Picture Jasper

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

This beautiful gemstone is called Picture Jasper. It's generally found in Oregon in the United States. When cut and polished the gem has the most amazing landscape sceneries. Sometimes they look just like a painting, or a picture. That is why it was named "Picture Jasper." I cut out the rough shape out on a diamond lapidary saw. You could use a tile saw with a good lapidary blade to save money. They also sell diamond band saws, that are great for more precious gemstones, like opals for instance. A lapidary artist uses, what is referred to as a cabbing machine to grind and polish the gemstones. It takes a lot of skill and patience to get a beautiful polish on the gem. If you choose a good piece you can capture some amazing landscapes. Sometimes they even look like a martian planet. This ring is made with a different type of Picture Jasper. It was a gift I made for my girlfriend with a gem I cut. 😀💍😵 Hope you enjoyed it as much as she does. 😉 Please #upvote #resteem and #follow too.

Sort:  

Thanks glad you like it. I need to post some of this Stony Creek Poppy Jasper I find. Really interesting material...

Picture jasper is the bomb! That round cab is beautiful! Of course my favorite part of picture jasper is mapping out initial cuts. I also love how easy it is to work with...at least the stuff that I have used. Heading over to Eastern Oregon to find my own is on my bucket list! Have you gone hounding for picture jasper?

Unfortunatly I haven't yet. I really would like to go looking for sunstones and Jasper up there one of these days. My truck need a bit of work done on it before it's up for such a jouney. I really want to look for rainbow obsidian too...

All this talk about rockhounding gets my heart pumping and my head spinning. I have so much I want to post about all of the stuff that you mentioned.
I can relate to the car thing...I'm always very cautious of the condition of my vehicle with heading out into far away land.
I have jars and jars of sunstones. Not only is hunting for them super fun, but I am totally in love with Lake County and the lay of the land. It is definitely worth the trip.
We went out to Glass Butte in central OR a couple years back and had pretty good luck with the obsidian. We only had a few hours but came away with about 50 pounds of good stuff. Definitely rainbow to be found. We also found a lot of silver sheen which is really pretty. It's literally flooded with it. I want to try my hand at knapping one of these days. I love the obsidian knife blades I see people make.
As far as jasper goes....it is everywhere around my neck of the woods. I'll have to post some pics soon.
For now here is a picture to inspire you to come up to look for sunstones....It's so beautiful. This was from our trip down a few years back taken at the public collection area.

IMG_2292.JPG

Damn that is beautiful. I really need to just move to Oregon when I can afford too. California is getting so overpopulated it's rediculous. Are there regulation about vending on the side of the road there?

I'm not too sure about that. The city I live in has a weekly craft market though that I used to sell my fused glass at. They only charged like a $10 daily fee and 10% of your profit. Not sure what it is these days but there are definitely a lot of gigs like that up here.

That is beautiful. It totally looks like petrified wood too. I've never seen jasper like this. I am pretty sure I have lots of red jasper here. I'll need to take pictures. Man, I'm thinking I should send you rock packages every now and then. This just gave me an idea for my rock posts. I'll have to get the full thought written down but some collaboration might be a good idea.

I certainly down for some sort of rock exchange. I've done the same thing with a couple rockhounds on Instagram. You should check out my insta page if you get bored. I have like three years worth of posting on there. (dirty_hippie_designs_) We could even work a trade were I could cut you a couple cabs for some of your less than favorite rocks. Let me know your thoughts, I'm sure we could figure out some mutually benificial.

This post has received a 0.67% upvote from thanks to: @dirtyhippie.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83