A new crystal found in the back room of our store.

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

I was going through the inventory in the back storage area looking for some chalcanthite crystal clusters to put out on the floor. Chalcanthite is a blue crystal mainly composed of copper sulfate.
20180327_145801.jpg
There has been some debate as to whether it is chalcanthite or just copper sulfate, because it is lab grown. However, this particular specimen had it's crystals extracted from a natural piece and regrown on a matrix to provide more crystals. It has all the mineral composition of copper sulfate, alum and other copper minerals as apposed to just copper sulfate.
20180327_150213_HDR.jpg
20180327_150240_HDR.jpg
Under the scope the crystals look fantastic.
As I was retrieving these I notice another crystal cluster that is in a collection we purchased just over a month ago.
20180327_114047.jpg
It is a red Crocoit cluster found in Tasmania. (an island off the coast of Australia).
It is a monoclinic crystal structure that are long and spindly.
20180327_114157.jpg
Because of the delicate nature of the crystals, natural terminations are rarely found.
20180327_122024_HDR.jpg
20180327_122057_HDR.jpg
While the color of the crystals is predominantly red/orange, when bright light is shined on them an iridescent yellow comes out in the less dense crystals.
20180327_122211_HDR.jpg
As I was checking out the crystals under the scope, I noticed little white specks between the crystals. This made me very curious, so I put on the 20x eye pieces to get a better look.
20180327_122956_HDR.jpg
I wasn't able to get a clear picture at the higher magnification but the specks are okenite crystals. I am sooo tempted to take this piece home for my personal collection, but if I keep doing that I won't have a store :-D

Sort:  

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 80.0% upvote since you are a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "geology".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

Hello, regards @roswellrockman
The knowledge you have about geology and your impressive mineral samples can contribute a lot in our community #stem-espanol, but precisely the official language is Spanish and your profile does not define which site you are from.
I invite you to join the channel https://discord.gg/PbRuCS today Thursday we will discuss topics of interest in the areas of: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. We will wait for you!

I saw the preview pic and immediately thought 'copper sulfate'. One of my favorite mineral colors.

I took a look at some lab grade copper sulfate a few weeks ago, if you're interested.

Copper sulfate is lab grown in a pure form and is a richer blue. We have some single copper sulfate crystals in our store. They are 2"-3". The crystal above, I was told by my resource, is extracted from an actual chalcanthite cluster in matrix. It has impurities in it that are found in the natural state. It is a darker blue than pure copper sulfate. I did check out your post on copper sulfate crystals and cupric sulfate. Pretty cool. Too late to upvote though.

I had no idea that the color was different. Cool.

No comment on the crocoit?

It's pretty, but I knew nothing about it, so I didn't have anything substantial to say about it. Now I know it's a short Wikipedia walk from the mineral to one of my favorite paintings. Thanks for inspiring me to learn a few things!


Flaming_June,_by_Frederic_Lord_Leighton_(1830-1896).jpg

Flaming June, Leighton, public domain.

I was sorely tempted by a Crocoite at our local rock shop just yesterday, hubby was in love with a vanadinite though, so we went with that. Red/Orange is always a tough color to come across with mineral collecting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97