Steps to Freedom: Securing our LandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #goals7 years ago

My family and I took a step of faith over 2 years ago and left the land of our birth for lands unknown.

We left the State of Wisconsin, along with its high land values, high property taxes and oppressive code enforcements for the Land of Promise, namely, the State of Arkansas.


Arkansas? Yes, Arkansas!


It’s not just the former stomping grounds of our 42nd, non-inhaling, “depends on what the definition of ‘is’ is” President (for younger Steemians I’m referring to William Jefferson Clinton).

No, its home to some of the purdiest parts of dem’ Ozark Mountains the eyes has ever seen.

It’s home to some of the coldest, purest, lakes and rivers where trout fishing is world famous.

It’s also home to the 2nd lowest property taxes on average as well as to some of the laxest zoning and code enforcement regulations of these States United.

All those benefits plus land that is affordable. I'm talking $1000.00 an acre affordable.

For me and mine, Arkansas is the Land of Promise simply because it offers freedom in areas that are most important to us.

As I’ve stated in my introduction post my 3 goals for moving to our Promise Land were:

  • Live a life of considerate freedom.

  • Build Legacies Utilizing Earth's Resources.

  • Slow down and enjoy life.

Today, my wife (@allforthegood) and I finally closed on the land where we believe those goals can be realized.

We paid $12,000 for 12 acres of raw land that gently slopes down to a year round creek.

IMG_20170606_091721775.jpg

Part of my purpose in blogging is to chronicle our journey so as to keep a record for future generations, but also to encourage and motivate others to pursue their own happiness.

In future posts I will share more of the details that brought us to this particular piece of property.

Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

That's very interesting. I didn't know that ablout Arkansas. Property tax and zoning are the most insidious forms of surfdom. I really wish there was a concerted push against it, but it seems to be a minor concern that we don't even own property in this "land of the free".

I agree. My wife and I searched far and wide for the cheapest property taxed states in the Union so as to minimize the left of our property. We found that Louisiana and Arkansas are the 2 lowest in the nation. We also considered climate and growing seasons. We took a trip down here before deciding to move and I saw yards littered with junk everywhere. That may be a turn off to some, but do you know what I saw when I saw that? Freedom. Obviously there weren't zoning and ordinance police fining these people out of there property like Wisconsin does otherwise I wouldn't have seen what I've seen.

Life is certainly what you make of it and less people telling you how to do just that is what makes America free. Good on you sir!


Very interesting

Thanks. I encourage anyone with similar goals to check out this State.

Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations brother, its very encouraging to see you succeed in your dream for your family. Look what the Lord has done!

One small step in a lifelong journey. God is good.

Amen brother!

12 acres and freedom. Sounds like a little slice of heaven. Looking forward to reading about how you make this land your home.

Power to you and yours.

Congratulations! You're my kind of people and I can't to read more about your journey. followed!

If you weren't already aware of the open source design and build instruction content for ecological housing on Open Building Institute you might want to check it out. Let us know what you think of it for your property.

Thanks. I will check it out.

Hi-we were thinking about moving to the ozarks - but saw many mozquito problems exist - is this true?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51