How To: Ferment Wild Blackberry Wine!

in #ghsc6 years ago (edited)

It's fall and there are plenty of fruit out there waiting to be picked, dried, jammed, eaten fresh, and fermented into alcohol!

This is my first year making Blackberry Wine!

I'll preface this post by saying that the un-aged wine already tastes amazing.

I am a little late in delivering this post because the prime blackberry season has already past here. But no worries because you can apply a similar method to create wine out of just about any fruit.

IMG_20180820_151044.jpg

I put aside these delicious blackberries for wine. I was picking a very ripe patch and didn't care that they were mushing in my fingers or my picking bucket because they were going to become wine!

Weigh Out the Berries

In this batch of wine I weighed out 6lb of berries. This will make at least 1 gallon of wine.

IMG_20180831_162713.jpg

Mash the Berries

This is the fun part, you get to smash up those berries anyway you like :) This step is optional but recommended to get more berry flavor infused into the wine.

IMG_20180820_152036.jpg

Add Heated Water

Add Water to your berries. In this case I added just over a gallon of water to my 6.2 lb of berries. You could pour hot water over your berries or you could do what I did and heat it up with the berries in it. You don't need to bring it to a boil, just get the water hot. This will help infuse the juice into the water.

IMG_20180820_153429.jpg

Primary Fermentation - Part 1

Now comes what is called primary fermentation or the first stage of the fermentation process. What does it involve? Let the mashed fruit sit in the water with a lid on it for 1-3 days depending on the temperature. Hotter ambient temperature = faster fermentation.

IMG_20180820_153509.jpg

Yes, that's all you do! Just sit it there and let it begin to ferment all on its own. The fermentation will utilize wild yeasts from the fruit and also from the air.

The juice and fruit mixture will start to bubble softly and if you taste it after a day or two you will notice it is fermenty.

Primary Fermentation - Part 2

After fermenting with wild yeasts for a day or two its time to strain the fruit out and add sugar and yeast.

1. Use a large strainer and strain out the pulp and seeds from the juice

2. Add sugar to the juice and stir it in (I used about 2 lb of sugar for this batch)

3. Sprinkle wine yeast on top of the juice (about 1/8 tsp would be enough)

4. Cover and let sit for 7-10 days

IMG_20180823_103341.jpg

Here is the wine with the yeast recently added and starting to multiply.

IMG_20180825_132158.jpg

Once the sugar and yeast are added, things really get going! Notice I left some space at the top of the pot just in case it foams up there is less chance that it will bubble up and over the edges. Yes this has happened to me before :)

These blackberries are so sweet they don't need as much sugar to ferment into wine as other fruits (which might need up to 5-6 lbs sugar per gallon of water). Actually technically no sugar is needed, but I want a strong wine and a strong alcohol content helps ensure long shelf life.

After the first few days keep a close eye on the brew. When the bubbles start fading and the fermentation starts subsiding it is a good time to begin the second fermentation.

Secondary Fermentation

My blackberry wine fermented hard and strong for about 10 or 11 days before it simmered down. I tasted it and whew! Strong with alcohol and not too overly sweet which tells me the yeast ate up most of its food... just what I wanted.

Time to start the secondary fermentation which means cutting off the oxygen supply while the wine continues to ferment at a more gentle and slow rate. We don't want oxygen because that can lead to oxidation and wine turning to vinegar - vinegar spores are in the air everywhere just waiting ;)

IMG_20180831_160727.jpg

I am using 1 gallon glass jug and I pour in the wine into the jug with a funnel. At this stage you could do another filtering of sediment using cheese cloth or a fine strainer. But if not no worries, because when you rack the wine later you will leave that stuff out of your wine.

IMG_20180831_161156.jpg

I ended up with a little over 2 1/2 gallons of wine. Less than that will get bottled because I'll be racking the wine a few times and excluding debris which will reduce the overall volume. Depending how much I rack off, these jugs may eventually be combined.

The jugs are fitted with airlocks (rubber stopper and airlock filled partway with water) which release gas emitted by the fermentation but doesn't allow oxygen back in.

IMG_20180831_162239.jpg

The wine jugs find a nice cozy place out of the way, not too hot and not too cold to continue fermenting slowly. Typically the secondary fermentation is about 6 months with 1 or more rackings during that time to clear off sediment and reintroduce oxygen which keeps the fermentation a good thing in case it has subsided early.

After the secondary fermentation finally comes bottling.

I'll be glad to share posts on racking and bottling in the future!

Recipe

  1. 6lb blackberries
  2. 1 gallon water
  3. 2 lb sugar
  4. Wine yeast

Cheers!

I saved some of the thicker pulpier juice at the bottom of my pot as I was pouring it into the jugs.. a nice reward for my efforts. Wow was it delicious! After 10 days of fermentation it was already enough to get me drunk :)

I look forward to tasting it again when I rack the wine and again when I bottle it to see how the fermentation has changed the flavors.

IMG_20180831_161611.jpg



Proudly Contributing To:

ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community

Sort:  

I love blackberry but never tasted blackberry wine. Must be heavenly good though.
We make wine every year out of grapes and apples in the past but we never use yeast.
We had some guests for Germany during the summer and they were amazed that we don't use yeast. My dad is the wine maker, I'm on the other hand the one keeping the wine yard in shape. :)
Great recipe and congratulations!

Wonderful! Stacie D and I made some blackberry wine this summer. I didn't use water, just juice. It was thick and creamy and warm in our belly!

That's awesome! I pick wild blackberries every summer. I freeze them and I make jam, juice, and smoothies; but I don't have a dry cellar to make wine. Resteeming.

fantastic. have you tried elderberry and blackberry wine? that's my absolute favourite. Loving your harvest time as we come into Spring.

Yum! Awesome fun!! Thank-you for sharing how to make berry wine with us 💜 Cheers 🥂

I plan on trying to do this with some wild Autumn Olives a fruit most people call a nuisance fruit! This plant is an invasive species in our area!

Posted using Partiko iOS

this is neat. I used to make a lot of meads when I lived in one place. I made a blackberry mead once and it exploded in our outdoor kitchen sending seeds and pulp on the ceiling! we had to improvise our carboy to let air out differently. i think the fruit has so much sugar, it was fermenting more intensely than the carb could handle. it turned out good!

I love blackberries! Thanks for that interesting recipe! While I was in Scotland this summer, I saw masses and masses of wild blackberries. People don't pick them like we used to. I have heard of blackberry wine, but have never tried making it. Perhaps when I'm back in Scotland in late summer again, I'll gather some blackberries and attempt to make some wine!

Your brew looks lovely! We made blackberry wine last year and really enjoyed it although I do suggest waiting a year before opening a bottle - it really did improve a LOT with age.

Hmmm...I miss this post of you my friend @sagescrub

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25