my photography Journey

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

Returning home at the end of a working day

Boat coming in_.jpg


Sony A6500 48mm F8 1/640 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This post was spurred by the Sndbox Summer Camp: Photography & Filmmaking QUEST - Rules post by @guyfawkes4-20 and a sugestion that I should enter it, so the purpose of this post is two fold.

  1. To spread the word of this quest and the opportunity to fellow photographers who may be interested and have the time to enter this quest and have a chance to be selected to join the Sandbox.

I have to be honest I have heard the Sndbox mentioned many times and have heard a lot of good things about it but I need to learn more about it so I cannot really expand on it here, but if interested go and check it out.

  1. Secondly and as I type this I realize there are three reasons for this post so this is number 2 of 3, reading about this quest the first task was As in the first quest, you will have to make an in-depth post talking about your journey in the world of Photography, how you started, when you started, why you started, you get the idea, be as creative as possible.

I am not sure how creative this post will be but I will talk about why I got into and stay with my hobby of photography

  1. And thirdly this will be an entry for @juliank's daily photo contest the rules can be fond at this link daily photo contest rules and FAQ this is my Entry for Sundays #goldenhourphotography tag

The photo I choose for this post is of a working boat heading back into port after a day out on the water working in beautiful golden light and fitted this post in an odd way almost a case of opposites i Guess as for me photography is the opposite of work for me its my way of relaxing and unwinding.

Photography - The Journey begins

My First entry into photography was through an Uncle or perhaps he was a great Uncle back when I was a teen who was into photography and had a few old cameras, well now I say old at the time they may well have been fairly new, but I digress, he noted I was quite interested in watching him setting up and taking photos and he started talking to be about what he was doing and when I pointed out a couple of possible views or perspective for photos he started to teach me about photography and gave me a camera I forget the brand or model but I enjoyed the time taken and developing photos in his little Dark room I was gripped with the bug for photography and once every now and again would go out and take photos with him, I couldn't afford to buy films and set up a developing lab of my own as a teen, but this was my first experience of photography and got me bitten by the photography bug.

I few years later when I started working in a market gardens and had some savings one of the first things I bought, well now that I think about it the first thing I bought was a cool bicycle to replace the hand me down bike I had, but my second thing i saved for and bought was an Olympus OM1 Film Camera, and with the Bike I was able to get out and about and take photos.

Olympus_OM1.jpg

Source


Back in Film Days one had to be more selective about how many photos one took with the cost of film and developing, but I have such fond memories of that camera and my trusted notebook from back then when for every photo I took I would note down all the details of when, what time , what settings what the light was etc, so that when I got around to developing the film I could look at each photo and my notes and think about how I could improve the image for next time.

A break in the Journey

I had the OM1 camera for close to 10 years and learnt so much with it, but when I changed Jobs and started my life of travelling on one of my first moves the box with the camera and lenses went missing along with all my Vinyl records, and that put a hold on my photography for a while

Just a side thought is it just me or for those who have moved isnt it weird that if movers loose a box its always with something valuable in it, never a box of clothes or such?

Well for many years I just had a Point and shoot camera and really forgot all about photography until about 10 years ago when I meet my new wife and when talking one day the subject of photography came up and she pushed me to get out and buy a camera as she felt the passion I had for it when I spoke about it, I am truly lucky to have her in my life she brings out the best in me , in Ohh so many ways.

Looking back I find it kind of crazy that in the period when I did most of my travelling, visited over 60 Countries and saw some amazing sites good and bad, was also the time I wasn't into photography, but then again over that time for the most part I was working super long days and 7 days weeks so maybe that why I never got back into it then.

Where I am now with Photography

As I said above Photography is not work or a job for me, its my way of relaxing and unwinding and I plan to keep it that way, I have had opportunities to work with others professionally or to Market my photos more, but i have always resisted that as if it became my job I think I would not have the same enjoyment i currently get from it and since i have only a couple of years till I will retire I will keep it as a hobby while I am still working, maybe I will re-assess that when I retire and have more time for photography and maybe try to Market myself a bit more, but till then its all for fun.

16898981311_4a68d2156c_o.jpg

I have bene lucky to have had my photos selected to be on Display on this large wall of a Local Bank, at our local train Station and even
19587590718_69df83a6e2_o (1).jpg

A few time son the Front and in the case above front and back of our City Magazine which is a very cool feeling to see I have to admit is such a cool feeling to see.

I also sell the occasional print from my website not many, but that and a few Calendars each year are just a small bonus to the hobby and help me towards buying new camera gear, but in all honesty most of my camera shopping comes from my work salary and not photography LOL

Photography for me now and the foreseeable future is about getting out and enjoying Nature or NYC with camera in hand looking for interesting sites to see, and then reliving those moments when I edit the photos or share them through Blog posts.

I am much the same with my Time on Steemit as I am with photography, I know there are ways or games I could play to maximum my time on Steemit or with the camera and could make more returns on both if I was ruthless and calculated about what photos I take, what People I comment on or upvote on to make sure I get the max return etc.

That is fine for those who like working that way, and I am not criticizing them, I see many who are making great money on Steemit and congrats to them for their efforts and success,


But for me returns will never be my main focus on Steemit, sure making a little with each post is nice, but what is even nicer is the great people people I have meet and interact with here on Steemit, and my choice of who I will comment on, reply to upvote etc will be those whose posts I enjoy, those who I have fun interacting with and thats the way I am and always will be

So my Plan remains the same I am going to enjoy photography as a hobby when the weather is nice get out and about for walks on the beach at sunrise and Sunset, walks in Parks or exploring New York City in early morning walks, occasionally try a different style but most of all continue to have fun with it.

Why this will be my only Sndbox quest related post

Although I love the idea of the quest and will try to make the time over coming weeks to do some of the other styles of photography listed in the quest such as

  1. Multiple Exposure, - Havent done this with digital but will be cool to research and try again
  2. Light Trails, - I have been saying i need to do these again
  3. Flat Lay, I will admit I had to google this to see what it was
  4. Street Photography, Again something I have been telling myself i need to get out of my comfort zone and do more of this
  5. 3D Stereoscopic Photography, Will have to research this
  6. Portraits, this is an area I am almost scared of but is an area I plan to try and learn
  7. Macro Photography, I love Macro shots but havent taken any for months so this is a good kick to do some
  8. High-Speed Photography another cool subject to put on my to do list

So this quest is good to spur me to try some new styles and re do styles I havent done for a while,
But realistically there is no way I can do these in the coming 8 days of the deadline, and also I am not sure I could get out of my comfort Zone within that time frame and do the required Video post of myself in a busy place talking about my vision and such I really can not see myself doing that.

So thanks to the person who proposed I should do this quest but at this stage its just not going to be possible for me.

and WOW scrolling back up this is another wordy post for me, so not like my typical post of a photo and a few short words or thoughts but here it goes, about to hit the POST button

I hope I haven't bored anyone to sleep who made it this far LOL


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.210041 lat -73.052962 long Gulf Beach Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

That is an incredible photo. I'm not a great photographer myself, though I have studied photography in the past and am a huge appreciator of the art. You've captured an incredible moment and place and quality of light here. It takes my breath away. I also enjoyed reading about the history of your work in photography and your approach.

Thanks Jayna so kind of you to visit and appreciate your support tip!

Thank you. 😊

Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Photography Journey Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Thank you so much for sharing your photographers journey with us. My first real camera other than an old Kodak when I was nine was a Nikon 35 MM with zoom lens, I loved that thing! My Dad gave it to me for eight grade graduation!

I still remember my first camera fondly one day I will see that type in a second hand shop and get another one :)

Thanks for the visit

But for me returns will never be my main focus on Steemit, sure making a little with each post is nice, but what is even nicer is the great people people I have meet and interact with here on Steemit

Keeping it real Jay! This is one of the most extensive posts you've made in quite awhile. Have to say, thank you! Still think you're fooling us about the professional photography vs a hobby. :P You are phenomenal bro.

Yeah this wasn’t my normal post style for sure lol

Cheers mate

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=returning-home-at-the-end-of-a-working-day


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like your honesty and feel the same way about trying to game things or lose the actual message in what you are attempting to convey by seeing it as a giant high school popularity contest
refreshing

I think I am sometimes to honest and put my integrity to high sometimes just thinking about it now it has also held back my career but with not to long before I retire and also 👀 ng back I would do it all again the same way

I have my weaknesses like everyone but I am happy with myself and my choices so to me I am doing great

I really enjoyed this post of yours. This photography is superb. I love how the sky reflects on the ocean. I have a great time reading about your history of been a photographer! Excellent my dear friend keep it up!

Thanks for your visit and support it is truly appreciated
Have a great Sunday

I so enjoyed your story! The boat shot is great, but that one on the bank building is amazing! I wish you could continue, but yes it would be difficult to fulfill all those things in such a short time when you are working at another job. I can put things aside to do it. In fact every one of the images will become stock shots for me, so I'm glad of the suggestions to spur me on! I have not done 3D photography, but it should be easy enough. I have done done everything else for stock over the years, so I should be able to get it done.Look for my intro post, probably tomorrow. I recorded the video today, but I now have to figure out what to do with it. LOL!

Way to go that your doing it look forward to seeing them and good luck 🍀

I knew it JJ your famous! No surprises there though, your photos are fantastic.

Maybe infamous but definitely not famous lol

I really enjoyed this post and the picture of the boat was stellar. I totally agree as you know about is being more about the people any interactions made is supposed to making a quick buck. While I make no judgements on people that game the system, it's just not something that I care to do.

If I had to give up some of the things that you need to do on your list of eight. Some I have never heard about and some I just don't know about.

This has been an interesting post to me and many others I am sure. All the traveling I have done, I am in the same boat as photography didn't interest me enough to stop and take a bunch of pictures. To me now, that is distressing but I did all that travel and have nothing to show for it come except for perhaps the memories. A wonderful post and I am glad to know more about your photographic Journey.

Tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34