted to share my thoughts (really random thoughts) on these books I've been reading. Without further ado, here's the list -

  • Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert T.Kiyosaki
  • The Art of Creative Thinking by Rod Judkins
  • I've never been (un)happier by Shaheen Bhatt
  • The truth about keeping Secrets by Savannah Brown
  • Diary of a Somebody by Brian Bilston

IMG_20191209_143958.jpg


Genre - Selfhelp.
Status - Have read it halfway and taking notes.
I will probably share it in future posts!


This is among the most popular books on financial education. The concepts are simple and extremely important. It will definitely make you question your practice and knowledge of the money. It is so important to know about your finances but there's no education for it in schools.

The language of the book is so simple for anyone to understand. Being a young adult, I felt like this is important for me to learn it now while I'm starting out in my career.

One of the lessons I've learned - How you keep your money is so important besides how you make it.


IMG_20191210_201048-01.jpeg


Genre - Selfhelp.
Status - A chapter a day (almost completed).


This one is full of lessons not only about creative thinking but life as well (in my opinion) split into several small chapters with a quote at the end of each chapter. I love reading this book at any time and most often than not I find it so relatable and understandable. This is a must-have for any creative thinker.

Also, I share bits of it in my creative post here on Steemit. Check it out here.


IMG_20191209_143933.jpg


Genre - Autobiography
Status - Early chapters.


This one is about the life lived with mental illness of depression by the author, Shaheen Bhatt (a member of family well-know in Bollywood). I don't have much to say because I've only started it a few days ago. I really wanted to know more about the lesser-known illness or is something that doesn't come easily in conversations. I had watched some interviews with the author and then decided to read it.


IMG_20191130_181830-01.jpeg


Genre - Fiction, Thriller.
Status - Completed


After reading Deep Work, I wanted to take a break from non-fiction and wanted to really enjoy the read. I wanted a thriller. I came across a youtube video by a 23yr old writer. Man, she's just 23 and has published this novel and a poetry book. While I'm really dense about poetry and I thought I'd give this one a go. The age factor was a huge one for me to give this a read and the reason is simply that I'm 22 and I've felt like I'd write a book someday when I'll have something worth sharing.

For me, the book had details, touched upon so many subjects, a bit dark (it talked about death widely) but a worthwhile read. I'm amazed that she's (the author) so talented and related to this video of her's - Savannah Brown.


IMG_20191210_122442.jpg


Genre - Humour, Mystery, Epistolary novel, Autobiographical novel, Humorous Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Diary fiction (talk about categories)
Status - Will start in some time.


I'm so excited about this one. I found it in my Instagram feed and immediately fell in love with the cover and title. Then I looked it up, read a couple of reviews and then ordered it. After completing 'The truth about keeping secrets', I wanted something lighter and full of laughs. This one seems to have all that I wanted.

Will definitely share about how this one turned out :)


That's how I read. Multiple books at a time shuffled with different genres, all together providing inspiring stories (The Art of Creative Thinking), thrilling stories (The truth about keeping secrets), knowledge (Rich dad, poor dad and I've never been unhappier) and laughs (probably with Diary of a Somebody).


How do you curate your reads?


I'd love to know if you've read any of these and share your interesting reads as well.


Instagram - @myartmusings

Sort:  

Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it.
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it


Thank you for sharing :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33