Can anyone recommend a good alternative for Gmail? It's time to move...

in #gmail6 years ago

Screenshot 2019-01-23 at 18.24.27.png

I urgently need to switch away from Gmail. I'm missing emails - who knows how many - and it's beginning to hurt my business.

I have checked and ticked off all the boxes from the Gmail FAQ's and the support links, nothing went to spam or trash (I check those every day), I searched in:anywhere - I did follow all the instructions, so no need to send me links :)

Google must have changed something on their end that doesn't allow certain emails to come through anymore. It started with a friend getting frustrated in December, because it took her 3 or 4 times to get emails through to me. I thought it was just her, but now it happened to a business contact, and I realized a number of other people I hadn't heard back from anymore.

I noticed I'm getting a lot less spam emails, too. So it's clear they changed something. It should be up to me to decide what's spam or not. Or they are censoring random emails that contain the word "Bitcoin", which is the case for pretty much all of my emails since it's in my signature, and which would explain why this also happens with replies to me. Which really shouldn't happen.

So time to look for a new email provider. Ideally one with the same amount of space... But maybe also a good opportunity to move to an encrypted one? Any suggestions? I know about Protonmail - I heard the rumors that they were maybe not as encrypted as they claimed, not sure if that was true - does anyone have any experience with them?

Any suggestions welcome, and feedback too, if you've been experiencing the same issues with Gmail. Thank you! 🙏

Sort:  

I use tutanota.com and protonmail.com for superior security and reliability.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah yes, tutanota was the one I couldn't remember!! How's your experience? Compared to protonmail?

Well, Tutanota, because Germany. They already looking into Quantum Cryptography. Thing I like about Proton is that you can keep your business email address if you have an Enterprise acct. Both outstanding in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I just signed up to tutanota!! You can keep your business email there as well, if you get a paid account. I think I’ll do that. Will test the free version first, though.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I use posteo.de - 12 € per year. No spam- 2 aditional aliase for your account

Posted using Partiko Android

I have not been experiencing any issues with Gmail, maybe I have not been observant enough.

However, if you are looking for an alternative, then I think Outlook.com will be a nice and a wonder alternative.

Warm regards!

Thank you. Really? I haven't looked at Outlook in 10 years I think! But that's how long I've had a Mac. Maybe that's why ;)

Did you just mention Mac? Wow!, just as you seem tired of Gmail. that's how I am equally sick and tired of my PC, I don't like windows anymore for so many reasons, I am seriously making plans to get myself a good MacBook Pro.

You will pull your hair out for about two weeks when you switch over to Mac, but then you won't ever want to switch back anymore ;)

I've slowly started using tutanota and it's very reliable. I've encountered 2-3 times that they said 'use a real mail address' or something similar, and I'm not sure if that's because they don't recognize tutanota as a valid address or maybe it's because one of the addresses I use has the word 'crypto' in them.

Ah that’s good to know thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have you checked your Social folder for the missing emails? Gmail started dividing up emails between two folders, primary and social, a while ago, and I must have missed their announcement about it. As a result, I missed a lot of emails which were being saved to my Social folder, which I didn't even know existed.
I hate the way Gmail automatically updates my calendar too. I intend to move away from it as soon as I get my life organised!

Oh I think they started doing that 5 or 6 years ago :) I’m pretty familiar with gmail’s features - have been using it for years for business. At least I got them to “look at” the issue now, let’s see if anything comes from it...

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @connecteconomy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64