You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn Something New Every Day Contest. Day 9

My dad always had a beard and grew up in Irving, Texas. Back in the 60's my dad was in a few different bands as a drummer. In the late 60's my dad's band played in Battle of the Bands. At that time the band he was playing against had a fantastic drummer named Frank Beard. My dad's band beat Frank's band.

The irony and Did You Know fun fact... Frank Beard went on after his loss in battle of the bands to join the famous band ZZ - Top. Did you know Frank Beard is the only member of ZZ - Top that does not and has not had a beard?

I have always thought my dad would have been the better man for the job... but that wasn't in the cards. Glad you are feeling better buddy! STEEM ON MY FRIENDS!


Image Source

Sort:  

I love ZZ Top! Did you know that they were the "Festival Band" in the movie "Back to the Future: 3"?
I actually got to set up and tear down the groups stage equipment and watch the show from backstage at the Clark County Amphitheater back in 2008!

Dude that's awesome! It's been so long since i saw part three... I did not know they were the "Festival Band!" I always got to carry around my parents equipment! Another interesting fact... ZZ Top have a song called the Balinese. My dad and mom played there just before the hurricane blew it off the map. http://www.balineseroom.net/historyofBalinese.htm

Cool stories my friend!

Another cool fact about ZZ Top. The razor company "Bic" offered them a million dollars EACH to shave their beards for a commercial for them. I think this was back in the 90's when a million bucks was a lot more than it is now (not that a million bucks isn't a lot, cause it is). Can you guess what the band members answers were? LOL

For some reason I thought that he did have a beard at one time, and got rid of it. Not sure why, but third place for teaching me better!

All I could find after looking this whole time is that he stated once in an interview about his lack of beard (but mustasche).... that He didn't compete if He couldn't win! I believe he also stated that he liked being able to go out and not be instantly recognized. Another thought is that a long beard would have gotten in the way of his drumming. My dad, as a drummer, always said the little beat Beard did called the Texas shuffle was the driving sound behind their music. If i was them... I would have shaved for that million bucks and let Frank get a head start! hahahaha So glad to have participated in sharing and feels good to win.... 3rd place isn't the second loser... it's the thrid Winner!

It is the third winner! Especially when the prize is monetary! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97