Must see 👀 sunset shot (I couldn't wait to share this one with you guys)!

Believe it or not the sunset was this crazy last Tuesday in Connecticut:

1_100_sec_at_f_5_0_ISO_800_20180619_5_D3_0481

I was at my nephew's high school graduation and after the ceremony (that took place at the convention center) I looked up and saw that the sky looked like this...

1_250_sec_at_f_2_8_ISO_2000_20180619_5_D3_0423

1_400_sec_at_f_2_8_ISO_2000_20180619_5_D3_0431

...and I thought to myself I might be in for a treat! So while everyone was scrambling around taking cellphone shots (and I took some photos with my "nice camera") I took another look at the sky and it was EPIC!

Luckily I had my telephoto lens as it has a 2.8 aperture (great for low light) and it's long (since it took place in a convention center) I was able to zoom in tight to get less of a distracting background. Check out this image zoomed out at 70mm:

1_100_sec_at_f_5_0_ISO_800_20180619_5_D3_0479

If I didn't have a long lens I wouldn't have been able to get this shot:

1_100_sec_at_f_5_0_ISO_800_20180619_5_D3_0490

I really love how the statue adds a little something extra. And I don't have the original raw file on this laptop so you can see that I didn't do any crazy Photoshop editing to make the sky look this amazing - trust me when I tell you the sunset was this intense!

Have a great rest of your weekend everyone!


EPISODE 4 - How I Made This Shot - Behind The Scenes: Macro Photography


U5dqw6j_L8_Ytv_NZKhm5kx_Th_S4z_Em_S93_B_640x480

STEEMIT_PLUG
👉🏻 All images are lovingly taken by me.

👉🏻 Follow for more awesome images like this sent to your feed daily. HUGS

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-23T18:05:06
Account Level: 6
Total XP: 4204.71/6400.00
Total Photos: 210
Total comments: 169
Total contest wins: 61
And have also received a 2.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Outstanding! So beautiful @mikeycolon!!
Such a nice touch the statue and amazing
sunset colours along with those deep blues
on the building! ☀

The round windows on the science
building remind me of the Pleiades
star grouping! :-)

Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you like it. :D

I can see you are already having fun on this trip.
Well, I can't buy photoshop my operating system falls short of supporting it.
I am going to look at Lightroom 5 most likely, next.
Have fun! I will resteem this for you.

Obstacles really are teachers. :)

Any version of LR should be fine as it hasn't had a major overhaul in a long time. And you're right about obstacles - it's all about how you handle the situation. Any negative can be turned into a teaching moment.

thanks.. until I get a better computer and mine is great..only adobe wants certain things I will have to go old school... I found LR 5 and am trying to get that one...the person is selling it with a license ..will know in a week.

AS far as the current Adobe and LR I am working on the use of someone else's computer to begin learning.

Hello @mikeycolon,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Magical Hour".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-81st-edition-magical-hour

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33