You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Picture Jasper

in #geology6 years ago

Picture jasper is the bomb! That round cab is beautiful! Of course my favorite part of picture jasper is mapping out initial cuts. I also love how easy it is to work with...at least the stuff that I have used. Heading over to Eastern Oregon to find my own is on my bucket list! Have you gone hounding for picture jasper?

Sort:  

Unfortunatly I haven't yet. I really would like to go looking for sunstones and Jasper up there one of these days. My truck need a bit of work done on it before it's up for such a jouney. I really want to look for rainbow obsidian too...

All this talk about rockhounding gets my heart pumping and my head spinning. I have so much I want to post about all of the stuff that you mentioned.
I can relate to the car thing...I'm always very cautious of the condition of my vehicle with heading out into far away land.
I have jars and jars of sunstones. Not only is hunting for them super fun, but I am totally in love with Lake County and the lay of the land. It is definitely worth the trip.
We went out to Glass Butte in central OR a couple years back and had pretty good luck with the obsidian. We only had a few hours but came away with about 50 pounds of good stuff. Definitely rainbow to be found. We also found a lot of silver sheen which is really pretty. It's literally flooded with it. I want to try my hand at knapping one of these days. I love the obsidian knife blades I see people make.
As far as jasper goes....it is everywhere around my neck of the woods. I'll have to post some pics soon.
For now here is a picture to inspire you to come up to look for sunstones....It's so beautiful. This was from our trip down a few years back taken at the public collection area.

IMG_2292.JPG

Damn that is beautiful. I really need to just move to Oregon when I can afford too. California is getting so overpopulated it's rediculous. Are there regulation about vending on the side of the road there?

I'm not too sure about that. The city I live in has a weekly craft market though that I used to sell my fused glass at. They only charged like a $10 daily fee and 10% of your profit. Not sure what it is these days but there are definitely a lot of gigs like that up here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67