Taking Online Skillshare Class

in #art5 years ago (edited)

1.jpg


Hey, steemians!
How have you been?

So, in between finding work, I decided to work on my art skills. Mostly because I felt stuck and didn't feel like painting or creating anything. Learning and growth is so important. Without it, I felt stagnant. It's been 4 months after college and I didn't have any guided learning prospects. I've been floating on my own and no doubt that's been rewarding but in my art life, I felt like I needed to learn techniques and stuff. Watching YouTube videos weren't working out for me. I decided to sign up for SkillShare and try out their art courses.

I've saved some courses on creative writing, videography, photography and of course ART. The only course I've completed so far is 'Getting into Gouache by Arleesha Yetzer'. (picture below)


IMG_20191202_174924.jpg


It's an hour-long class split into 9 videos. In the first couple of videos, she talks about materials, techniques, limited palette, the difference between watercolor and gouache etc. Then she gets into technique based sketching (eye as the subject) and then painting it in gouache step-by-step with tips all along.

I found the class to be very helpful. A week ago, I was trying to learn to sketch an eye on my own and man what a difference. The subject was right on what I wanted to learn. I struggled a lot with creating a balanced contrast and that's something I need to work on. But before this, I didn't even realize the importance of it.


5.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg


P.S. - Don't judge the class based on my outcome. That will be different for everyone. All I can say is, I found my short-comings and learned about things I didn't even know. And improvement really depends on practice after a certain point.

For someone, who hadn't had any coached learning, this is was pretty great.


IMG_20191203_141752.jpg


Previous Post


Today's lesson from ' The Art of Creative Thinking' by Rod Judkins

"Iteration, like friction, is likely to generate heat instead of progress." - George Eliot


Chapter - if something doesn't need improving, improve it
Page no. - 158


For more creative work:


See you in the next post.
Be creative :)


Instagram - @myartmusings

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for sharing :)

Hey Ayushijain.

I enjoy your watercolor work. It looks like you're learning more about drawing now, which is cool.

I have put together a challenge based artist collective on Discord, and I'd like to invite you to join up. It might be a neat way for you to build your regularity on Steem, and also to help you explore other ways to share your art online.

It's called Hierophant DAO

Here's an article I wrote about the project:
https://medium.com/@rootdraws_91984/artists-lets-start-a-challenge-based-art-dao-89b6b356e060

And here's a link to the server:
https://discord.gg/7xdY2Wb

Nice to see your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57