GROWING GAC FRUIT - THE FIRST PLANT FLOWERED

in #ghsc6 years ago

Finally, a flower, and I found out that this plant is a female.


After growing two Gac fruit vines for three years now, the first one finally flowered. It is a female, based on the flowers, so I'm hoping that the other vine is a male, but I won't know until it flowers.

With an incredible amount of beta-carotene and lycopene, the Momordica cochinchinensis fruit is a great food, but to actually taste one here my best bet is to try to grow my own. Originally, they are from south-east Asia.

Besides the beautiful flowers, the pre-flower also looks very interesting. I think it looks like some strange sort of reptilian egg or something. These plants can actually produce over fifty fruit during their short harvest season, so a lot of these flowers are now showing up. To hear more about this incredible fruit, check out the video below.

MY FIRST GAC FRUIT FLOWERS VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-flowering-gac-fruit-vine

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

@papa-pepper I learn something new everyday. I have never eaten GAC Fruit. I may have to try some now.

Let me know if you find any! I'm still waiting to try.

What a fascinating and beautiful plant. Can’t wait to see if you get lucky this year and get some fruit. I love those green egg like buds that produce the flowers. That hat is looking awesome too by the way 😉

Yeah, I really like that hat, and @mama-pepper does too. It was made to fit! We will see what happens with the other plant. Thanks!

I am sure she does @papa-pepper... @mama-pepper is one lucky lady!

Very kewl... I thought it would only grow in a tropical climate!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I bring it inside during the winter. Otherwise it would die.

Ah ok... that makes sense then!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You've got some serious time invested in that plant. I'm intrigued. I like all the different plants you have out there. Definitely opened my eyes up to a few things I've never heard of.

Yeah, I'm not sure how it all happens, but I do get some interesting ones and manage to keep them alive.

I had to do some research as I have never heard of GAC fruit. You do have some interesting fruit and veggies in your garden. And you certainly have a lot of patience to wait this long for a flower and no guarantee of producing a fruit. What does this one taste like? It looks sort of like a passion fruit...

You have become quite the gardener. ....:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72