Geodes ---> What Are They & What Energy Do They Hold Inside?

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

What Are Geodes?


image
Source


One of the most exciting hobbies I have is collecting crystals, and this may seem commonplace for many. What is most interesting for me is that I use this in my energy work and now in the medicine card readings I am doing lately to assist those in overcoming mental, physical, and emotional blocks.

Recently, while I was attending a monthly sweat, the Chief took us into a crystal shop and showed us his favorite geode. Geode you might ask, what is that? Well a geode is "a nodule of stone having a cavity lined with crystals or mineral matter."

On the outside it looks like a regular rock, sometimes a very big one and inside is a hidden treasure.


image
Source


Maybe you have heard of the Empress of Uruguay, the largest known piece of geode amethyst. When looking inside of this magical wonder is like visiting a different planet or world. This amazing amethyst can be found at the Crystal Cave found in Atherton, Australia. When on a visit they even invite people to "crack a geode," what an amazing experience. Too bad I live so far away.


image

Source


Getting back to the subject of the Chief and his favorite geode -- the reason for this post -- is so I can show you what we saw.


geode.jpg
Photo taken by @eaglespirit


Inside this particular geode was a seven pointed star, and whenever anyone actually gets a chance to see this beauty there is a slight gasp and mouths are usually wide open. It is unlike anything many of us had ever seen. Simply amazing.

When I first took a look and then laid my hands on this geode a poem by Julie Hill Alger came to mind:

Opening the Geode
When the molten earth seethed
in its whirling cauldron
nobody watched the pot
from a tall wooden stool
set out in windy space
beyond flame's reach;

and when the spattering mush
steamed, gurgled, boiled over,
mounded up in smoking hills
no giant mixing spoon
smoothed out the lumps and bubbles
as the pottage cooled to rock.

No kitchen timer ticked
precisely the eons required
to fill the gritty pits
slowly, drop by drop
with layers of glassy salts,
agate, opal, quartz;

no listening ear inclined
over the silicon mold
to hear the chink of crystals
rising geometrically
facet upon facet
in the airless dark.

No hand lifted the stony lid
to add light, the finishing touch,
and no guest cried Ah! how well
the recipe turned out -
until this millennium, today,
at my table.

But, let me show you exactly how this geode was obtained and no one can explain it better than the person who is a caretaker of this gorgeous light of energy.


Geode Lady from Eagle Spirit on Vimeo.


One thing is for sure is that the owner of this geode is a spunky personality and is such a happy caretaker that you cannot help but love her enthusiasm. Personally, I most likely would feel the same if I had the honor of holding this in my hands every day. Which leads us to what type of energy is emitted from geodes?


Energy Within A Geode

Source


First let me explain how a geode is formed, it is formed by old matter and new matter combining over a long period of time to create a new species. Geodes are most commonly filled with quartz and minerals, and the outward appearance is that of a rock and have a thin outer layer of chalcedony.

If we work with quartz and chalcedony then we know the energy that is emitted while holding unearthed and raw (on its own) are very powerful crystals. So, if we can imagine that when a sleeping closed geode holding these crystals is gently opened, and cared for by a steward (only on occasion), the energy that comes out. Very powerful indeed!

In fact, when I went into the shop with a group of eight Native Americans, all of them started to bless themselves after touching it, it was that powerful. Let me share with you what the caretaker of the geode had to say about the energy.


Geode Energy from Eagle Spirit on Vimeo.


So, if you ever have a chance to find a cave or rock shop in your area that may have a geode then I highly recommend getting near one to obtain some natural Mother Earth energy, clearing, and blessing. Peace.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine Woman in training, first time blogger since November 2017, right here on Steemit, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. If that’s you, please say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image

Sort:  

What an informative post! It would be amazing to visit the Empress of Uruguay. I had never heard of this before...I'm a newbie. And that star geode? OMG... I noticed everyone went quiet when she opened that baby up and I think I would have been stunned too!

thanks so much and IKR!!! i'd love to sink my body in there ... greedy me! hehe
yeah everyone's mouth fell to the floor and then the oos wows and ahhhs came out ... ahahah

I look at geodes as natures batteries, the power is stored in them and not released until opened.
I am not a collector but I have read some on the crystals and do know that all the old model radios used crystals in them to achieve bringing in different radio frequencies. I have also seen demonstrations of crystals working as batteries for lights and other small electrical devices that operate on direct current. So it isn't just a figment of a person's imagination when they say that they can "feel" the energy these crystals give off.

exactly! you are right on as always :)

Well thanks for confirming what I thought to be true.

sure thing, didn't think you would need a confirmation since you seemed pretty sure but excellent if you just "thought" that out loud. :)

I had no doubt on the geodes and crystals, I meant the part where you said, "you are right on as always". you weren't confirming that?

haha youre hilarious, okay as humans we arent perfect but your ratio of right on versus off is significant :)

Hey @eaglespirit

Thank you for posting this information. I really am fascinated by it and I will look up some more information on it. My daughter collects different stones and she has something that looks similar but is a lot smaller than the Geode in the video.

Talking of the video, it's cool hearing those reactions when it opens. There is something amazing about it. It's perfection in some ways. Ways that something man made can never be.

Great post.

Gaz

@cheese4ead hey there! so glad you looked some stuff up, cool. yes yes yes, you totally get it and can see how it might feel. the feeling is amazing, the energy was pretty spectacular. thank you for stopping by and lending your support. much appreciated, eagle

Hey @eaglespirit

Interesting posts deserve support, so you're welcome. 😁

I have taken a couple of pics of my daughters collection. Clearly not on the same level as the stuff in your post but I thought you might be interested.

It's the image of the second one that reminded me of the Geode.

Gaz

@cheese4ead awww thank you so much for sharing, that is so adorable and i thank you for taking the time to do this, awesome!!! :)

No problem. 😃

have a great day!

Thank you for this interesting article, I never saw such a geode before, though I have several in my collection. When I collect a mineral I just go back to my childhood, I like to stare at mother's nature masterpieces and I never really considered them from an energetic point of view, maybe I should since I've some good pieces of aquamarine or apophillites.. what is your favorite mineral @eaglespirit?

@f3nix oh very cool! yeah i had never seen one like this before too, seems to be a rarity.
energy is everywhere ... whispers
oooo thats a hard one re: favorite!! i have so many that i work with ... and i'm not sure if selenite is a mineral
but that would be the one i work with the most and love the most. :)

For you! (Forgive my hand writing lol) 😁IMG_20180606_195509.jpg

@f3nix holy cowwww that is just simply amazing, my mouth was wide open when i saw that lovely stone and note. you are so amazingly kind and i thank you from the bottom of my heart for that lovely message. tears and hugs.

Oh I'm glad you managed to read my chicken hand writing hahah That's acquamarine.. I so love beryls in every color (emerald, morganite..), I donnow why. It was good that I random landed to your blog and met you, you're a very interesting person.. see you soon! Hugs back 😊

is it reallyyyy? wow, i never would have thought it was AM, love it very much. :)
glad to see you and i look forward to many more encounters.
blessings,
eagle

I used to have several geodes. From moving so much they just got lost and it is a shame. I might have to start looking for some more. I never really thought about the energy that is stored in them.

@basicstoliving did you really? whhaaaaa
so sorry they are lost ... or did someone take them? maybe someone sold them. hehe
yes tons of energy. :)

That geode is amazing. To me it’s a reminder of how vast the intelligence of all-that-is is. The perfectly formed star on the inside is just, “wow”

I hope we get to talk more. I’d love to learn more about crystal energy. I’ve heard that even the less pretty, regular old rocks carry energy too? Do you find that to be true?

Thanks for sharing this ✨❤️

@nikema yay!! so glad you liked the geode!! i knew if someone got that far into the post theyd be amazed. you are a lucky one and i thank you for getting to that point. woop
we can talk, of course! i'm on discord a lot too. yes everything has energy that is very true. :)
you are so welcome and i'm honored.

I see you’re using fast-reply, do you recommend it?

i like it a lot!! very quick and i zip through a lot of comments fast. very helpful. i would recommend but some ppl say its too new to be safe. so i'd take that into consideration.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 60.0% upvote since you are a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "geopolis".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

@geopolis yay thank you so much, its been awhile :)

That geode is so beautiful! I've been fascinated with stones and rocks since I was a child, and I suspect that science still has a lot to discover about them. I have a large amethyst, and I'm certain that strange things happen when I'm close to it!
I've got into the habit of collecting a small stone or two each time I climb a mountain, which is very often, so my collection is growing alarmingly!
I'd love to know if there's any way to tell whether a rock contains a geode.

sweet! so happy you were able to
see it. :)
geode had that film on it and yeah the energy in a geode is amazinggggg

@eaglespirit
I absolutley love this post and, am a secretly big fan of all things geology!
Being a keen metal detectorist and physical history hunter, I find all kinds of interesting rocks when extracting my finds.
I hold the find in my hand which can sometimes be hundreds of years old! but the real treasure is those amazing rocks and minerals that are millions of years old and have developed into a thing of astounding beauty! I can't say I've ever found any Geodes or Quartz but I usually bring home some of the prettier rocks for my two children who love them.
Thanks again for a really informative and interesting post.
Cheers
Darren

yay!! its amazing stuff. i love geology too. whoa you have a metal detector? thats amazing?? ever find silver?? so happy you saw the geode. its a beauty and thank you for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51