You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heading out on a warm and moody morning

Blogs

I feel any more than 4 blogs/resteems a day is getting a bit much. I try and aim for 1-2 a day more on the 1 side. Sometimes I get back up on getting content out so then I have to push that number up to 2 or even the rare 3. Sometimes things are very time sensitive and so it has to be out regardless of how many times I’ve post/resteem that day.

Most time when I see people cross that number daily it seems like they could put more effort into things or they could have just done half as many posts and combined them.

Photos

I’m somewhat thankful I use an old iPad for my photos, they suck I take about a dozen of them and then I pick the least blurry/out of focus/too dark for senor when I do use photos I take. It’s only a couple minutes of my time then I focus on the written content as that is my focus.

I can see both sides of frustration when it comes to short posts with 1 photo and only a sentence or two of words not including this is for challenge an here is the info. While I’ve not done much photo editing myself I know things take time even more so if you are diving out to location taking a hundred photos and then going through your process narrowing it down to a couple that you then further process to create what you seen be translated into the photo.

While a single photo can tell a wonderful story there is often a story behind that photo. A point of view of the creator that might not be fully understood by someone who does not have similar experiences and sees the same thing.

I have seen a lot of wonderful photos on Steemit that someone spent a lot of time to get it the way they wanted and I’m sure they spent a lot of money on equipment and software. But then they don’t take it to the next level. What’s the story behind the photo? What is in that photo? Where was it? While maybe that the point of many photos leaving more questions than answers I often don’t spend the time to ask them. I also find it hard many times to even comment on them.

When I have nominated all those posts it took me hours a day sometimes. Our community produces a lot of photos but not a lot of context behind them other than “this is what challenge I did this for.” This often left me checking all of their posts from a single person looking for something just a bit more to meet the requirements that were being looked for. After seeing a dozen of "market Friday" or whatever the day was of posts and not many words it was a challenge finding things even if the photo was amazing just by itself.

A while back I wrote this dreadful storyline that I never finished because it got silly and was not worth finishing (lack of views I think I scared people lol). I was doing a color challenge and so I wrote a story using colors of that day! Here is one of them https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@enjar/colorchallenge-wednesdayyellow-wicked-blasphemy
I could have just taken a photo of something that was yellow and posted it saying “I’m posting this for a color challenge” and be done with it.

Yes, I did not spend hours editing those photos and I’ll never admit how many hours each one of those stilly posts took in me trying to create a story out of them.

Nothing wrong with a single photo and a couple of words but so much more could be done. Even more so when people invest so much time and money into creating a photo. A great narrative behind it creates an even better blog. That is also what makes Steemit so wonderful not everyone is a writer or a photographer. Those that can combine both sides really well can create an amazing opportunity for themselves here.

One day I'll try and up my photo skills. It really is a wonderful art form just on by itself!

Sort:  

thanks my friend good feedback and appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17