Where in the World is Goldmoney Contest Entry RI Style

I'm writing this post as my entry into the #whereintheworldisgoldmoney contest also known as #goldmoneywashere contest. It's a wonderfully creative idea started by @goldmatters.

A great contest is fun and it inspires people. I think this one does both, plus the prize is pretty also sweet.
You can check it out for yourself at
https://steemit.com/travel/@goldmatters/up-to-1000-sbd-in-rewards-giveaway-where-in-the-world-is-goldmoney-challenge-part-i

So the idea was to photograph a famous place with a sign saying:
"Gold money was here"
With the #goldmoneywashere and the date.
If your interested click on his post and get all the details. In the post there is a list a places he hoped someone would photograph, I recommend reading the post in case your lucky enough to live by there.

Yet the post also says if you live by a famous place submit your photo and it will be considered. So I decided to give it a try. I love his Humility, he repeats this in the comments about twenty times. I counted. Lol

The first thing you'll notice is that I messed up on the sign... " Fail" lol. I forgot to add the #goldmoneywashere to the sign.
So learn from me if your entering make your sign correctly.
I had fun with this contest so here's my entry.

1st Location
Rhode Island State House in Providence, RI

IMG-20170731-WA0028.jpg

It was constructed from 1895-1904, and it's amazing.

IMG-20170731-WA0031-1.jpg

If you've never been to Providence you might have seen it in the movie Amistad or in Disney's Underdog.

20170731_151706.jpg

It's free to visit and worth taking the time. The property around this building with it's lush green grass and plenty of trees for shade make a wonderful place for a picnic. It looks just as cool at night.

IMG-20170731-WA0009.jpeg

Here's a view of the dome from the inside.

IMG-20170731-WA0033.jpg

Here is a picture of one of the conference rooms.

IMG-20170731-WA0040.jpg

There's tons of history in this building hope you get a chance to visit it. For more info visit:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhode_Island_State_House

The contest only required a picture, but I was having fun with this contest so I decided why stop at one.

2nd Location
Industrial National Bank Building Aka The Superman Building in Providence, RI

20170731_142555-1.jpg

This building is know by most Rhode Islanders as the Superman Building. According to Wikipedia the reason is that it was rumored to be the inspiration for the Daily Planet building in the Superman comic book.

20170731_141755-1.jpg

If you have ever watched the show Family Guy You might recognize it as the skyline behind the Griffins family home seen often on the show.

20170731_150606-1-1.jpg

Here's a view of the building at night.

20170731_211653.jpg

For more info check out Wikipedia:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/111_Westminster_Street

So I will repeat that I got a little carried away with this contest.

3rd Location
Nibbles Woodway Aka"The Big Blue Bug" Found at New England Pest control location in Provence RI

20170731_203617-1.jpg

If you have driven through Providence, RI on I95 there's a very good chance you've seen the Big Blue Bug. If not you might remember it from the movie "Dumb and Dumber". You get a glimpse of it as Lloyd is driving on the highway along their journey.

20170731_204416-1.jpg

The big blue bug can be seen clearly from the Interstate yet trying to get a picture of proved to be a challenge.

20170731_205530-1.jpg

This little bugger was also seen on The Family Guy as well as The Today Show, Oprah Winfrey Show, The Daily Show and a few others. It had an interesting history. If you want more info here's the Wikipedia link: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Blue_Bug

Just for fun
In the contest post:
https://steemit.com/travel/@goldmatters/up-to-1000-sbd-in-rewards-giveaway-where-in-the-world-is-goldmoney-challenge-part-i

It mentions you could submit the picture of a celebrity so I included this picture as my celebrity entry. :)

Just for fun celebrity entry
Mr. Potato Head
Located at Hasbro Inc Pawtucket, RI

20170731_201329-1.jpg

Mr. Potato wasn't as easy to find as I thought he would be. In 2000 the state of Rhode Island named him the official "family travel". There were dozens of his statues scattered around the state. I work in Bristol and Warren so I see him daily. Yet when I tried to find him for this post. I discovered most of his locations were retired. Mr. Potato Head offered tons of families a fun inexpensive scavenger hunt around the state. Yet I guess I took him for granted never noticed his retirement. Even until recently he could be found comforting children at the Hasboro Children's hospital, but when I went to visit him. I found out he had been retired. Guess he liked to rough house with the kids, cause I was told he was a safety hazard. The kids couldn't resist the temptation to climb this 6ft gentle giant. I'll admit I was sad. Though I do plan to follow up on a post just dedicated to him. There are still a few locations I haven't checked.

So this concludes my entry into the #whereintheworldisgoldmoney contest.

Special thanks to @goldmatters for creating it. I've had a blast taking part in it. For more info on it here's the link again. .
https://steemit.com/travel/@goldmatters/up-to-1000-sbd-in-rewards-giveaway-where-in-the-world-is-goldmoney-challenge-part-i

I also have to give a Big thank you to my Aunt Mary. She came up to visit me from Puerto Rico and together we had a blast site seeing and preparing for the entry.
Here she is rocking the #goldmoneywashere sign.

IMG-20170731-WA0026-1.jpg

Thanks for sharing with us God Bless.

IMG-20170731-WA0041.jpg

Sort:  

Es un increible post!! Gracias por compartirlo.

Y gracias ha usted por leerlo :) Estoy pensando esxribirlo en Español pero a ver como me va. :)

Nice :)

You are Receiving a 2.00 Up Vote for 1 SBD,
Thanks for playing and working @worldclassplayer

KEEP STEEM'N

=}> @worldclassplayer rocks man. A person who lives by his name :) Check out his last blog his post on Delegated Proof of Stake is a good read. :) https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@worldclassplayer/delegated-proof-of-stake

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

I live in RI and the craziest part is I didn't take a pic because I figured @goldmoney would be like "tshh.... RI" im an idiot. Nice pics man, thanks for shouting out RI!

I understand I was scared the same thing would happen. Yet I've never seen a prize on that level so I figured even if I only got a few bucks it was worth the try. Lol. Yeah RI representing. :)

Lol same here man. My EXACT thought process. -_- also my account wasn't live the day I saw it, so figured it was to late or something. Congrats man!

OUTSTANDING!!!!! The effort here is absolutely phenomenal. I am inspired and humbled by the thought that went into this post. It must have taken you hours and hours. Thank you for doing this. It is wonderful to see someone with as much passion as I. I hope you had some fun as well. This is a great submission and I have to tell you, so far you are in the lead for the bonus entries:)

Thank you. It was actually a lot of fun too. Thanks for the inspiration. Lol

very interesting post ..
i follow you sir, pls follow me
btw, i am new user )

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 1.20 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @dreamingirwin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48