More About Me: Electrical Engineering and Interests

in #gettoknowme6 years ago (edited)


Picture Sources [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]
With respect to photo 4, all photos provided with distribution rights are considered considered CC0 equivalent for US government photos.


Today I am going to talk about Electrical Engineering (what I am going to school for technically) with things like what it is and why I chose it, and more I guess. This is a more personal experience (of like my classes) over a detailed explanation of what electrical engineering actually is. Now it is important to add that I am first year engineering which for most would mean that I would be taking a general engineering year first and then specialize in year 2, however you can get around this by taking a 2 year tech program and then go back and do a 3 semester (1 year technically) advanced course and leave with your engineering degree (or you could just be the engineering tech making an estimated 60,000-120,000 per anum salary). Now I took the 2 year tech program as my initial state for a couple of reasons, first you can do your tech program co-op (working while you do it, or making money), secondly because its about $12,000 cheaper for those 2 years (or around 32,000 cheaper in total), the rate that engineering tech students get hired is around 8-12% (depending on field) higher than engineering students, and they make, for the most part, the exact same amount. The only difference is that engineering techs do not get a seal and thus have to work in conjunction with an engineer. How I know all of this is that I did job shadowing, in high school, with a few different companies that had local setups (such as Stantec, DOW, Nova Chemicals, etc) and each time I basically got told the same thing, go tech instead of degree for the reasons above. Some of the engineers I followed around even took the path (tech and then 3 semester to degree) to get their engineering ticket.
Classes taken in Semester 1:
Communications (English)
Mathematics and Calculus I (Mathematics, simple)
Electronic Measurements (Building and testing circuits to show s our theory work in practice. Personal favorite!)
Embedded Systems I (Basically an introduction to filesystems, typing etc. Very basic)
Circuits I - Passive Circuits (Resistor, Inductor, and Capacitor circuits in Parallel and Series for DC)
Networking and Data Communications (Basically a class on the technical nomenclature, honestly most of the class was naming things)
Digital Fundamentals (Safe handling of electrostatic components and circuit diagrams)

The things in brackets are my comments on the class to give some context as to what it actually means. My first semester didn't have any labs (thank god) but in my second semester I have 2 and a half a week (every second week I have a lab)


One of my classrooms this semester.

So why I chose electrical engineering, or engineering in general. First of all, I don't really want to be an engineer (in the modern context) as in I do not care about inventing something that changes the world. My interest instead was always more to do with electronics and electrical systems (like programming, how computers work, etc) and considering the extreme competitiveness of computer science I decided to go down a level into something more application specific. Since electrical engineering is used so often (seriously, even pools usually have an EE or two or three on staff to run things, or they outsource to a local engineering firm/company) and I mean often, like everywhere from public buildings, government, military, to factories and other industrial usage. It can also be used as a prereq for an apprenticeship with an electrician.


So with all of this you may not know exactly what an electrical engineer does and the answer is anything involving electricity which can range from things like wiring a house (though the grunt work is usually done by an electrician but when it comes to designing a house an EE has to sign off on it or else an electrician with specific qualifications which is a little more rare), automobile industry, electronics design and production, power transmission and production... and so much more. Did this just confuse you more? The simple answer is from everyone I have talked to (engineers, advisors, etc) is that basically there isn't much where an electrical engineer won't be useful. I mean lets make a call to CERN (something Steemstem recently visited) it has everything from specialized components to detect particles to extreme power transmission, high powered electromagnets, and probably more uses for electrical engineers in the background. I do not know the specifics but I can bet that there are a lot over all of the experiments (CMS, Atlas, etc)

My Non-Electrical Interests

Now I had other passions (like my favorite science in high school was physics) and some always figured I would go into a science degree but I didn't. Had I, I probably would have majored in physics or else majored in nuclear physics (I have a passion for nuclear reactors and love to read up on them. Both fusion and fission. My favorite reactor, though biased, is still the CANDU reactors though a close second is SLOWPOKE though last I checked the final SLOWPOKE-2 reactor was shut down last August). I also had an interest in particle physics (partially because you do nothing with it in high school physics and the thought of it interested me) and I mean there will always be my love for ballistics. My second favorite science (high school) was biology because I was always fascinated by microorganisms (and some macroorganisms I guess) and specifically interested in microorganisms that case ailments (B. anthracis for example) along with genetically engineering them. For a time my interests peaked into bacteriophages (especially with all the hypes surrounding antibiotic resistance). I think the biggest things that fueled my interest in these areas were shows like Monster Inside Me and House (along with others) but thats a small reason.

Aside from science topics I enjoyed some games, mostly strategy (Command and Conquer, Starcraft, Stronghold, Age of Empires, etc) along with fantasy RP games (Elder Scrolls, Two Worlds, WoW, etc). I mostly read non-fiction books but for the fiction books I would usually stick to fantasy (A Song of Ice and Fire, Chronicles of Narnia, Tolkien's Middle Earth legendarium, etc). For movies and television shows I like both fantasy (Braveheart, Game of Thrones, Lost Girl, etc) and some of the dystopian future (Altered Carbon, Helix, Firefly, etc) and of coarse I have my fix of comedy (Brooklyn Nine-Nine, How I Met Your Mother, etc)


Now after all of this you may know something new about me. One more thing about me that I will say is why I do not like/don't do steemit posts about what I study. Personally, I spend around 40 hours a week just going over the material for these classes (You need really high averages in order to move over and do the 3 semester thing at the university, like 3.7 GPA minimum and when I am currently taking 9 classes and 2.5 labs a week) anyways I sometimes need a break from the material. Maybe over my break I will write something about what is done in my class or something actually relating to it (we do some really cool stuff in my labs) but for the most part I will post about stuff I don't study at school.

Sort:  

That's too funny! For a minute I thought we were married! My favorite man got his first degree in Electrical Engineering, went to serv as an officer on a Nuclear Sub (he still loves them) program, then got his master's in Computer Engineering. As soon as the Higgs-Bosun was found I immediately went online and got him some t-shirt negligee (T-shirt with "Where is your God Now?" on the front)

I have to tell you, you're absolutely right. Electrical Engineers will always have work and way too many hobbies!

That sounds awesome! A nuclear sub would be so much fun to be on (I am assuming nuclear powered, not too big on the idea of being on a sub with nuclear warheads though)

I would be lying if I said that I didn't make jokes involving the higgs boson and peoples deities (as long as they were cool with jokes) after its discovery.

You are correct - nuclear powered. He loved the challenges of the various stations in the control center.

It was hard not to joke about the 'God Particle' in the same spirit as it was referred to. Sometimes it's difficult to know if a joke is appropriate when you don't know the people who are speaking together. I call my husband's T-shirts his 'T-shirt negligee' because he always wears his t-shirts under button-up shirts and almost never by themselves. Whatever his T-shirt says on it is our little secret! ;-)

That is awesome!

I must admit your class looks way cooler than mine :)

Do I dare ask what you study?

Oh, I studied engineering :)

Well, from a future engineer to you,I hope your grades weren't too bad.

Not bad at all.

When I had time I used to play Stronghold and Age of Empires on multiplayer with my friends in Europe..About not wanting to cover the topics you study everyday I can understand you may want to open up your mind to different topics, but from what you wrote it seems you do a lot of things

I used to, right now I am pretty limited in time so I don't do as much.

Wow, @kryzsec it's good getting to know you more and your story kind of have some relationship with mine. I'm an electronic engineer by profession biochemist and physicist by hubby but I really don't like gaming that much, I have graduated though so I wish you luck in your studies.

Nothing wrong with not liking to play video games, can't say I play a lot (last time was in the summer) but there are definitely worse things I could be doing.

I congratulate you on getting through your engineering, its a feat that many drop out of.

Fantastic facts Beautiful post

I am studying mechanical engineering. You are an electrical engineer. Nice to meet you

Nice to meet you as well!

followed you

Excellent career you chose..!

Out of all strategy game and you don't play DOTA? are you serious? :D Dude Hah now I understand why part of the steemstem event flow is to visit the particle collider.

I was just giving examples. I had tried DOTA2 (never did play the DOTA mod though) and found that I wasn't too into that kind of strategy. Like I much prefer an RTS where you have to do more than just think about your lane/role in the meta and the fact that DOTA (and all MOBA games) are so meta heavy makes it so that a matchup is purely determined by how well your team fits into the meta to the other team. Maybe it does gain that abstraction later on if you play it enough but with how little time I spend playing video games and stuff, I would prefer to be able to just sit down and go 30 minutes against 7 brutal AI (C&C) and gain all of the tech trees or spend 15 minutes in a game against people in SC... I don't know if this makes sense at all.

That being said my biggest problem with SC is how many wannabes go and download the build order of a pro SC player and try to play it because then they assume its a perfect strategy with no weaknesses and the games end up lasting half as long because they don't actually know how to play the order. You can always tell those people too because they try to talk crap in lobbies but go 13/1557 or something like that (W/L) and its just pathetic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85