The Old Dog Updates: Will I Really be Able to Throw my Glasses Away? Part Two!

in #glasses7 years ago (edited)

A few weeks back I wrote about my discovery of and experimentation with an app called Glasses Off!

With 145 comments and 141 views there was a lot of interest from many of you who wanted to be kept up to date with my progress before perhaps giving it a try yourselves! 

The creators claim that you should "see" some improvement in the first 2 weeks and that it will be about 3 months to "see" a great change. So, after about a month what has my experience been?


Photo credit

Just as a Reminder

This app only works for those that need vision improvement in order to read. I can still read without reading glasses but I now have to take my distance glasses off in order to do so. This hampered me, for example, when driving because while I use glasses to drive I couldn't see the instrument panel with them on!

What is it Like to Use The App?

I have to say first of all is that I don't always remember to use it! You can set a built in reminder but when it flashes on my iPad telling me that it's time to train it is invariably not the right moment! But hey, that's on me! My Bad! You should train 3 times a week and I've managed to do it at least twice a week. If I really want this to work I'll have to improve on my regularity!

Using the app is like playing a video game but it takes intense concentration. By the time I've finished a session my eyes are actually smarting and they do so for quite some time afterward.

What About The Results so Far?

I can now see the car instrumentation with my driving glasses on. I don't claim that things are crisp and clear but I can make everything out at that short distance. When it comes to glancing at my watch with my distance glasses on I can now make out the number on the dial but things are definitely fuzzy! Still, progress has been made.

If I had to guess I'd say that I've improved about 20% but the app itself tells me that I've improved by only 10%.

Here Are The Stats That The App Gives Regarding my Performance


This is what the app indicates that my improvement has been!


While this looks impressive, I'm not too sure what it means!

 There it is a 10-20% Improvement in One Month!

Will I be able to throw may glasses away? I'll check in with you in another month and who knows? Maybe I'll be that much closer to doing so!

What do You Think?

  • Am I deluding myself or will I really be able "throw away" my glasses!
  • Are you at all interested in this application?
  • If I am successful will you give it a try?


In closing, since many asked about it, the application costs about $10 for a month and then if you decide to go ahead it's $60.00 for a year. For more information you can have a look here.

I hope that you enjoyed having a look at my progress report!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Keep do it! You're on the way! 60$ and if it works you'll save a lot of money in eventual glasses expenses....

Thanks for the encouragement! I'll keep going! Go @kus-knee go!

Wow interesting! I am nearsighted maybe it will work for me!?

Hey mon you never know mon. Let me keep tryin and I be bock to you!

I hope this works out well my friend. I had cataract surgery in 2014 and they put a corrective lens in and my vision is as good as it was when I was 18!

By the way... guess what time it is (here's a hint)

My draft was last night... Got Mitch M. again & Van Riemsdyk... Tyler B was taken!

Hey @richq11 now you're getting me excited! Yes I have the NHL App so I can see the games and for once my team is looking good! I hope to start writing more about hockey on my other blogs soon. In fact the other day I wrote one about goalies on @nhlhockey

Great to read the you see like an 18 year old! Rich blessing to rich!

I get excited at Hockey time! I won the last 2 years in a row and my team looks pretty good this year. I've got Corey Crawford in the net with Jimmy Howard and Brian Elliot from Philly backing him up... You know, I still remember when the league was Boston, Toronto, Montreal, Chicago, Detroit & and NYR! Gawd I'm old!!!

I like this case study a lot. While I don't where glasses at present I like knowing there are tools like this that can help retrain one's eyes and brain.

I would tend to say that you are not deluding yourself by thinking it might be possible to throw away the glasses. Since you've made 10-20% progress in one month of -imperfect- practice it seems like more time and regular use of the app should make a dramatic difference.

I'll be very interested to read part 3. Keep up the good work (both with the app and the reports)!

Thanks for the encouragement!

That's interesting!!

I hope that you don't need glasses yet @nba05!

Loading...

I am quite fascinated by this. I am going to be watching closely! Excuse the pun!

No need to excuse the pun because I'm a big fan of them!

Me too actually! :0)

It must be a cool app. I will surely try once. Thanks for bringing to us

let's see how the next month goes!

interesting . . Waiting for your next post
123.jpg

Thanks for the visit and the cute picture!

a great discovery, thank you friends already shared @kus-knee.

Let's hope that it keeps working!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65