The Only Time I Wouldn’t Want to Hold Gold

in #gold6 years ago

7F83D60A-8BA6-40BB-BAB6-D2B921FF18FF.jpeg

Gold is a critical part of your financial portfolio. This is because gold is money. Gold is money because it is the only thing that consistently holds its value over long periods of time. The best way to understand this is to compare gold not to any financial asset like stocks, real estate, or cryptocurrency. Gold out performs OTHER currencies. By other currencies I mean fiat (issued by decree) currencies like the Yen, Euro, Lira, Bolivar, Dollar, etc.

You could not describe to me any scenario where I would tell you that it would be smart to NOT hold any gold. I strongly believe that holding some gold adds a stability to your portfolio you cannot get anywhere else.

So when is the ONLY time I would not want to hold any gold??

When it looks like this:

576F2ECF-BE50-4655-8623-DE653310D487.jpeg

Gold melts at:

1,948°F
1,064°C

...and you wouldn’t want to be holding it during that time.

174B6557-9EEA-4F6A-869D-9B0E71D91EE2.jpeg
http://www.999gold.ru/news/view/704

Game of thrones fans can confirm this. There was an episode in Game of Thrones called “A Golden Crown.” Sounds great right? https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Golden_Crown

CF518CEC-34FD-4F4A-AA2A-12D7DDE15BF0.jpeg

Trust me, this is only time you don’t want one of these:

46F484FF-4F40-4CC5-9033-15B97C1CA885.jpeg

When gold looks like this:

C6F57AF7-4186-44F4-8B2D-EC67F915F468.jpeg
https://sciencing.com/can-melt-gold-propane-7157.html

It is the only time I will tell you to stay away.

On the other hand....

60D12E3A-E894-4AE5-BB9B-8D49C6E803D3.jpeg

I’m defintely not opposed to some gold nachos!

CEFA1DD0-F103-49B8-A455-37A794EDE0A9.jpeg

For $5 in Menē credit towards any 24 karat gold or platinum item sign up for free in 30 seconds here:
http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p

D4F23300-80DB-4C48-B136-5F95DD22BC3A.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

Watch Steemit Legend Gringalicous unbox Mene here:

Sort:  

ooo an unexpected twist! I was didn't think about it being hot and melty! Like melty cheese on a grilled cheese (which is melted gold that I would hold in my mouth). Gold nacho cheese works, too.

Mene: So Hot And Melty :)

It is pretty interesting to see how gold does during time periods throughout history! I think we are going to have a huge upleg here before too long. It would not surprise me if there was a period where all assets are decreasing is $ value except for gold, silver, platinum and other metals

That wouldn’t suprise me either:)

I do think it will happen over the next few years!

Even when I hold gold in its cold state, the heat of excitement would rush through my veins, gold is always hot, hot profits, hot fortunes, hot demands!

Thats how i feel! Hot!

I don't believe you. I am sure you would find a way of getting your hands on liquid gold. There is a mine here where if you can pick up a gold bar using one hand it is yours. Maybe it is the shape and the weight combined that makes it impossible.

Thats a good point, I should find a way to carry it in my hand for a blog post :)

Gold is my end game. But I have such a tiny budget for stacking. So fractional gold and some silver a month works for me. Then I am a stickler for lists. I go by this list when I purchase. So... I became active in steemit April, and discovered Mene, and signed up right away. I love the gold pieces in Mene. I added it to my list... and on July... I hope to get to my first Mene.

Thats awesome! Can’t wait to see the unboxing:) I reccomend checking out the Harvest Plan. Can be found here: https://www.mene.com/customer-service

King's Ring. The way they melt gold looks very awesome. 1k degrees Celsius. I think this is worst temperature. Even our earth core temperature near about 3k.

Yes its quite beautiful isnt it?

Yes, looks like lava but when we keep them in room temperature then we knows the value of this material.

Gold value never depreciate, I wonder why cryptocurrencies can't follow suit. I wish I have a gold to hold on to for a very long time but dam it very expensive down here.

In my view you can’t compare gold to cryptocurrency as they are completely different classes.

I understand that but am just saying it.

If you come from a country like mine there are several times I wouldn't want to hold gold. Like walking the streets at nights with gold on. Those hoodlums show no mercy. We try to be security conscious but asides that we hold gold any other time. Expect when it goes through fire obviously. Lol

Mene is gaining a following. I need to stack some silver and gold first before buying from mene.

Sounds good :)

I´ve stumbled upon Mene right before visiting this post...

Seems to me though I can´t find any jewelry for men there?

Tons of guys have bought Mene on Steemit :) Check out the gold band rings, and also the gift sections . Thank you for your interest . For $5 in Mene credit : http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p

Sounds good!! I just signed up through your link...

I´m also interested in Goldmoney... is it what Peter Schiff is associated with?

Fantastic!! and yes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57097.85
ETH 3049.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30