Goals - My Drop In The Ocean DITO

in #goals6 years ago


1 Canada Geese On Frozen Pond.jpg

Goals

Irony, recently, someone put immense peer pressure on me to write out my goals, short term and long... Then, someone also, guilted the entire BuddyUp community into using GOALS as the theme for the week.

Personally, I listed out 7 MAJOR GOALS, and within one of my Health Goals, I mentioned:

Back On Ice, January 2019

The irony is, that's going to be the 10 year anniversary of when I was last on ice.
And I blame a Goal for that.

Without going into a long and involved personal story, I will sum it up with this:
I was playing defense, in Hockey and the other team's star player was skating by at top speed.
He was easily one of the league's best player.

It was a close game, and yet, that moment, when he flew by me, is when he blew the game wide open! I spun as he went by... and did not fall. I did everything but fall.

This was one of those 6 am games. Later than same day, I was sitting on the couch, sore from my spin and not-fall, when, I stood up. that was the last thing I remember, for three weeks. I woke, semi conscious, with IV's and tubes and all kinds of contraptions beeping. The game I love, hockey, put me in intensive care. Seems that the spin on ice, tore my insides, partially, and then that last bit, standing from the couch, was enough to trigger the ambulance and 3 weeks in ICU.

My goal, now, in life, is to get back onto the ice. 10 years to the day that I stopped playing.
It's going to be long and hard. And there will be sore days. But, nothing in life is easy, some soreness is required.

I am looking forward to days on my rollerblades, and working my muscles long dormant, to get back into playing shape. Soon enough, lacing up the blades and getting out on the ice and the rink and the sticks, and sound of the puck hitting boards and the sweet feel of the puck in the back of the net, strings flying and shaking!

... and the love of the game!

GOALS, full circle



thealliance_468x60.jpg

Small Welcome Wagon.png

Screen Shot 2018-08-17 at 22.13.10.png

Sort:  

Your post is just stunning and I love it.

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Get those blades out!

Yeahh... do it do it!

PS.
I think we have the same someone.. hahaha but i love her! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

who is she??? tell me! I'll protect us all from her!!!!! LOLOLOL

Hahahaha oh you know her too well!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

i doooooooooooooo?????? LOLOLOL

hmmmmmm thinking thinking thinking... LOLOLOL

Hahahahahaha... please do think.. she is the loveliest maiden of all.. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow Blue- fancy being pressured into something like that ;)

What a scary thing to have gone through, and I admire you so much for making this one of your goals. For acknowledging the work you'll have to put in, the sore days and, I guess, the remembered scare from 10 years ago. You've got this Blue- and I'm sure me, @saffisara and @dreemsteem will be on hand with ice-packs, muscle rubs and hot baths to get you through.

E x

looking forward to it...
UHM... I feel sore now. Can I get an advance?

I think he's going to purposely hurt himself now! LOLOLOL

and pressured? nahhhhhhh. it's not pressure when you secretly like it ;) (right????) hahahaha

that person sounds like a terrible person. you should probably stop being friends with her.

It is a her, right?

not that i know. Just a wild guess ;)

Obviously, terrible

distance yourself. hurry!

ten years is a long time ... very brave to set this goal and of course what is better than hockey to want to play.

May have to make you an honourary Canuck

10 years

time to break out my Canadian Flag pin whenever I train

totally felt a sting in my special part as I read about your injury. It is good you are working to get back though, if only to not be too scared of something small being able to cause that hurt again. Injuries can have very bad psychological effects.

indeed
get some ice for your special part

Wow! That is pretty scary! I want to say well done for Not falling, but then another part of me wonders if you had fallen, would you have done as much damage? Or maybe it could have been even worse! Anyway, 10 years isn't that long... a few stretches and you will be right as rain! :D (Closing my eyes and not watching...)

going to give my all!

This is powerful, @bluefinstudios I wonder what that moment will feel like, what your thoughts will be. Since you were not on the ice for 9 years, is that because there was some emotional trauma attached to the event that perhaps you don't remember?

I think it's great that you are going slow and feeling it out first - letting your body get used to the idea.

I hope you write about it when that big day comes.

Wonderful post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83